184 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Voted down for the sheer annoyance of making the recipe, finding it extremely saltly then seeing in the "comments" to not use the specified amount of soy sauce listed. Edit the recipe.

19 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rokmelon April 07, 2009

Excellent! This is a keeper, definitely. Since my hubby likes pineapple in his fried rice, I used the pineapplejuice instead of the water and broth, and added Sriracha Hot Chili Sauce since we like foods on the hot side. His compliments were this was the best fried rice he has had (even from our favorite take-out). Thanks for sharing.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wannabe Gourmet August 08, 2010

Easy to make, very delicious! I substituted water for half the soy sauce and found the salt content just about right. I'm glad I doubled the recipe as now I have some to keep in the fridge for another meal this week.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elisa72 August 29, 2010

Finally a great stir-fry sauce. Delicious and what a great way to add the cornstarch. For those of you who don't like alcohol (or keep forgetting to by rice wine) you can substitute orange juice without compromising flavor or texture. Also used the low-sodium Kikkoman and it was fine. Thanks!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chocoholic Fiend February 01, 2010

Although I've not tried this yet, it definitely has all of the ingredients that I've come up with that would be in a brown garlic sauce.<br/><br/>One thing I would suggest. Do NOT use soy sauces that are U.S. sauces. They are always way too salty and have an acrid taste to them (you'll notice if you use an import). Go to an Asian food market and purchase an imported soy sauce. We always use one called Golden Mountain, but most of them will do. It's just that we've found this brand is not so salty and has a great flavor!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aniceprsn54 June 14, 2013

This was outstanding. I used it in a stir-fry. I read your note and several reviews and went to the local Asian market and bought a good bottle of soy sauce. I asked an Asian customer what she buys, and she picked it out for me. It had 1/2 the sodium of my "american version". This is my new Go-to sauce. Thank you for posting.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CJ #6 November 24, 2013

Used the sauce as a base for chicken and broccoli stir fry tonight and both kids loved it! Did make some additions/substitutions due to what was on hand and personal preferences. Added a couple tablespoons of rice vinegar in place of the wine. Used a combination of brown sugar and honey in place of the regular sugar and some onion and garlic powder (didn't measure just added to taste). Didn't have fresh broccoli so used frozen which had been thawed. After browning the chicken I dumped the broccoli over the top along with the sauce and a few sliced green onions and cooked for about 5 minutes, adjusted the seasonings and served over rice. (149)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JPsBarbie October 09, 2011

I do not consider myself that good at making "chinese" food but this is quite good. I did not have rice wine and used about 3 tablespoons of rice wine vinegar. I used less oil in the stir fry and one T of each sesame seed oil and veggie (canola oil). I have some nifty dried ginger (Penzey's) that I haul out for occasions like this. Soaked it in water and then cut it up with a kitchen scissors. I also think I can get two meals out of one sauce recipe. I stir fried chicken, sugar snap peas, green beans, onions, carrots and some green pepper and served it with brown rice. Yum. Can't wait to share this with my DS. I think he will like it also.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MollyJ November 18, 2010

We needed a last minute sauce to go with our Asian meatballs and this did the trick. We had to substitute ground ginger (1/4 tsp) since we did not have fresh. I thought it worked fine but fresh would have been better or maybe a little more ground.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WW Girl October 04, 2010

really good! added some hoisin sauce just because.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jetta_mel April 23, 2010
All-Purpose Stir-Fry Sauce (Brown Garlic Sauce)