13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This dish is amazing! I used zucchini in place of the green beans and just plain forgot about the bell pepper. I also had no garlic salt so I used two heaping tbsp. of chopped garlic and some seasoned salt and it was still awesome. DH also suggested that some chopped tomato might be nice and I agree. I think this dish would have to be somewhere in the top 10 of my all time favorite Zaar recipes. Needless to say this is something I will be making often and I imagine my kids will be asking for the recipe in 20 years :) Thank you so much for posting such a winner!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KLBoyle March 10, 2011

This is so yummy. It was my first time trying crescent dough as a pie crust. Very yummy. I used 1 medium onion and red bell pepper (near 1 cup). I didn't have green beans, so I used 1 zucchini, diced. I used garlic powder instead of garlic salt. For the cheese I used mozzarella. Thanks so much for posting this recipe. Made for PRMR tag game

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette February 02, 2011

Very, very nice, & definitely worth making again, for sure! I did use garlic powder instead of garlic salt & also substituted freshly steamed green beans for the canned version! Oh, & I sprinkled the meat with a bit of lemon pepper, but other than that the recipe was followed right on down! Thanks for sharing it! [Tagged & made in Please Review My Recipe]

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike January 24, 2011

This was very good for being so easy. Turned out better than I had hoped for. My crust was a bit soggy in the middle, but that may be because I baked it in my toaster oven since it was hot out. Things tend to get done a little faster in there, I should have dropped the temp a bit to allow the bottom to be caught up with the top. Still had great flavor though. I think next time I will use french cut green beans. Those are really the only kind of canned green beans I like, but I wanted to keep to the original recipe my first try. The beans were OK, but I think the french cut will be better!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JenniferK2 July 28, 2010

5stars for a weeknight dinner. very easy to throw together even with a 2yr old screaming. I didn't have any tomato sauce so I did about a 1/4 c of ketchup and half can of diced tomatoes with garlic. my daughter is allergic to eggs so I left that out and just layered some sliced velveeta on the cresent rolls then the meat mixture and some grated cheddar to top it off. i also added some salt, pepper and seasoning salt to the ground beef. served with mashed tators. yummy. thnx for sharing i see this being a regular around here.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
caffeine_queen_ak April 29, 2010

This is a very nice dish for family or company. I do wish I had followed another review and added some pepper but it worked fine to add it at the table. My family really enjoyed it. I love that it sets up so well and the pieces come out so nice. The crescent rolls make a great crust and I did add some exttra cheese. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GaylaV December 01, 2009

One of my all time favorites!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
arculley September 15, 2014

I seasoned the ground beef while cooking, didn't have green beans so i used frozen peas, since I don't like bell pepper didn't add it but overall it turned out delicious. Very flavorful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
simplegirl36 February 04, 2013

This was a great weeknight dinner! Mine stuck to the pie plate so badly that I will have to line it next time with parchment. It might be that I have a glass pyrex pie plate, and it seems like it might be a bit bigger than the standard size, which meant squashing the crescents thin. I used Colby/Jack cheese and left out the peppers cause the kids don't like them. Will make this again. Very tasty. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen Roachie December 04, 2010

Pretty good dish and definitely easy! I followed the recipe, but used 2 cups of colby-jack mix as that is what I had on hand. Next time I may add some more seasoning to the meat, but we enjoyed this and I think it would definitely be kid friendly. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DeniseBC May 09, 2010
Alex's Favorite Beef and Cheese Pie