8 Reviews

As I don't top my burger with anything other than a melting cheese, pickle, raw spanish onion and a beetroot slice (yes, an Australian here!) this is my default method to flavour a burger, to give it some extra kick while enhancing and not overpowering the flavour of good beef.

The only change I make is to use finely grated fresh onion to replace the french onion soup mix, which I almost never have on hand, and once use a touch of lemon rind and freshly milled black pepper to replace the lemon pepper.

Thank you for sharing your knowledge, Chef Shadows! I have learned so much.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Very Berry March 07, 2011

I used low sodum beef broth rather than the bouillon cube which tends to be very salty.. this is a great burger and recieved 10 stars from the guys.. men love their burgers

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Patty at the Beach May 03, 2009

A real keeper of a burger!! Love the flavors of this one!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caroline Cooks January 24, 2008

These sound so wonderful, and I am going to make them for my father's 87th. birthday party on Aug. 2nd. Thank you so much for posting this!! Love, Becky

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
becky watkins July 04, 2007

I picked up ground chuck instead of ground round but went ahead and tried this recipe. Instead of the beer I used 2 tablespoons of beef broth and omitted the salt. Nice flavored hamburgers and will make these again using the beer and ground round. Made and reviewed for the weekly special tag game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookin' Mommy June 07, 2007

Very good burgers! I made as written plus added 2 tablespoons of buffalo hot sauce for more moisture and heat. Used a very lean ground beef, 93/7, and the burgers were still juicy. We topped them with Spicy Pimento Cheese , onions, sliced avocados, lettuce and tomatoes. Adding this recipe to my _make again_ list. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SusieQusie May 07, 2007

Great tasting (and moist) burger that's super easy to make. Everyone really enjoyed these and have already said I need to make them again! I had mine with green tomato chow-chow, a sprinkle of grated white cheddar and a slice of tomato. Delicious! Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Pixie* April 26, 2007

Great Burgers. Juicy and flavorful. We served these with thick slices of 2 year aged Sharp White Cheddar. Will make again. Thanks for sharing. Nick's Mom

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brenda. February 11, 2007
All Gone Onion Burgers