Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / All-Purpose Mild Brine for Poultry and Pork Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    All-Purpose Mild Brine for Poultry and Pork

    Average Rating:

    43 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 43

    Sort by:

    • on June 12, 2013

      I love the simplicity of this brine. The ease of preparation makes this one I will use again and again. It worked great and helped me to save an otherwise excellent recipe from death due to salt.<br/><br/>The recipe in question is #33671. If you want to brine a turkey, you will need to double or triple this recipe, but it is so easy to make you will have no trouble doing so. It was just right for my rather large chicken. Just be sure to rinse well before cooking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2013

      never brined before WOW thanks for the recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2012

      I love this brine. I always have the ingredients on hand. I love that you don't have to wait for it to cool down because it starts cool. And, best of all, it has helped me make the best, juicy chicken that I have ever made. Thanks, Kirstin for such and simple and good brine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2011

      I made one batch of this recipe to brine 2 thick, center cut pork chops. I only brined for 1 hour, removed the chops from the brine, brushed with Greek salad dressing, and sprinkled with Pork Chop seasoning from Penzey's spices, then grilled them:)) They were so moist and delicious! I will use this brine from now on! Thank you for sharing :) Next time I will take a picture to post :)))

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2011

      Excellent brine. It's nice and simple to make as written and always produces a tender, juicy piece of chicken. I've also added lemon/garlic/peppercorns. Today I substituted brown sugar for part of the white and added cinnamon/cardamom/star anise and oranges. We grilled the chicken and that was delicious too. This brine is fun because it's wonderful as is, or as a vehicle for many other flavors.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2010

      Love it!!!! It's so easy. My family loves when I brine; we can definitely taste the difference. It's so yummy on pork and chicken. Thanks for such a fool proof recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2009

      Nice brine. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2009

      I've never brined before and decided to finally give it a try. I threw a pork roast into the brine and let it sit in the fridge for about 3 hours before roasting. What a difference! I will definitely be doing this again and again. Thank you for an easy brine recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2009

      I used this to brine some pork chops. I think it's great that you don't have to boil the concoction, wait for it to cool then put the meat in. This recipe lets you start brining right away. Going in keeper file.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2008

      Oh my! I've never used brine for anything, but I used this recipe for a whole chicken (roasted with herbs) and was thrilled with the results. I am a convert and am looking forward to brining all kinds of meats! Thanks, Kirstin!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2008

      This was awesome. I have never brined anything. I will from now on. I made an early Turkey dinner. The turkey was so mosit and tender. I made the brine and left it overnight. Thanks again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2008

      Awesome! I like that it's very basic and other flavors can be added in easily, such as liquid smoke, garlic etc. I let my porkchops brine for about 8 hours then pan grilled them. Juicy and moist. Very good recipe without a lot of ingredients.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2007

      Used the brine for 'Guinness Pork Chops in Gravy' #36831. The pork was very tender and flavorful...I kept the pork in the brine all day and cooked it for dinner. Will be using this again and again! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2007

      This is the only recipe I use for brining.I must have used it 20 times so far as I buy free range chickens and it makes them so tender.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2007

      worked great! thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2007

      I've used this twice now, once for some pork chops and last nite for a bone in with back attached chicken breast. My pork chops have always been, shall we say, a little dry, much milk required!! This made such a difference. I was skeptical at first, I'd never heard of this, but I'm sure glad I tried it. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2007

      I have been using this for at least the past year on chicken and pork tenderloins. It doesn't impart any additional flavor on the meat, but it is great because it is so easy and really prevents the meat from drying out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2006

      Used on some deer ribs. Made them tender and reduced the wild taste somewhat. I may use this again but next time with some additions to increase the acidity and add some flavor. Thanks for a great basic brine that is easy to whip up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2006

      Used this brine on a 22lb turkey. The turkey was moist and tasty. Thank you for a great Thanksgiving turkey!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2006

      I used this brine last night on slices of pork tenderloin to make Oven Baked Pork Chops, # 18255. Very easy to put together and the pork turned out tender and juicy. Thanks for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for All-Purpose Mild Brine for Poultry and Pork

    Serving Size: 1 (1046 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 97.5
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 28322.0 mg
    1180%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.1 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 25.1 g
    100%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites