14 Reviews

I cooked our wings at 350 for 1 hour and they came out perfectly glazed and brown and delicious. I turned down the heat on ours and only used 1 tsp. chili powder and less hot pepper sauce, about 1/2 as much. Al Roker, you rock.. These wings are GREAT! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MomTo2BigKids September 28, 2008

Maybe it was just us, but we didn't find these spicy at all. I was trying 3 different wing recipes and these were our least favorite. They are "ok", but for us they just had too little flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Luby Luby Luby February 03, 2010

I used Frank's Hot Sauce and it worked fine. We loved the wings and had them when friends were over so they could help me rate them! We all give them thumbs up, so you know they will be made here again! We all loved the hot/sweet combination of flavors! We had them with rice and peas with mushrooms. It was a very nice dinner if I do say so myself! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChewieJacuBeau January 24, 2009

I have already made these twice. I didn't add the total amount listed for the chili powder or hot sauce so it wouldn't be too spicy for the kids and they were still yummy. I love the sweetness of the honey with the tang of the hot sauce. I also agree with others that they didn't need to bake for the whole time listed, 45 min to an hour depending on your over is fine. Already planning on making these again. Thanks for posting Marie!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tinkmommy January 03, 2008

These were very tasty -- but I was expecting them to be a little spicier. I will definitely make them again -- but I'll add more hot sauce and as one other reviewer suggested, some cayenne pepper. I also found that they didn't need the 1 1/4 hours baking time. It turned out to be under an hour. The next time I make them, I will also watch them a little closer in the oven -- they got a little dark by the first time I was ready to turn them. Consequently, I'll also lower the temperature to 365 instead of 375. After that first batch, I used the non-stick aluminum foil and that worked great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bobbie February 11, 2007

This recipe got 5*'s out of my "testers". I made this as you directed and the results were very, very good. I used Gebhart's chili powder and Cajun Chef hot sauce. Nice meld of flavors and not so hot that the kids couldn't eat them. I suggest that if you want these hotter, make a hot dip to dip them in. Thanks for sharing your recipe, Marie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Annie April 17, 2006

Tasty - but not nearly as hot or spicy as most "buffalo" wing recipies.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Barry February 06, 2006

I thought these were just so-so. They were more like bbq chicken than hot wings, barely any heat at all. We did eat them, liked the flavor, but not the wing taste we were looking for.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Feisty February 05, 2006

I am giving this 5 stars because my boyfriend said these were the best wings he has ever had. Very easy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Valerie in Florida September 27, 2005

Really tasty wings! I was leary of the honey making them too sweet, but that's not the case. I followed the recipe exactly, and they came out perfect. The flavors melded together very well. Great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bratty July 10, 2005
Al Roker's Spicy Chicken Wings