Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / All-Purpose Stir-Fry Sauce (Brown Garlic Sauce) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    All-Purpose Stir-Fry Sauce (Brown Garlic Sauce)

    Average Rating:

    182 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 182

    Sort by:

    • on April 07, 2009

      Voted down for the sheer annoyance of making the recipe, finding it extremely saltly then seeing in the "comments" to not use the specified amount of soy sauce listed. Edit the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2010

      Excellent! This is a keeper, definitely. Since my hubby likes pineapple in his fried rice, I used the pineapplejuice instead of the water and broth, and added Sriracha Hot Chili Sauce since we like foods on the hot side. His compliments were this was the best fried rice he has had (even from our favorite take-out). Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2010

      Easy to make, very delicious! I substituted water for half the soy sauce and found the salt content just about right. I'm glad I doubled the recipe as now I have some to keep in the fridge for another meal this week.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2010

      Finally a great stir-fry sauce. Delicious and what a great way to add the cornstarch. For those of you who don't like alcohol (or keep forgetting to by rice wine) you can substitute orange juice without compromising flavor or texture. Also used the low-sodium Kikkoman and it was fine. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2013

      Although I've not tried this yet, it definitely has all of the ingredients that I've come up with that would be in a brown garlic sauce.<br/><br/>One thing I would suggest. Do NOT use soy sauces that are U.S. sauces. They are always way too salty and have an acrid taste to them (you'll notice if you use an import). Go to an Asian food market and purchase an imported soy sauce. We always use one called Golden Mountain, but most of them will do. It's just that we've found this brand is not so salty and has a great flavor!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2013

      This was outstanding. I used it in a stir-fry. I read your note and several reviews and went to the local Asian market and bought a good bottle of soy sauce. I asked an Asian customer what she buys, and she picked it out for me. It had 1/2 the sodium of my "american version". This is my new Go-to sauce. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2011

      Used the sauce as a base for chicken and broccoli stir fry tonight and both kids loved it! Did make some additions/substitutions due to what was on hand and personal preferences. Added a couple tablespoons of rice vinegar in place of the wine. Used a combination of brown sugar and honey in place of the regular sugar and some onion and garlic powder (didn't measure just added to taste). Didn't have fresh broccoli so used frozen which had been thawed. After browning the chicken I dumped the broccoli over the top along with the sauce and a few sliced green onions and cooked for about 5 minutes, adjusted the seasonings and served over rice. (149)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2010

      I do not consider myself that good at making "chinese" food but this is quite good. I did not have rice wine and used about 3 tablespoons of rice wine vinegar. I used less oil in the stir fry and one T of each sesame seed oil and veggie (canola oil). I have some nifty dried ginger (Penzey's) that I haul out for occasions like this. Soaked it in water and then cut it up with a kitchen scissors. I also think I can get two meals out of one sauce recipe. I stir fried chicken, sugar snap peas, green beans, onions, carrots and some green pepper and served it with brown rice. Yum. Can't wait to share this with my DS. I think he will like it also.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2010

      We needed a last minute sauce to go with our Asian meatballs and this did the trick. We had to substitute ground ginger (1/4 tsp) since we did not have fresh. I thought it worked fine but fresh would have been better or maybe a little more ground.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2010

      really good! added some hoisin sauce just because.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

      I just threw everything together quick and threw it all in with my veggies and chicken (used garlic powder and no chicken broth). YUM! Great recipe...can't wait to make it again! OH! And I used low sodium soy sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2012

      Restaurant quality stuff! I used 1/3 light & 1/3 dark soy so it wouldn't be overly salty for us & fried some fresh chilli with our onion, garlic & ginger...
      Loads of fresh veggies, some tofu & freshly cooked rice on the side....this has knocked our regular stir-fry sauce out of rotation, with it never to be looked at again!
      Thanks, Connie K, you're a stir-fry saver! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2011

      I had to change my review from 4 to 5 stars because I've come back to this recipe several times. I use it cook chicken and snow peas and it's really delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2011

      This sauce was amazing on my stir-fry vegetables. This is definitely a keeper. Thanks!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2010

      Takeout Chinese always makes me feel so gross, but I do miss the flavors sometimes. This is wonderful and isn't overly heavy or salty. I served this over dry-fried tofu, frozen peas and shitake mushrooms and spinach. Even my husband, the tofu skeptic, was impressed.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2010

      I prefer my sauce a little spicier so I added some red chili-garlic sauce. Yummy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2008

      Very easy tasty sauce. I would make this again. I might try adding a little more sugar next time though. I didn't have rice wine so I used a little more chicken broth.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2014

      This stir fry sauce was much too salty and ruined my stir fry. It should use about half the amount of soy sauce recommended in the recipe. It also has a pretty basic flavor- you could probably approximate the flavor just by using some soy sauce and sauteed ginger in your stir fry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2014

      Too salty. Edit recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2014

      I used sweet rice wine so I omitted the sugar. I didn't think it was too salty. Maybe I used more veggies than others who did. <br/><br/>We love this and I make it often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 10

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for All-Purpose Stir-Fry Sauce (Brown Garlic Sauce)

    Serving Size: 1 (141 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 212.5
     
    Calories from Fat 94
    44%
    Total Fat 10.4 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2777.8 mg
    115%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.4 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 11.9 g
    47%
    Protein 5.9 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes