Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Alissa Cohen's Broccoli Soup (Raw Foods) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Alissa Cohen's Broccoli Soup (Raw Foods)

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on March 23, 2010

      Just finished scraping the remnants of this wonderful soup off the bowl. Can't be beat for flavor, simplicity of preparation and flexibility. I used soaked almonds because that is what I had on hand and followed the rest as written. DH and I LOVED it! Served with sprouted grain bread. We're stuffed. Thank you for posting, mliss29! UPDATE: In making this soup again, I changed the method slightly: First I loaded all ingredients except the broccoli in the Vita Mix and blended til smooth. The broccoli went in last for about 2-3 seconds. This way DH had some 'stock' in his soup. He's a happy camper, and that's a good thing! ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2009

      I was a bit nervous trying this, but it was actually very good! I topped it with sprouts, as another review suggested. Would omit the oil next time, or at least decrease by half. Thank you for posting this!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2009

      really good!!! i soaked my nuts first and did a cashew/almond combo...served topped with sproutons of lentil and alfalfa :)...good, filling stuff will be a go to recipe for me from now on... -thanks mliss29

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2008

      Yum. This is very tasty. I didn't have cashews, so used almonds as you said the original recipe had them. This was a thick, filling bowl of soup for my lunch, gobbled down quickly! I might next time add a fresh lime wedge alongside each serving to drizzle on top. Just fantastic. Thanks, mliss29!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2010

      I've never made anything like this - I loved it!! My food processor wasn't big enough to do it all at once, so I ended up doing two batches. I did not add any oil. This recipe is wonderful in the summer and I'll be making again once the broccoli is ready in my garden.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2009

      This is really good. I used sunflower seeds instead of cashews. I also added juice from half a lemon and a tablespoon of nutritional yeast. I also used two cloves of garlic cause I really love it, but I forgot how strong it can be when you pulverize it in the blender. Stick with 1 or less cloves of garlic. It'll get stronger after it sits for a bit, too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2009

      This soup is very easy to make, taste good and is filling. It is one of my winter staples.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2008

      This was sooo good! I meant to make a half batch but accidentally used the whole avocado, so I just doubled everything else; but I'm GLAD of that mistake! It's nice and versatile: instead of all cashews (didn't have enough) I used 1/2 cup plus a handful of almonds. I also omitted the oil and used extra cumin, but less sea salt- I think a full tsp. would be awfully salty. It's so quick and easy. Even my mom, who's been feeling ill and not eating, said "yum, yum and yum!" So it's a keeper! Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2014

      Made this for the first time today, am eating raw these days, so this was my first raw soup. Very easy to make and tasty. Would not eat all the time but did enjoy and would do this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2012

      I usually don't like raw vegan soups but this was a winner. So rich and satisfying but most of healthy and fast! I added two garlic cloves which was a bit much--one would have done. And I added two tablespoons of raw honey.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2012

      I enjoyed this soup! I used up some broccoli that was about to go bad. I soaked the cashews in water for about an hour before making the soup. Was much easier to blend since I don't have a Vita Mix.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2012

      We loved this soup. While I had to heat one bowl for a picky eater, everyone else thought it was terrific. I'm still new to this, but next time, would like to serve it with some "raw" crackers and possibly sprinkle something a bit salty on top--chopped salted nuts, flax seeds, or something else. It's a definite keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2010

      Just Made this tonight :) sooo good. I've made a raw broccoli soup but found the flavour overpowering but... this was perfect! I halved the recipe and it was enough for 3 bowls. VEry easy and very tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2010

      I just reviewed this recipe and forgot to give it a rating. I give it 5 stars MLP2

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2010

      I thought this was ok. It had a subtle mend of the flavors. It makes a lot so if you're only going to serve 2 people cut the recipe in half.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Alissa Cohen's Broccoli Soup (Raw Foods)

    Serving Size: 1 (315 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 328.8
     
    Calories from Fat 241
    73%
    Total Fat 26.8 g
    41%
    Saturated Fat 4.6 g
    23%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 611.0 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.2 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 5.6 g
    22%
    Sugars 4.2 g
    17%
    Protein 7.5 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites