Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Alfredo Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Alfredo Sauce

    Average Rating:

    200 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 200

    Sort by:

    • on March 16, 2011

      I come from a large Italian family and this is definitely an authentic alfredo sauce, similar to how my grandmother makes it. I think the problem people have with blandness is that they are not using high quality cheese. I use freshly grated aged Locatelli pecorino romano, and it adds plenty of punch to this recipe without tweaking it at all. Plain old parmesan would definitely make for a bland sauce...buy high quality Italian cheese and see what a difference it makes :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2011

      I just made this sauce in my very own microwave and it took about 5 minutes. The sauce is DELICIOUS! The sauce was a little too thin for my liking, so the only thing I did different was I added 1/2 TBSP of flour after some of the cheese had melted and mixed it in and microwaved it for about another minute and a half. The sauce was not bland for me, but I used authentic Parmesan cheese. Also, I did not need to add salt because the cheese made it salty enough for my taste. Enjoy!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2010

      In 2003 I wrote this review, "I added bacon to make it more of a cream-style carbonara and it was fabulous! Served it over spagetti with garlic bread - Yum!"

      In 2010, I happened upon the same recipe and made it again this time adding 1/2 a frozen package of creamed spinach to make it more of a Florentine and again - YUM! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2011

      To be honest, I didn't like this version very much as written. It was too bland and I felt that it had too much butter. But it worked okay for our meal. Would retry with alterations to recipe. Most people who review this have done the same, so it needs to be updated or someone needs to post THEIR version that is more flavorful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2011

      A great, simple recipe. We added garlic powder and Italian seasoning and it was delicious! Better than store bought in my opinion.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2011

      This is an easy recipe to make. We used some imitation crab in this. I also added some finely chopped onion and garlic to the butter when making. Then we topped it off with some fresh parsley. We will make again, its so easy and tastes great. Thank you so much for sharing with us.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2010

      Was wonderfully creamy, but a little bland and needed to be thickened just a smidge. So I ended up tweaking it with a little flour, roasted garlic, and some chopped spinach. A good way to sneak in a leafy green.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2010

      I made this on the stove and I added some broccoli and chicken. I also used half and half but I thought it seemed bland. A lot of salt helped it but I was hoping for more.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2010

      Sooooo good! I substituted fat free half & half for the cream but didn't change anything else. Even with the substitute, I still found it to be rich and flavorful. I can only imagine how sinful it would be with the real deal. Thank you for sharing! It's a keeper! ;D

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2010

      I read the reviews to see if it needed any tweeking. Took some advice, added a teaspoon of precrushed garlic from a jar, I mixed a tablespoon of cornstarch in 3 tablespoons of cold water & mixed in with sauce & used lemon pepper as additional seasoning. I mixed in season chicken pieces & broccoli florets served over twisted noodles, Yummy!!! My son (12) wanted to bottle the sauce & sell it at school! Well, better than one most kids are selling! Thanks for the recipe! Oh and I added about 1/4 cup more heavy cream.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2010

      Yummy and very easy. I substituted whole milk and half & half for the heavy cream and it turned out great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2010

      Awesome recipe, I used it for my senior center guests, over chicken and fett. As my own twist I added Italian seasonings to the mix. The seniors loved it! Highly recommended!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2013

      I added garlic salt because I love garlic. Otherwise, this sauce is awesome. My daughter said it's the best sauce she's ever had!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2013

    • on September 10, 2012

      The sauce was very thin and a little bland as written. May be better with the variations that others had tried. However it was very quick and simple to make which is great for a busy week night meal, so we may try others versions of this next time. Thanks for a fast meal, without having to hit the dreaded drive through.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2011

      This is the best alfredo sauce I have ever had.......its soooo good. I made a seafood alfredo with pasta, scallops, shrimp and also threw some chicken in it. I used fresh parmesan cheese which makes a huge difference. I posted a pic as well. I'm making it again tomorrow for my boyfriends birthday.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2011

      Really good! Just a note to self. NO added salt. For some odd reason this came out quite salty, but probably my fault. The real reason for the 4 stars instead of 5 was that the overall consistency was very thin. And for us, a thicker sauce for pasta is what is needed. I'll definitely make it again but a bit thicker. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2011

      I've done a very similar sauce. For extra flavor I used an Italian seasoned parmesan cheese mix from the can. Wife and kids always offer up this dish when I ask them what we should have for dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2010

    • on May 23, 2010

      This is an amazing sauce, and one I will use from now on! It's so simple to make and the results are delicious with noodles, linguine, any pasta for that matter!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 10

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Alfredo Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (107 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 489.9
     
    Calories from Fat 453
    92%
    Total Fat 50.4 g
    77%
    Saturated Fat 31.5 g
    157%
    Cholesterol 159.0 mg
    53%
    Sodium 312.4 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.5 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    1%
    Protein 8.6 g
    17%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes