12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Hurray for this quick and delicious spaghetti sauce! To make it vegan, I sauteed the onion and garlic in a bit of olive oil, and then added some TVP with the rest of the ingredients. I also used 1 T Italian Season rather than the individual herbs listed. Turned out tasty, and cooked as quickly as the noodles. Thanks for posting this! It was exactly what I needed.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Serah B. December 02, 2009

So excited about this recipe! Super easy. Followed the recipe with the addition of brown sugar from another review...YUM! Can't wait to play with this more and add other veggies. Never buying spaghetti sauce again :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
read2mch December 02, 2012

Super easy and quick. My family loved it. I added a pinch of brown sugar. Otherwise following the directions completely. Will make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
melvebak April 04, 2011

I made this on a night I was craving Spaghetti. It came out great. I added some fresh roasted Hatch Green chilli's to the beef when I was cooking it and it added a great flavor to the beef. I put about 1/2 a cup for the one pound of beef.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nothinbuttrouble23 September 27, 2008

We love this sauce. I make it on Sundays. I use Kittencal's melt-in-your-mouth parmesan meatballs for the meat. I throw all the ingredients in the crockpot by 8am (I usually make two-times the amount of sauce), and it is ready by the time we get home from church at 1 (we live a ways). I make the meatballs in advance and freeze them. I throw them in frozen and uncooked. It makes a nice quick meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cruby April 05, 2008

This was okay. I thought the seasonings were a bit overwhelming - my kids thought so too. But it served its purpose in being a quick sauce to throw together for a late supper tonight.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AprilShowers May 10, 2007

Very good sauce. The running joke in my family is that Mommy can't make her own spaghetti sauce. Something always goes wrong! I made this with ground turkey and thought something tasted like it was missing. So I will try it again with ground beef. I also had some burning issues, again, because of using turkey. I think next time I will cook the meat, onions and garlic together. Thanks for a great recipe! Now I can finally make spaghetti sauce!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amanda Beth May 08, 2007

Better sauce than any store brand you could ever buy. Will defintely use this when I don't have any other sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tattooed Lady December 28, 2006

Old Mother Hubbard here!!!! I went to my cupboard to get my poor children some spaghetti sauce??? Well now that does not rhyme, but none the less my cupboard was bare! So I went and found Derf's recipe here to help me in my time of need. I fixed this in 20 minutes and I added about 15 ounces of tomatoe sauce. The last 10 minutes I added the meatballs to add some extra flavor to the sauce. This is a very great basic sauce and I'll keep it close by for the next time I have no sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlotte J August 10, 2006

Great versatile sauce! I was looking for a quick spaghetti sauce that I could make out of my pantry, and this fit the bill. I omitted the ground beef, since I didn't have any on hand. I opted for using the whole tomatoes and it was great. I used it in a baked ziti dish. My husband and I really enjoyed it. This will be my go to recipe for spaghetti sauce from now on. Thanks Derf!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
heatherlei February 25, 2006
All Purpose Quick Spaghetti Sauce