Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Albers Tamale Pie Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Albers Tamale Pie Casserole

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-29 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on October 26, 2006

      I changed the recipe to use leftovers, but the basics of this recipe are really delicious. I made it with refried beans, a jar of olives, leftover taco meat, a jar of taco sauce (not salsa) and mexican cheese (queso fresco). We couldn't believe how tasty it was.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2006

      This is delicious comfort food! I made this a lot when my husband and I were first married.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2005

      This didn't have much flavor. The only thing I left out was the olives. I will try it again using salsa instead of the tomato sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2005

      I thought this was fun to make. And great flavor too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2005

      Ciao..This was a wonderful recipe. Thanks so much for sharing it. The only chages that I made were: I did not have any evaporated milk so instead I used whole milk. Worked perfectly. Also instead of green bell pepper, I used a chopped up poblano pepper as that was what I had on hand. Boy did that make it yummy with a touch of spice. I also used about a cup black beans in the mixture as some others did. It really is a very forgiving recipe but besides that, it has wonderful flavor. Thanks again for the great recipe. This will be one that I will continue to use on a regular basis. Hugs to you, Susie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2005

      This was so easy and yummy! My family (all 7 of us) loved it. It brought back good memories for me as my mom made this a lot when I was just a girl. Thanks for posting. The only things I did different was leave out the green pepper and I made enough for 12-18 servings worth. It made a lot and now we can have another dinner out of it tomorrow! I love "plan-aheads"! Thanks again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2004

      This is one of the best tasting Tamale Pies I ever tried. I added extra garlic, because I love it. I also had to use whole kernel corn as I didn't have cream style, also added some black beans. I will be making this again. Next time I make it I will add the cream style corn. Thank You! ciao

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2004

      Ah, childhood memories! My grandmother used to make this for us and I haven't made it in years. This was so good...DS and DH just loved this stuff, I'm not sure I had ever made this for them! I'm sure I don't have the recipe anymore, at any rate! I did add more garlic, you know what a garlic fiend I am :) and I added a bit more cheese. The guys just plowed through this pan of goodness! Simple and yummy goodness...thanks for sharing, L!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2003

      I was a little apprehensive about using the crust because it didn't have much flavor to it by itself (used Quaker brand corn meal and wasn't sure if that would have made a difference), but once the filling is added and you take a bite of each, it's a perfect blend of flavors. The crust crumbled on top adds a little crunch to the soft filling (I subbed the ground beef with canarygirl's Chicken Verde (#32918)..I did add tomato sauce, corn and additional spices). I'm looking forward to having this for lunch tomorrow, thanks for posting L! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Albers Tamale Pie Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (340 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 651.4
     
    Calories from Fat 280
    43%
    Total Fat 31.1 g
    47%
    Saturated Fat 13.5 g
    67%
    Cholesterol 114.3 mg
    38%
    Sodium 1782.2 mg
    74%
    Total Carbohydrate 60.3 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 6.5 g
    26%
    Sugars 7.0 g
    28%
    Protein 35.8 g
    71%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites