Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Alcatra ( Portuguese Pot Roast With Wine, Bacon & Garlic) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Alcatra ( Portuguese Pot Roast With Wine, Bacon & Garlic)

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on December 12, 2009

      I can't vouch for the authenticity, but this is very tasty. I used port rather than white wine. I think I would try it again without the bacon, with slightly more olive oil. I think this technique could also work with chunks of stew meat.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2007

      This was a good roast. It was not Alcatra. I served this to my very Portuguese boyfried that is strait from the Acores last night and of course he teased me about this being a good roast, but definetly not the traditional Alcatra. Maybe you should re-title the name of the recipe to exclude Alcatra. However, I would make it again using a roast because the flavors of the sauce were very good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2014

      My ex wife is from the Azores and she use to make authentic Portuguese alcatra all of the time. I have to admit that it is one of my most favorite meals. I haven't had this version yet, but am looking forward to trying it. The authentic alcatra is made in a clay pot with lard lining the sides and there is no mention of tomato paste, so I might leave that out, but this recipe sounds good and I can't wait to try it. I still have my ex wife's recipe, if anyone can read Portuguese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2007

      This was definitely tender and different. This got mixed reviews, my brother didn't like it, said it was a bit sourish, I thought it was good, and my mom loved it...lol. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2007

      My family found this very appealing. Very easy to fix. Will share with other members of my family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2006

      Yes! This is delicious! Because there are only two dining, I used about 1 1/2 lb beef, and scaled the recipe to one third. I slow cooked the meat in a castiron pot on the stovetop yesterday, and actually had my doubts about the flavor. Today it's out of this world. I feel the time is needed for the flavors to meld. Will do this again. Thank you very much for sharing this recipe with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2006

      Delightfully different from our usual 'plain Jane' type pot roast! We had a dinner guest who just flipped out over it, so I sent the leftovers home with him. He reported that it was still fabulous the second time around. I made this exactly according to directions. Next time, I plan to add the red pepper flakes as Bev suggested and cut the salt somewhat. It was just the tiniest bit too salty for us, but it was truly delicious! I always seem to have good luck with your recipes, Angie. Thanks for another winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2006

      The best pot roast ever!!! My husband hates pot roast but loves this. I left out the cloves and added large white mushrooms before putting in the oven. I also just sent this recipe to my sister in MS. It's great!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2005

      This is an absolutely wonderful meal that my ML makes every Christmas. The meat is fall apart tender and the juice is to die for. I usually prefer to have mostly the juice with a nice portuguese bun. Absolutely to die for.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2005

      My husband really enjoyed this, and I found that it had a rather addictive taste as well, though, be careful with the amount of tomato paste that you add. I just added a whole can of paste rather than just three tbs, and, the tomato rather overwhelmed most of the other flavours. However, the meat was really falling apart, and since I usually have a hard time getting my hubby to eat secomds of my beef roasts, it was nice to see him ask for more, twice. Try this, but keep an eye on the fat as well. There is a lot more in this recipe than absolutely needed. But, still, VERY tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2005

      This was absolutely wonderful! Reminded me of why I love the Iberian Peninsula and the local cooking! I sauted the bacon in slices and then crumbled (easier for me) and chopped the onion really fine. Didn't use the olive oil as the bacon rendered so much fat anyway. I used port rather than white wine and 1/2 tsp of red pepper flakes as well. Served with potatoes cooked along with the roast, a green vegie, and a salad. Defintly a make again meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Alcatra ( Portuguese Pot Roast With Wine, Bacon & Garlic)

    Serving Size: 1 (151 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 175.2
     
    Calories from Fat 73
    41%
    Total Fat 8.1 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 2.3 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 9.6 mg
    3%
    Sodium 389.9 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.7 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    13%
    Protein 2.4 g
    4%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    boneless beef rump roast

    cloves

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites