12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I really enjoyed this recipe. Since I cook for just myself, a whole chicken would be just too much chicken for me and so I used two boneless-skinless chicken breasts. Also, I used a yellow onion (chopped) instead of green onions and a red bell pepper because I prefer red to green bell peppers. I will definitely use this recipe again with just one minor change: I think chicken broth will work better for me instead of water because of the small amount of chicken I cook, i.e., two boneless-skinless breasts vs. a whole chicken. Thank you for posting this easy recipe – it was so nice to come home to cooked chicken that was ready to go.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
susan... October 07, 2009

I can't believe I've never reviewed this! I've been using this recipe for a few years now, whenever chicken breasts go on sale. It makes delicious chicken and broth to keep in the freezer for quick meals that call for cooked chicken. Thanks, Hilary!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JeriBinNC January 09, 2011

I must've done something wrong - the chicken wasn't tender after 5 hours and it was too cheesy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EmmaLovesToCook December 03, 2009

This was great! It turned into Chicken Soup by mistake but it is really simple and tasty. I also didnt use cajun seasoning, just not a fan, so I used a mix of seasons and I have turned it into soup and pot pie so far!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
skssandy January 21, 2009

This was very easy and very delicious! I'm a new wife and until now have not had very good luck with chicken. It is always dry and tough. But I followed your recipe as close as I could and made a big pot full of moist tasty shredded chicken.(froze most for later use) My husband was impressed! I used six frozen boneless skinless chicken breasts, and I used all the veggies in your recipe with the exception of the green onion. I had a white one on hand. and I didn't have cajun seasoning so I used what I had. Turned out Fabulous!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
abbilyn August 23, 2008

Tasty! I used 3 bone in breast pieces and cooked it over night. Didnt know what to do with it, so shredded the chicken and strained off the liquid. Added some corn starch to thicken the liquid up some. Tossed the chicken, some fresh veggies, and the broth back into the crock. I didnt have any cream or sour cream so i added a bit of yogurt. Served over mashed taters but would be good with rice or alone.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ackos March 18, 2008

Made this for family as I can't take things to hot and they liked it lot! I put it over rice and tasted it, but it WAS too spicy for me but not for normal folks! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
usmcwf83 November 01, 2007

This was great. I screwed up and added to much water. I didn't have Cajun seasoning so used poultry spice blend and lemon pepper. Obviously not enough lemon pepper but still was good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sica January 12, 2007

Loved this and I actually cooked it for 24 hours (It was 10 pm after 8 hours and didn't want to put a hot chicken in the fridge so I left it on all night) The chicken was very tender and it made the BEST broth! I may do this once a week just for the broth.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
julimac September 30, 2005

I used this recipe to make meat for fajitas and it was wonderful. I used 4 chopped, boneless, skinless chicken breasts. I used red and green peppers, as well as green and red onion. The mixture is very watery and has to be strained off, but it is great for fajitas.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mftaylor April 26, 2005
All-Purpose Crock Pot Chicken