11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

supppppppppppppppperrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
abymallakattu June 07, 2011

This was a total hit in mmy house even my daughter ate it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kels0407 June 03, 2010

Shukran, ya Um Safia! This recipe was a great success and reminded us of 18 happy years spent in Saudi Arabia!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
markfulwell December 06, 2009

What a great, easy meal. I used chicken thigh fillets, so didn't cook the chicken for 30 mins before adding everything else. Worked perfectly & the result was nice and tender. I didn't add raisins due to personal preference, but otherwise followed the recipe. Thanks Um Safia for a lovely meal that we'll definitely have again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heydarl February 27, 2009

The dish is excellent, but the directions leave much to be desired (for example: it doesn't specify when to add the garlic, onions or raisins, and doesn't say whether the 15 oz. of tomatoes are canned, canned and drained, or freshly chopped; I ended up using canned tomatoes and draining them). The flavors were wonderful, even though I had to do without the saffron or cardamom, but like other reviewers I found that there was just too much liquid -- when everything was done cooking, I removed the chicken and drained off about 1 and a half cups of extra liquid from the rice -- so next time I will use less water and/or more rice. Loved the finished product, though! Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lynne the Pirate Queen February 08, 2009

Yum! I made this today for iftar. Dh loved it. The smell almost killed me! Definitely a keeper! Thanks Um Safia :-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
umisa September 25, 2008

The flavor of this was terrific, but 4 cups of water is too much, the rice was a pile of mush. I salvaged the chicken and did the rice again using all the spices, 2 cups rice, and 3 and 1/4 cups chicken stock. It was perfect that way. I really love the smell of this when it is cooking. Thanks Um Safia!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmIbrahim September 22, 2008

I really liked this.. It was a nice change of pace in the flavor department , but the essential elements are good comfort food. I needed to add a little more liquid before the rice was done, but that might been because I drained the liquid off the tomatoes. I left the raisins out because I knew my husband would turn his nose up , but i bet i would have really liked that. I wasn't entirely sure I was added the spice mixture at correct point, but I just put it in at the same time as the other spices.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tara portee June 22, 2013

This was an absolute delight and as a plus it's very simple to make. Utterly delicious with it's wonderful mix of flavors and seasoning. I made a half recipe and we have a good left for another night soon. :D

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia June 06, 2013

5 stars. A really tasty recipe masha Allah which FIL, MIL, DH, etc enjoyed served with daqoos (Kuwaiti tomato sauce, recipe to be posted) & Salata Tahini--Middle Eastern Tahini Salad plus Fastest Ayran Ever and other juice. I use canned plum tomatoes which I chop up and also for the tomato puree I whizzed them in a blender and cooked with some garlic and extra virgin olive oil. I love the addition of the grated carrots in this. I do not use nutmeg because of it's intoxicant properties. I just added bruised whole cardamom pods for the ground, regular black pepper instead of the white, instead of ground allspice I use my own Baharat Aka Middle East Mixed Spices - the Real Mix, a replacement I commonly make. I did not used ground loomi as I didn't have any but instead of using a chicken stock cube I use my own homemade chicken stock which does contain loomi simmered in whole to replace the water and be gluten and corn free. I cook the rice with enough of the liquid needed depending on rice quantity. I intend to make this again and broil the chicken in the oven like my SIL does (skin still on), flipping part way through & adding a little sea salt after.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat November 04, 2011
Al Kabsa - Traditional Saudi Rice (& Chicken) Dish