Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Alfredo Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Alfredo Sauce

    Average Rating:

    153 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 153

    Sort by:

    • on January 10, 2011

      This recipe was good, however I added a few changes. I only used half the suggested amount of cream cheese, added an extra 1/4 cup of parmasan cheese and I added 1/4 cup of milk (in addition to the half and half cream). I added 1 clove of garlic instead of the garlic powder. The sauce was thick and really heavy, but my kids gobbled it up. My son was convinced I ordered it from a restaurant. I will definately make this again. Be careful not to cook too long!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2010

      This is a great base to start a sauce my family likes. I use 6-8 cloves of chopped fresh garlic that I sautee with chicken for the last 2 minutes of cooking, about double the fresh grated parm, milk instead of cream, and thin it out with chicken stock because it turns out very thick if made by the recipe. I also use white pepper instead of black- I've always been taught that you don't use black pepper in a light sauce. No one knows what the little black things are in their sauce :.s The cream cheese adds a nice richness to it and a beautiful, velvety texture that we really do love!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2012

      Delicious.. added 1/2 parmesan cheese with 3 grilled chicken breasts (olive oil, salt and pepper to the breasts)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2011

      Really great flavor! I actually used just 1/4 c. of butter and it turned out fine (couldn't bring myself to use a whole stick!). I also had to sub cheddar cheese because I realized I was all out of parm. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2011

      Really good, really thick sauce. I sauteed some chicken breasts in olive oil and made the sauce in the same pan before adding the diced chicken. I ended up adding about 1/2 cup of the pasta water from the spaghetti I made with this to thin it a touch, then stirred the pasta into the sauce before serving. My kids still won't eat sauce on their noodles, preferring butter and parm, but my son (7), did tell me he thought it was yummy and he'll have it "next time." Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2011

      I was looking for an easy and cheap alfredo recipe and this was it. In previous reviews people used whole milk instead of the half and half. So that is what i did, since i have whole milk all the time and have never in my life bought half and half. It was Fantastic. I also used about a 1 1/2 cups of cheese and added a little extra milk. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2011

      Yummy! One of my New Year's resolutions is to comment on all the great recipes here that have made my family think I am a great cook! Was in a pinch for time and made this recipe. I altered a few things - used light cream cheese and 2% milk and added a little more parm cheese. I also served some frozen spinach (sauteed quickly with some fresh garlic) and 4-5 slices of bacon that I had on hand and cooked and chopped quickly. My boys raved and gave it their own 5 stars - thanks Grits-n-Ms!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2010

      I love is recipe!! I even add some lemon juice to to the water and sauce. It makes it even more amazing!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2010

      I've made all three Alfredo Sauce recipes off the "Top 100" list of 2009 and this was our favorite. The texture and flavor was the best, in our opinion of course:) I did need to add a little salt at the end but other than that it was perfect. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2010

      I used this as a sauce for a chicken alfredo bake and I could've eaten myself sick on it - it was SO good! I made the sauce as the recipe called for (subbing milk for cream), poured it over some cooked fusili in a 9x13 pan, added maybe another cup of milk to thin it out and baked at 350 for 25 minutes! Delish! I'll be making this one again and again! Thanks for a wonderful and simple recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2010

      I made chicken alfredo using this recipe. I tried heavy cream and whipping cream since I had some that needed to be used and minced garlic out of the jar. I had been seeing several commercials for pasta on TV...and I was craving a good alfredo. This was it! Best I ever had....I have several requests for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2009

      Oh my word! This was absolutely delicious! And so easy to make. I love that it was so simple and yummy. I made it in less than 10 minutes and used it as a white sauce on pizza and my 20 month old daughter was licking it off her pizza. Thanks for posting my new go to alfredo recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2009

      I tried this recipe but with some variations I lessened the cream cheese by half and instead of using half and half I used heavy cream and added some bacons. This recipe allows you some flexibility in adding some of your techniques and it still comes out wonderfully tasteful

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2004

      Excellent flavor! We put it over whole wheat spiral pasta and added black olives. It was great! Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2004

      This was great! I added a can of crabmeat & used fresh garlic instead of garlic powder. What a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2003

      Very thick and creamy, great flavor. I didn't have any half and half on hand so I used 8oz of evaporated milk instead. I threw in a 4.25 oz can of crab meat and served it with angel hair pasta. Everyone raved about it. Definitely a keeper

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2014

      Really great! I wanted to use low-fat cream cheese and this is a great recipe. I added some fresh herbs and simmered. Very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2014

      Really enoyed this sauce, it's thick and sticks to the pasta. The cream cheese added a tanginess, which I liked. Served over linguinie (I was out of fettucine) and topped with additional parmesan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2014

      As I reviewed other reviews prior to cooking: I cut back to 1/4 cup butter and used 1/2 parm. Thanks for the keeper forever!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2014

      This is super easy and delicious. Kids love it, as well as adults.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Alfredo Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (150 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1002.9
     
    Calories from Fat 914
    91%
    Total Fat 101.6 g
    156%
    Saturated Fat 61.4 g
    307%
    Cholesterol 300.2 mg
    100%
    Sodium 1008.7 mg
    42%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.2 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 4.0 g
    16%
    Protein 15.6 g
    31%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites