20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Yum, yum, yum was this tasty. I have tried beer breads before, and for some reason, this one tasted especially good. I did not have Alaskan beer, so I used a German Kolsch instead. nlike most beer breads, which often come out looking rather lumpy and bumpy, this baked up into a pretty brown loaf with a very crispy crust and a tender, moist interior. The smell is so wonderful - everyone was coming into the kitchen wondering what the great smell was. Delcious! Gone in 10 minutes flat. One word of caution: don't overmix your batter or it can get hard (this is from experience making beer breads) and this is more of a tearing bread rather than a slicing bread..don't expect nice, neat slices. Also - when you first slice into the bread, you may notice wet streaks that at first appear to be undercooked bits - they are not, but rather are pockets of beer dampened bread that taste amazing. Really great beer bread!

26 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeatherFeather September 09, 2002

Wonderful bread, Dee!! The only beer I had was Foster's, but it worked beautifully. I also added a leftover 1/2 cup of shredded, smoked sharp cheddar that I didn't want to go to waste. I made it with my stand mixer, mixing all dry ingredients with the cheese and then adding the beer (using the paddle, not the dough hook). I mixed on high for only about 30 seconds. Otherwise, it was made to recipe and will be made over and over again. I can't wait to try it with some additions such as dark beer, grated onion, parmesan/romano/blue cheese, chives, rosemary, basil, etc., etc. It went together so quickly and easily, and baked exactly at the time and temp. listed. The texture is perfect--dense and moist. I'm going to try it for breakfast toast in the morning. Thanks so much for a bread that will be eaten here a LOT!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vina September 06, 2003

It was delicious. I followed the recipe and added caraway seeds. Next time I will like to try adding cheese.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
g24 February 22, 2009

Excellent quick bread recipe! To increase the nutritional content, I added 1/3 C. ground flax seeds. This gave the bread a nutty, yeasty, addictive quality. Definitiely moorish! Will keep this as the preferred quick bread recipe around here. Oh, used O'Douls' amber brew.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Thistley December 01, 2007

This was so easy, fast and DELICIOUS! I bought some pumpkin flavored beer and didn't like drinking it, so I tried it in this recipe- AWESOME! Gives it a little extra flavor and it smells wonderful. The crust is amazing... Have I said YUMMY! yet? My husband also liked this bread very much. Five stars all the way.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WithoutContext November 26, 2007

I followed this recipe exactly and my crust was very hard and gum cutting. I used "Honey Brown" beer.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zbearz February 11, 2013

5 stars for quick and easy! just slightly sweet and cooks SO quickly! it didn't take the whole 45 minutes, so check on it early! i also put some dough in muffin tins to make "rolls" and those were done in about 15 minutes! Not my very favorite-tasting bread, but this could easily be my favorite recipe just because it's so easy and still tastes wonderful! you just made fresh, homemade bread do-able! Thanks so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TooManyRoommates March 01, 2010

Simple good and very delicious. I like that this recipe did use self rising flour. I made two loaves, one with an amber beer (Sam Adams) and one with a lager (Coors Light). Two completely different flavors but both good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Londonsbk November 22, 2009

So good. I'm thinking now that I don't ever want to make any other bread! I also made it with cheese mixed in, and though that was also good, I don't think it was any better than without the cheese.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
allimarie February 03, 2009

This was my first beer bread without buying the expensive "box" which costs about $6.00 I honestly could not tell the difference except for the money in my wallet. I made up several batches, put them in ziplocks and have a can of room temp beer next to the bag. I just used "light" beer. You could make this into a christmas gift quite easily.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cavedweller December 16, 2008
Alaskan Beer Quick Bread