200 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I come from a large Italian family and this is definitely an authentic alfredo sauce, similar to how my grandmother makes it. I think the problem people have with blandness is that they are not using high quality cheese. I use freshly grated aged Locatelli pecorino romano, and it adds plenty of punch to this recipe without tweaking it at all. Plain old parmesan would definitely make for a bland sauce...buy high quality Italian cheese and see what a difference it makes :-)

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PatriotsGirl March 16, 2011

I just made this sauce in my very own microwave and it took about 5 minutes. The sauce is DELICIOUS! The sauce was a little too thin for my liking, so the only thing I did different was I added 1/2 TBSP of flour after some of the cheese had melted and mixed it in and microwaved it for about another minute and a half. The sauce was not bland for me, but I used authentic Parmesan cheese. Also, I did not need to add salt because the cheese made it salty enough for my taste. Enjoy!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
barclay.sarah March 21, 2011

In 2003 I wrote this review, "I added bacon to make it more of a cream-style carbonara and it was fabulous! Served it over spagetti with garlic bread - Yum!"

In 2010, I happened upon the same recipe and made it again this time adding 1/2 a frozen package of creamed spinach to make it more of a Florentine and again - YUM! :)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meghan Williams October 19, 2010

To be honest, I didn't like this version very much as written. It was too bland and I felt that it had too much butter. But it worked okay for our meal. Would retry with alterations to recipe. Most people who review this have done the same, so it needs to be updated or someone needs to post THEIR version that is more flavorful!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Redheaded Chef February 15, 2011

A great, simple recipe. We added garlic powder and Italian seasoning and it was delicious! Better than store bought in my opinion.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
clintcrystalella February 27, 2011

This is an easy recipe to make. We used some imitation crab in this. I also added some finely chopped onion and garlic to the butter when making. Then we topped it off with some fresh parsley. We will make again, its so easy and tastes great. Thank you so much for sharing with us.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour February 03, 2011

Was wonderfully creamy, but a little bland and needed to be thickened just a smidge. So I ended up tweaking it with a little flour, roasted garlic, and some chopped spinach. A good way to sneak in a leafy green.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
love2cook/hate2bake November 20, 2010

I made this on the stove and I added some broccoli and chicken. I also used half and half but I thought it seemed bland. A lot of salt helped it but I was hoping for more.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Margie99 June 29, 2010

Sooooo good! I substituted fat free half & half for the cream but didn't change anything else. Even with the substitute, I still found it to be rich and flavorful. I can only imagine how sinful it would be with the real deal. Thank you for sharing! It's a keeper! ;D

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scouter Girl June 22, 2010

I read the reviews to see if it needed any tweeking. Took some advice, added a teaspoon of precrushed garlic from a jar, I mixed a tablespoon of cornstarch in 3 tablespoons of cold water & mixed in with sauce & used lemon pepper as additional seasoning. I mixed in season chicken pieces & broccoli florets served over twisted noodles, Yummy!!! My son (12) wanted to bottle the sauce & sell it at school! Well, better than one most kids are selling! Thanks for the recipe! Oh and I added about 1/4 cup more heavy cream.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paulette10 April 22, 2010
Alfredo Sauce