12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

made a regular boston creme pie but the glaze i made was a disaster so i made the glaze from this one and it was perfect. i even cut the recipe in half and it was the perfect amount and perfect consistency. the glaze definatly gets 5 stars.. i havnt tried the cake yet but it looks great. thanks for saving my cake with this glaze.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sprue March 29, 2010

The filling in this pie was amazing! I have used the filling for cream puffs as well and they are always a hit. All though the cake was moist, it was not as chocolatey as I was hoping. Also, although the glaze needs to be warm to pour, if it is too warm it will drip everywhere and make a mess! I will use a pan or plate with higher sides next time. Thanks for the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PDXpilot December 19, 2007

Made this yesterday for a dinner party last night. From top to bottom, this cake is absolutely wonderful!. I'm writing this now, trying to not grab a piece for breakfast! Thank you so much for this recipe! Amazing!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mtnmel January 30, 2011

This cake was simply delicious! I am glad I found a recipe that calls for general ingredients that can be found in the kicthen. I didn't attempt to do the double cake with filling. Instead, I baked a whole cake and filled the cake up with the filling, using a cake injector kit. I then placed the glaze on top of it. It was a clean process! Thanks so much for sharing your recipe, you have made my family happy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamlander2009 December 13, 2010

The cake didn't bake up even increasing the time but the filling looks good. I'm trying to salvage the pieces of the cake to make a layered dessert. Next time I'll try a different cake recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
m.lipe July 04, 2010

OMG this cake was sooooo good!!! Incredible for any chocolate lover...made for my dads birthday and it was gone in three days. For three people thats crazy cuz this cake was HUGE! Fabulous!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
taraluvsspicy82 March 03, 2010

Delicious! Everyone loved it! Used a different cake recipe and baked in three 8" pans. Only other thing I did different was add a dash of salt to the glaze.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kitchenslave03 February 22, 2010

Once again, Kittencal! I made this for my in-laws' Christmas, and everyone loved it. Begged me to leave the rest there so they could eat it later. You are the best! I have recently discovered your own web page and am super-excited!!! This was soooo rich and tasty! And it was also very beautiful, (before everyone dug into it!!!)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommy2johnbug February 02, 2010

I love boston cream pie and I love chocolate! What a perfect match!! Thanks for posting this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Mean Green March 01, 2008

The chocolate cake was probably one of the best cakes I have made...very moist and rich....we really enjoyed it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CIndytc January 20, 2008
All Chocolate Boston Cream Pie