Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / All Day Beef Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    All Day Beef Stew

    Average Rating:

    37 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 37

    Sort by:

    • on February 26, 2002

      Not only was this a very easy recipe to make (hardest part is cleaning and cutting up the vegetables) but it was delicious as well. The house smelled wonderful with the aroma produced from the stew while it was cooking. My husband and I had turnips for the first time in our lives too. I would recommend this recipe to anyone that enjoys beef and vegetables. I used more than a dash of thyme, oregano, and salt - probably a teaspoon or more of each for additional flavor. (Next time I might try using diced tomatoes rather than whole tomatoes just so that there are pieces throughout but it wouldn't change the recipe a bit.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2002

      This was a very delicious stew! I didn't have any turnip in the house so I left that out, but I was very impressed with the fact that you didn't have to brown the stewing beef first - just throw it all in and stir - WoW!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2002

      I made this without the beef, used vegetable bouillon, and threw in a few extra spices, for the benefit of a couple of vegetarian friends. They, and I, loved it. I'll make another batch for myself, and I'll try stewing lamb instead of beef.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2002

      What an easy recipe! I used canned diced tomatoes, just so that everything would be "bite-size". The meat was incredibly tender. I had never tried a crockpot stew recipe before, but I will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2003

      I must say this beats the beef stew I've been making by far. I used stewed tomatoes,and red potatoes. ALsom instead of an onion, I used 1 package of Lipton onion soup mix. Very good. I will be making this again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2002

      This was a good recipe for a Beef stew. Very flavoursome. I also added a liberal amount of fresh cracked black pepper. A very easy stew to make. Just the type of recipes I like; put it on and forget about it. It sure is a "no brainer".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2002

      This is a great recipe. I used a can of diced sundried tomatoes instead of the stewed tomatoes. It was awesome. The best part was how easy it was. Just chop everything up, chuck it in and away you go. No fuss no muss. My family loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2013

      This is a very good meal for those of us with picky teenagers. My son and I loved it. On subsequent attempts, I changed 1/2 cup of the water to red wine and I add more salt and fresh ground pepper. It's a great recipe. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2010

      This was very good. I made this last night for dinner and we served it on mashed potatoes. I omitted the potatoes in the stew because of the mashed potatoes. Also, I added a slurry to thicken it the last hour of cooking and used fresh thyme and oregano in place of the dried. Thank you so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2010

      very bland,despite adding garlic,red wine, red pepper flakes & pimenton. no gravy -- this is more like beef soup than beef stew.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2008

      Way too bland and salty. Maybe that's just how beef stew is supposed to be, but I won't be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2008

      This was easy and good, but a little bland for us. The turnip added a nice flavor, but next time I will add some pepper, and maybe a bit more thyme and oregano.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2008

      Very easy to fix for the beef eaters in the house. I followed the recipe exactly except did not include the turnip, I used stewed tomatoes. My son gave this 5 stars, said it was super and asked if I would save the recipe to make again - I think that's a 5 star rating!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2008

      very bland. I even added some red wine to it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2008

      My family loved it! Totally reminded me of the stew my mom made when we were kids. Great with some tea biscuits!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2008

      I agree with the person who said it was a bit bland. After approximately 7 hours, I added 2 more bouillon cubes, a tbl of tomato paste, 1/4 cup water stirred with 2 tbl of cornstarch and 2 sips of red wine. That did the trick - it was great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2007

      This was easy... smelled great and looked oh so pretty... It was a little bland, but I can fix that easy enough... Thanks for a good recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2007

      I guess this isn't the kind of beef stew I'm used to. It was a little bland with only one beef bouillon cube. I ended up adding a packet of Durkee beef stew mix to thicken the soup and add flavor. After that, it tasted really good. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2007

      I love this stew! I didn't have potatoes or turnips, and I skipped the bouillon cube (mine came out fine without it) but I did add zucchini, about half an envelope of onion soup mix instead of onions, and some tomato sauce as well. I also used Italian seasoning and rosemary, and a few teaspoons of hot sauce since we love our spicy food. I had this going on high for maybe 3 1/2 hours. It's great on its own and great over rice. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2007

      I was comming home from work yesterday and got caught in the rain. I was grumblind and didnt want to cook dinner. To my suprise my BF had seen this recipe (left open on pc) and decided to make us dinner. This never ever happens. The house had a wonderful smell and it tasted great. Wasnt as thick as I expected but it had only cooked for around 6 1/2hrs by the time I got home starving. 4 Stars for flavour and an extra for getting my BF to cook for me. Thanks so much

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Stew Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for All Day Beef Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (279 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 196.5
     
    Calories from Fat 33
    17%
    Total Fat 3.7 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 1.5 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 48.3 mg
    16%
    Sodium 149.1 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.7 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 4.4 g
    17%
    Sugars 6.2 g
    24%
    Protein 19.3 g
    38%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    low-sodium beef bouillon cubes

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites