190 Reviews

Voted down for the sheer annoyance of making the recipe, finding it extremely saltly then seeing in the "comments" to not use the specified amount of soy sauce listed. Edit the recipe.

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rokmelon April 07, 2009

Excellent! This is a keeper, definitely. Since my hubby likes pineapple in his fried rice, I used the pineapplejuice instead of the water and broth, and added Sriracha Hot Chili Sauce since we like foods on the hot side. His compliments were this was the best fried rice he has had (even from our favorite take-out). Thanks for sharing.

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wannabe Gourmet August 08, 2010

Although I've not tried this yet, it definitely has all of the ingredients that I've come up with that would be in a brown garlic sauce.<br/><br/>One thing I would suggest. Do NOT use soy sauces that are U.S. sauces. They are always way too salty and have an acrid taste to them (you'll notice if you use an import). Go to an Asian food market and purchase an imported soy sauce. We always use one called Golden Mountain, but most of them will do. It's just that we've found this brand is not so salty and has a great flavor!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aniceprsn54 June 14, 2013

Easy to make, very delicious! I substituted water for half the soy sauce and found the salt content just about right. I'm glad I doubled the recipe as now I have some to keep in the fridge for another meal this week.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elisa72 August 29, 2010

Finally a great stir-fry sauce. Delicious and what a great way to add the cornstarch. For those of you who don't like alcohol (or keep forgetting to by rice wine) you can substitute orange juice without compromising flavor or texture. Also used the low-sodium Kikkoman and it was fine. Thanks!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chocoholic Fiend February 01, 2010

Restaurant quality stuff! I used 1/3 light & 1/3 dark soy so it wouldn't be overly salty for us & fried some fresh chilli with our onion, garlic & ginger...
Loads of fresh veggies, some tofu & freshly cooked rice on the side....this has knocked our regular stir-fry sauce out of rotation, with it never to be looked at again!
Thanks, Connie K, you're a stir-fry saver! :)

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rhiannon and Matt April 17, 2012

I do not consider myself that good at making "chinese" food but this is quite good. I did not have rice wine and used about 3 tablespoons of rice wine vinegar. I used less oil in the stir fry and one T of each sesame seed oil and veggie (canola oil). I have some nifty dried ginger (Penzey's) that I haul out for occasions like this. Soaked it in water and then cut it up with a kitchen scissors. I also think I can get two meals out of one sauce recipe. I stir fried chicken, sugar snap peas, green beans, onions, carrots and some green pepper and served it with brown rice. Yum. Can't wait to share this with my DS. I think he will like it also.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MollyJ November 18, 2010

really good! added some hoisin sauce just because.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jetta_mel April 23, 2010

I had always been told rice wine is rice vinegar. Not true. I added more sweetness to compensate. I added more sesame oil because I like that. also added sweet chili sauce and crushed red pepper and honey and sesame seed. I reduced the amount of soy sauce to 1/2 cup but could handle more. I changed this recipe a lot so probably shouldn't review but I know no one is going to read this review due to the number of reviews but I wrote this for myself for reference. Hi Dixe--you liked this and do did Kyle.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dixie from Kansas March 03, 2014

This was outstanding. I used it in a stir-fry. I read your note and several reviews and went to the local Asian market and bought a good bottle of soy sauce. I asked an Asian customer what she buys, and she picked it out for me. It had 1/2 the sodium of my "american version". This is my new Go-to sauce. Thank you for posting.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CJ #6 November 24, 2013
All-Purpose Stir-Fry Sauce (Brown Garlic Sauce)