Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Albers Tamale Pie Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Albers Tamale Pie Casserole

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on June 13, 2003

      This was really Good!!! Because I have vegetarians as well as meat eaters, I used ground tofu. I also used Enchilada sauce over the tomato sauce and 1 can of green chili's. The Corn crust was lovely, soft and full of flavor. The topping and cheese made a lovely presentation, and the whole dish was full of flavor. My two oldest had their boyfriends over for dinner and they inhaled what would have been for lunch the next day. The next time I will make two recipes worth for dinner. Thanks for posting this recipe. Di

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2003

      aside from making the cornmeal a bit too thick on the bottom (I will distribute evenly next time), this was a GREAT meal and was a hit at my house. I will def. make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2011

      I made this for a party where I needed to take a dish to pass and everyone loved it! We don't eat meat so I made it with some back beans, pinto beans, and a little tvp and vegetarians and meat-eaters all seemed to enjoy it. I forgot to mix in the black olives so I just put them on top after I took it out of the oven. I'll make double batch next time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2008

      This was really good! I made a couple of substitutions: I used fat-free milk in place of the evaporated milk, a small can of enchilada sauce in place of the tomato sauce, and a can of diced green chilies. Having made those substitutions, I should have cut back on the chili powder because I'm cooking for three kids, and it was a bit too spicy for them. My husband and I loved it though!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2008

      I didn't have creamed corn on hand so I used frozen. Still was a great recipe and will use again soon.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2007

      This was so good that I after having the leftovers for lunch I doubled the recipe and served for dinner the same night! It was hard to choose one tamale pie recipe over another, but I liked the creamed corn, canned milk, and the pre-baking of the crust. I chopped my beef mixture up a bit in the processor (after cooked) to have a finer texture. I also added a bit of diced jalapeno to the along with the corn, etc. The whole family cleaned their plates two nights in a row! Thanks Ciao, for posting. Roxygirl

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2013

      We really liked this recipe! Next time I would let the cornbread mixture sit for a few minutes before lining the pan with it. I think it would help it hold its shape better and keep it from sliding back down the pan. I also used skim milk because I did not have the evaporated on hand. Worked out just fine. It was so nice to have on a weeknight. Thank you for sharing. We will definitely have this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2013

      Substitued:
      1 cup frozen corn for cream corn
      Enchilada sauce for tomato sauce
      No olives because I didn't have any
      Added about 1 tbs chopped jalape?o
      1 tsp cumin and would have added 1/4 - 1/2 tsp oregano if I had any

      Placed into a deep dish pie pan and baked in oven for 15 minutes, cool for 5 minutes.

      Results were really good. I'd make this again, but would use a slotted spoon when moving meat mixture to baking dish to eliminate the beef grease. Also I might change it up by making more cornmeal and substitute some meat with pinto or black beans. With bean substitute you could double or triple the recipe, stretch this dish, for a large church or school gathering.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2012

      Very good! I have made this twice now, once using ground beef as per the recipe and once using leftover chicken...excellent both ways!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2011

      This was good and very easy to make. I thought it could have used some more flavor so I will add some spices next time. I did have salsa and sour cream for those who wanted to it add it to their serving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2010

      Pretty good....I was out of cream corn so used regular and decided to use rotel with green chiles in place of the tomato sauce...quite good for an easy week night meal

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2009

      We really enjoyed this recipe. It was a different take on the standard cornbread topping that we used to use and it satisfies my cravings for tamale without all that work! Many thanks Ciao! My family will enjoy this often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2009

      great! better than the last recipe i used. i prefer this crust to the corn bread one. served topped with sour cream, tomatoes and cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2008

      This was just okay. I think it was a good idea with the crust, but the filling definitely needs some adjustments. I probably won't make it again as I have a similar recipe using cornbread on top that I like better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2008

      This is a very tasty meal. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2008

      Ez to make good hearty main course I sevred with spanish rice and lemonade to drink thanks alot for this yummy dish

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2007

      Good hearty casserole. Used the enchilada sauce as another reviewer recommended. Nest time will use a small can of diced green chiles instead of the green pepper. This casserole was even better the next day. Thanks for the recipe, Ciao.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2007

      Thank You Thank You. It is so good. Just like I remember. Mom used to make this all the time well at least once every few weeks. Lost the recipe, been hunting for it, Thank You for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2007

      This was very good! I prepared it as written, except for leaving out the olives because I didn't have any on hand. For me, it worked best to let the cornmeal mixture cool quite a bit before trying to press it into the pan. My cornmeal mixture was too thick to spread with a spoon or spatula, but once it cooled for at least 5 minutes, it became less sticky and was easy to press into the pan with my hands. The recipe is great as written, but I will probably use a can of diced green chiles next time in place of the bell peppers. The bell peppers were fine, but I think my family would prefer the chiles. If it weren't for the kids, I'd use diced jalapenos. We just ended up adding jalapenos to the dish at the table. Anyway, I'd definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2006

      Easy doubled or two and a halfed (2 1/2 lbs hamburger). Made for my son's 14th birthday weekend with lots of boys around. Perfect meal for a crowd. Oh, thanks Aunt Bev for cooking HER recipe and ciao for having it on the site. Just a few tweaks (Auntie's recommendations) and I have a favorite to add to my cookbook. Again, thanks Recipezaar for being such an amazing resource.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Albers Tamale Pie Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (340 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 651.4
     
    Calories from Fat 280
    43%
    Total Fat 31.1 g
    47%
    Saturated Fat 13.5 g
    67%
    Cholesterol 114.3 mg
    38%
    Sodium 1782.2 mg
    74%
    Total Carbohydrate 60.3 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 6.5 g
    26%
    Sugars 7.0 g
    28%
    Protein 35.8 g
    71%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites