Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / All-In-One Sponge Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    All-In-One Sponge Cake

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on January 01, 2003

      very easy excellent cake- and it looks so appetizing too.i made it with a lemon curd filling, i'll be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2003

      I'm going to be trying this again:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2003

      For people who prefer to weigh the ingredients: 6 oz butter 6 oz sugar 6 oz self raising flour This must be baked in two seperate tins as stated!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2003

      Great recipe! So easy. I never made a sponge cake before. I added some lemon zest to the batter and filled it with Mean Chef's lemon curd. Some whipped cream on top and everyone loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2010

      The taste of this cake is 10+ stars, however I think it may be misnamed as the texture was nothing like a sponge cake, it was much more dense. I checked my brand new baking powder and it is good until 2012. My husband was wild about the taste. I filled it with seedless strawberry jam and topped it with superfine sugar. One major isappointment was that the cakes sunk in the middle even though they were done. I will try this again, perhaps in 7 inch tins.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2010

      This turned out pretty well despite me using the wrong type of sugar and my two year old son "helping" me. It was so simple to make too which is a major bonus when you have an enthusiastic toddler chef who doesn't want to wait long. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2008

      I don't know if maybe I did something wrong, but this was pretty bad. It came out with the texture of cornbread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2007

      This sponge was a 3 star for taste but a 4 star for ease of preparation. I made it with home-made strawberry jam in the middle and whipped sweetened cream on top. I just felt it was a little too dense compared to the traditional airy sponges made with beaten egg whites.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2007

      My Mum wents nuts on this....she pretty much ate the entire thing. I filled mine with strawberries and cream, dusted with icing sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2006

      i will be trying this one today! it looks well tasty

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2005

      Great buttery flavor with a crisp edge. Easy and very tasty. I made an impromptu trifle with this cake, vanilla pudding #103024, mango lime jam #36975, strawberries and whipped cream. Really excellent! My cake's center did not rise like the one in the picture but I fear my self-rising flour may need to be replaced and thus had nothing to do with the recipe. Thanks, Pets!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2005

      The cake was simple to make and good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for All-In-One Sponge Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (89 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 479.6
     
    Calories from Fat 231
    48%
    Total Fat 25.7 g
    39%
    Saturated Fat 15.4 g
    77%
    Cholesterol 154.0 mg
    51%
    Sodium 756.3 mg
    31%
    Total Carbohydrate 57.0 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 33.4 g
    133%
    Protein 6.4 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites