Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / All-Chocolate Blackout Cake from Ebinger's Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    All-Chocolate Blackout Cake from Ebinger's

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on March 22, 2003

      Everyone who loves chocolate has got to try this one!!! This is so chocolatey and delicious! The little bit of extra time it takes to make this is definitley worth it! The frosting is especially good. Made this exactly as stated except had to unexpectedly run out after the frosting was made, so I had it in the frig a lot longer than 15 minutes. When I got back it had hardened, so I microwaved it just long enough to soften to frosting consistency. I also used the 2 extra T.'s of cornstarch for the filling to make it more pudding-like.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2009

      What an extremely delicious CHOCOLATE CHOCOLATE CHOCOLATE cake!! Did I say chocolate??? Though the cake has over 40 directing steps, it really wasn't too difficult to make. I made this cake for my boyfriend, who used to frequent Ebingers with his parents as a young boy in Brooklyn...boy oh boy was he impressed! I added the extra 2T of cornstarch to the pudding mixture, it was way to runny for anyone's liking...the 2T totally solved the problem. I also divided the pudding mixture into halves rather than thirds, as I read the directions beforehand and realized that something wasn't quite making sense with the last 1/3 of pudding. I could not believe how incredibly chocolatey the cake was, and neither could the boyfriend. I think that this was mainly due to the brands of chocolate I used...scharffen-berger and lindt make for an overwhelming taste. He was a huge fan despite the intensity of the chocolate flavor, and did say that it tasted just like good ol' Ebingers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2015

      This cake is delicious. It's not as sweet as you would expect. It is very labor intensive and time-consuming but worth it. I would definitely make this again. Brings me back to my childhood. Always loved the Entenmen's blackout cake but this one is better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2013

      This is a very nice cake, very good, but it not the ebinger's receipt the Ebinger's Blackout Cake is made with coffee.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2012

      I tried this recipe for Blackout Cake.This was my favorite cocolate cake as a child in Brooklyn. It took me 6 hours,much too long. There was one big problem. The icing called for too much butter and adding the cornstach to cold water creates lumps but doesn't thickenthe entire amount of icing so.. .
      I added a great deal more cornstarch (maybe 1 1/2 cups) to the icing with a sifter to thicken at the end.
      The cake was delicious and looked just like the photo here.Just needs some fine tuning.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2010

      What a ton of work! PHEW! I'm so exhausted from making this cake. It's really rich and yummy, though. I used a bag of ghiradelli semi-sweet chocolate chips for the frosting. It was exactly 12 oz and no chopping. Also, I subbed a mild honey for the corn syrup. I made this cake for an 85th birthday this weekend. I hope my in-laws appreciate all the hard work I put into the cake... and I hope it gives them fond memories of Ebingers, as they're all mostly from Brooklyn and Queens and I've heard them talk about Ebinger's before... particularly the buttercream. If anyone can give me any hints on the buttercream... I'll love you forever!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2009

      I'm no baker, but I've made this on four occasions and everyone thinks I'm a dessert genius. It's been a total hit every time. People comment on the not-too-sweet taste, and EVERYONE loves the total chocolate experience. There are a lot of steps in the recipe, but it's not that hard -- it's a little bit of work, but they're easy to follow and it turns out perfectly. There is one minor typo in steps 38, 39 and 40, as far as I can tell: the recipe calls for 1/3 of filling in Step 38, and another 1/3 in step 39. The final third is un-used. (I think the intention is to one half in Step 38 and the other in 39.) If you end up with too much filling, I suggest you do what I did: grab a spoon and enjoy that last third -- it's a delicious pudding! I don't know Mirj, but her recipes never disappoint. I've tried several. Thank you, Mirj, for posting this one in particular.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2005

      Had the original as a kid (even though I grew up in NJ) since friends and relatives would bring it in the green box! It was so memorable! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2005

      This cake was very good. My guests enjoyed it a lot. I especially liked the crumbled cake layer sprinkled on the cake. I added 2 additional tablespoons of cornstarch to thicken the filling. After putting a generous amount of filling between the layers, I still had a lot left over. Also, I made the frosting and put it in the refrigerator for 15 minutes as directed but it was runny (plus it was 2AM and I needed to get done). I thought that maybe it was supposed to be that way so I went ahead and poured it over the layers. By the next day the frosting did harden more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2004

      This is for serious chocoholics. I made this cake over a 3 day period. First day I made the layer cakes. They rose to a nice height of a full 2" each. I froze them. The next day I made the filling. I wish I would have paid more attention to step 48. I would have preferred a more pudding-like filling. The 3rd day I assembled the cake and made the frosting. I really like the frosting. At first I thought it would be too thin also but it does set up nicely in the refrigerator if you give it enough time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for All-Chocolate Blackout Cake from Ebinger's

    Serving Size: 1 (282 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 889.5
     
    Calories from Fat 533
    59%
    Total Fat 59.2 g
    91%
    Saturated Fat 36.4 g
    182%
    Cholesterol 168.5 mg
    56%
    Sodium 510.4 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 95.2 g
    31%
    Dietary Fiber 9.1 g
    36%
    Sugars 57.9 g
    231%
    Protein 12.2 g
    24%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes