Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Al Kabsa - Traditional Saudi Rice (& Chicken) Dish Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Al Kabsa - Traditional Saudi Rice (& Chicken) Dish

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on June 07, 2011

      supppppppppppppppperrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2010

      This was a total hit in mmy house even my daughter ate it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2009

      Shukran, ya Um Safia! This recipe was a great success and reminded us of 18 happy years spent in Saudi Arabia!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2009

      What a great, easy meal. I used chicken thigh fillets, so didn't cook the chicken for 30 mins before adding everything else. Worked perfectly & the result was nice and tender. I didn't add raisins due to personal preference, but otherwise followed the recipe. Thanks Um Safia for a lovely meal that we'll definitely have again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2009

      The dish is excellent, but the directions leave much to be desired (for example: it doesn't specify when to add the garlic, onions or raisins, and doesn't say whether the 15 oz. of tomatoes are canned, canned and drained, or freshly chopped; I ended up using canned tomatoes and draining them). The flavors were wonderful, even though I had to do without the saffron or cardamom, but like other reviewers I found that there was just too much liquid -- when everything was done cooking, I removed the chicken and drained off about 1 and a half cups of extra liquid from the rice -- so next time I will use less water and/or more rice. Loved the finished product, though! Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2008

      Yum! I made this today for iftar. Dh loved it. The smell almost killed me! Definitely a keeper! Thanks Um Safia :-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2008

      The flavor of this was terrific, but 4 cups of water is too much, the rice was a pile of mush. I salvaged the chicken and did the rice again using all the spices, 2 cups rice, and 3 and 1/4 cups chicken stock. It was perfect that way. I really love the smell of this when it is cooking. Thanks Um Safia!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2013

      I really liked this.. It was a nice change of pace in the flavor department , but the essential elements are good comfort food. I needed to add a little more liquid before the rice was done, but that might been because I drained the liquid off the tomatoes. I left the raisins out because I knew my husband would turn his nose up , but i bet i would have really liked that. I wasn't entirely sure I was added the spice mixture at correct point, but I just put it in at the same time as the other spices.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2013

      This was an absolute delight and as a plus it's very simple to make. Utterly delicious with it's wonderful mix of flavors and seasoning. I made a half recipe and we have a good left for another night soon. :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2011

      5 stars. A really tasty recipe masha Allah which FIL, MIL, DH, etc enjoyed served with daqoos (Kuwaiti tomato sauce, recipe to be posted) & Salata Tahini--Middle Eastern Tahini Salad plus Fastest Ayran Ever and other juice. I use canned plum tomatoes which I chop up and also for the tomato puree I whizzed them in a blender and cooked with some garlic and extra virgin olive oil. I love the addition of the grated carrots in this. I do not use nutmeg because of it's intoxicant properties. I just added bruised whole cardamom pods for the ground, regular black pepper instead of the white, instead of ground allspice I use my own Baharat Aka Middle East Mixed Spices - the Real Mix, a replacement I commonly make. I did not used ground loomi as I didn't have any but instead of using a chicken stock cube I use my own homemade chicken stock which does contain loomi simmered in whole to replace the water and be gluten and corn free. I cook the rice with enough of the liquid needed depending on rice quantity. I intend to make this again and broil the chicken in the oven like my SIL does (skin still on), flipping part way through & adding a little sea salt after.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2008

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Al Kabsa - Traditional Saudi Rice (& Chicken) Dish

    Serving Size: 1 (366 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 678.4
     
    Calories from Fat 314
    46%
    Total Fat 34.9 g
    53%
    Saturated Fat 11.4 g
    57%
    Cholesterol 142.9 mg
    47%
    Sodium 344.5 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 52.6 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 4.4 g
    17%
    Sugars 6.8 g
    27%
    Protein 37.9 g
    75%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    dried limes

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites