11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

excellent makes the chicken very juicy and tender the flavor of the stuffing is absolutely delicious. Very easy to make will surely make it again

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Patti 2 April 08, 2003

I just made this recipe and it was to die for. Will be adding to my top 5 favorites!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jojoharper January 08, 2011

My 15 yo son asks for this to be in the weekly rotation and anytime something other that burgers or pizza is requested, it's great! Great recipe for Sunday dinner.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HLNfan March 14, 2010

This was excellent! Almost a meal in itself. I used 4 huge chicken breasts and, judging by the other reviews, made it a bit differently. I used chicken Stove Top because that's what I had. I baked the chicken, which I seasoned with garlic powder, S&P, with just the mushroom soup and cheese on it, covered. I cooked it that way for 40 minutes and made the stuffing according to the directions on the stove top. When 40 minutes were up I put the stuffing on top of the chicken and continued baking for 15 more minutes,uncovered. All I had to do was make a veggie and some homemade biscuits and we had dinner!! Made in your memory, Judy-Jude.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mydesigirl January 21, 2009

It is a little bland, but still tasted good to me -- comfort food like. Might try the cream of mushroom with garlic soup next time... Made with Stove Top (what I had on hand) and took the advice of a couple other reviewers and added it to the top after mixing instead of pouring melted butter on top of the dried stuffing mix.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iewe February 25, 2009

This was very good. I made a few changes in ingredients to use what I had in the pantry. I used an already blended cheese of cheddar, monterey, asadero and queso quesadilla. And since I didn't have Pepperidge Farm stuffing, I used chicken flavored Stove Top. I thought 1 cup of butter would be too much for our tastes (and waist lines!!) so I used 1/2 cup of butter and added 1/2 cup of water to the stuffing/cheese mixture. I seasoned the chicken with garlic powder, followed the directions and after an hour, my chicken was done and the stuffing was moist. French green beans and a green salad rounded out the meal. Half of this recipe is now cooling and will be put in the freezer for another time. Made in your memory, Judy-Jude.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chattes January 21, 2009

This was a delicious recipe! I did tweek it a bit to fit what I had on hand. I made my own bread stuffing with using Failproof French Bread (Bread Machine) which I cubed up and than used Stuffing in which I have Copycat Lipton's Onion Soup Mix on hand at all times and made Cream of Chicken Soup in place of the store brand. I only used 1/2c butter because I felt it would be to much butter if I had used a full cup. My Dh and I really enjoyed this chicken recipe though. I will be keeping it in my favorite Zaar recipe cookbook too. Made in loving memory of Judy~Jude for the cook-a-thon held in her honor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marsha D. January 20, 2009

I made this with three large chicken breasts, cream of chicken soup, and a blend of colby and monterey jack shredded cheese. Didnt have Pepperidge Farm stuffing so I used a box of turkey Stove Top stuffing I had left over from Thanksgiving. Baked for an hour and served with Ellen Moran's Buttered Brown Rice and Sydney Mike's Green Beans, Cream Style. Very tasty meal with moist chicken and stuffing. Made and reviewed for Judy-Jude's Cookathon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 January 14, 2009

I stumbled upon this recipe and found it sort of similar to one I'd made in the past...The difference here, is that this recipe appears to be constructed in such a way to avoid making the stuffing in advance...Instead the idea seems to be that the stuffing would somehow prepare itself during the cooking process...It's a nice idea in theory, but I found that it didn't work in this case, despite my following the recipe as written...The chicken was fine and nicely moist, but the rest however, was not appealing at all...The stuffing was only half realised, with half of it like croutons and only the other half like stuffing...Also, I can only conclude, as a prior reviewer did, that the cheese disappeared into the stuffing/gravy mixture as I never saw it again, once the dish was cooked...Lastly, while the chicken part of the dish was fine, the stuffing/gravy part had such an overwhelmingly salty flavor that once tasted, ended uneaten...Based on the above, the suggestion a prior reviewer had, that the recipe needs tweaking is not without merit...Personally, I'd suggest eliminating the margarine and making the stuffing in advance (per pkg. directions) rather than trying to force the baking process do it for you (as the recipe now stands)...I'd also change where the cheese is added and instead sprinkle it over the top of the entire mixture somewhere in the last 10 min. (or less) of the bake time (until melted)...I'm so sorry I couldn't rate this recipe higher :-(

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookin'withGas May 01, 2007
Alice's Baked Chicken Breast