85 Reviews

This was great. We added some blackened chicken breast for a little extra kick and I can't wait to make it again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
agentlee20 May 19, 2011

I have to admit..the easiest and tastiest!I used fat free 1/2 and 1/2 and decreased the h2o to 1/4 cup to make up for the fact that the fat free stuff usually doesn't thicken as much as real 1/2 and 1/2.I also threw some roasted garlic in the milk as it was coming to temp and I used a mix of half parm cheese and half shredded Parrano (its similar to parm and regiano but perhaps a tad bit smokey in flavor...we love it on everything).My hubby loved it and asked for it again tomorrow!Thanks for a good one!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefWantABe October 20, 2010

Wow! This was super easy, yet tasted heavenly. I was feeling lazy, so I just threw the butter in the saucepan after the bullion dissolved. Added some chopped garlic, then whisked in the flour. Used heavy cream b/c that's what I had in the fridge. I poured the sauce over the cooked pasta, then mixed it all up in a giant bowl. Plated and topped with broccoli and spicy sauteed chicken breast chunks. This sauce was the perfect complement to the heat of the chicken. Thanks for sharing, Ana. Will use this again and again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Coffee Crazed June 13, 2010

Easy and yummy! Does it get any better than that?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
10887958 March 04, 2013

Wonderful! I love that you control how thick you want it by how long you keep it on the heat. This had great flavor (used a fabulous cheese given the rule: the fewer the ingredients the better each must be) and added the garlic powder instead of minced to keep the sauce smooth and a lovely creamy color. We did blackened chicken tenderloins over linguini with stir fry veggies for a quick but fabulous week-night dinner! Memorable and enough for lunch tomorrow! Thanks for sharing Ana :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diane R January 23, 2013

Excellent! So easy to prepare, smooth and great flavor! I used it in my Chicken Carbonara and it was fabulous. A keeper! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hazelruthe January 20, 2013

OH WOW!!! This graced our Valentine's Day meal and it was everything I hoped it would be. My kid always orders Fettucine Alfredo if it's on the menu and she enjoys it whether it's mediocre or amazing. This not only won her seal of approval she claims it's the best Alfredo she's ever tasted. My husband and I had to agree. We did add chicken and broccoli and I added fresh garlic to the butter for a few minutes for some garlicky goodness but otherwise followed everything else to a T. Well, I took another reviewers advice and only added 1 T of flour (vs. the 1/4 cup) and I think it was the perfect creamy thickness. I can honestly say that this will be our alfredo go-to from here on out. I don't even think I will ever go back to Bonfires which up til now has served my favorite Fettucine Alfredo. No need for them anymore...THANK YOU SO MUCH ANA ROMANO!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
georgeweezie_8318418 February 15, 2012

I will preface this by saying this recipe will now be my go-to alfredo recipe!!! I have been trying recipes for years, and they are always just not what we are hoping for. This one totally fit the bill!

That being said, I cannot give 5 stars to a recipe that needs tweaking. While this recipe is *almost* perfect, I did have to change just a couple of things to make it perfect. First, I added 2 minced garlic cloves to the melted butter before adding the flour. And second, it was SO SO SO thick. Way too much so. I will either cut down on the flour next time or I will add 1/3-1/2 cup of milk. I did add some milk at the end and it helped a lot, but it still needed more as it thickened much more as it cooled. I was a little apprehensive about the bouillon, but it worked beautifully!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lynniek July 12, 2011

This was absolutely delicious and super easy! I added some chicken (cooked with shallots and garlic) to the sauce while the pasta boiled and served with beer bread to make it a heartier meal. Next time, I'm throwing in some mushrooms, too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GrnSonja April 11, 2011
Alfredo Sauce