Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Air Freshener Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Air Freshener

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on July 31, 2012

      Warning - do not let boil! The smell changes, and not for the better. It was simmering away, smelling nice and fresh, and then I turned the heat up on the wrong burner. It started boiling while I was in back, I came back in and the smell was not good at all, so - stick to a simmer!! Thanks lauralie! Made for ZWT8 trip to France.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2012

      Well I just have to say that the instructions are lacking - I just did not know how thick to cut the slices, the exact amount of water or the size pan and then I wanted to double the recipe by using 3 orange slices and 3 lemon slices but I did not know how to do that! (ha ha ha - that was all a joke!). Seriously this is a GREAT room freshener and works quickly too - once that water gets to simmering the scent just floats in the air. Very nice scent for a summer day and after I'm done "cooking" this I could even add a teabag or two and make a lemon-orange tea! ;) Found and made during ZWT8 tour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2012

      Smelled great. No chemicals. Got rid of an unpleasant odor (leftover fish). I stuck a few cloves in the lemon slices.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2008

      I used some squeezed lemons & limes leftover from making cordial. The house smelt lovely & fresh while it was happily simmering away. The smell doesn't really permeate afterwards though which is a shame, would have loved for it to stick around a bit longer!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2006

      I sold my first house using this recipe. Someone told me to put this on the stove to simmer before the showing and I got an offer on our house the next day. LOL

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2013

      if you use lemons when you are done simmering, you can put the water in a spray bottle and use it on your dog to help keep the fleas off them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2012

      Such an easy way to freshen the kitchen and I love that there is no chemicals involved. I have been trying to reduce the chemicals and cleaning products used in my home.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2011

      smelled great!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2010

      I used lemon and oranges and the aroma was lovely!!!!! This will be a regular occurence in this house now. I will be stocking up on those "reduced for quick sale" citrus fruits from now on.....
      Thanks for posting this :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2010

      I love the aroma of citrus this gives my home. It's so much better than those artificial commercial air fresheners. I used oranges this time around. Made for Kittencalskitchen Recipe Tag Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2010

      Worked like a charm! I used a lemon which helped to give a light lemon scent to my home. It also helped humidify the air. I really needed this because I have 3 cats, a dog and a baby in the house. Made for kittencalskitchen.com tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2010

      My ancient house hangs on to odors, and this really helps to clear the air. I added a dash of cinnamon. This produces a light, fresh scent, not overpowering like commercial air fresheners. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2010

      Oh, this is really nice! It produced a light citrus scent that wafted throughout the house--definitely set the mood for Spring & covered up cooking & pet odors. I also needed to use up some not-so-tasty oranges anyway! Great way to freshen up the house & open up your sinuses, LOL! Thanks for posting Lauralie! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2009

      I only used a few lemons in this recipe, but used orange and mandarin as well. The wonderful scent permeated throughout the kitchen and was so wonderful and aromatic! I used older fruit that I knew the family would not eat, so lost nothing really in making this terrific recipe. The water left in the pot was a beautiful combination of orange oil with water, pity I coudln't think of what to use the leftover water for, but I am sure there would be something! ;-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2009

      I have got this bubbling away right now - used a combination of lemon and mandarin slices and threw in a cinnamon stick as another reviewer suggested - just gorgeous !!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2008

      Today is monday so that is cleaning day. I wanted to try this great little find and WOW you should smell our house. I used two oranges, two lemons and next time want to try it with a couple limes too. I simmered this slowly while I was happily *ok not really* cleaning but the smell sure made me happy. This is a great recipe lauralie that will be done again and again. Highly recommended for those who love your house to smell oh so fresh. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2007

      I love a citrus smell. This was very easy and simple to do. Made for Holiday Tag 2007.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2007

      I sliced up some lemons and oranges and simmered in a pot on the stove top. I was doing alot of cooking today and this wasn't a very strong smell, so I hope you don't mind that I added two sticks of cinnamon as well and it turned out to be a lovely scent throughout the kitchen and den. Thanks, Lauralie41!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2006

      I love the smell of lemons, so I really enjoyed this! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2006

      Oh yes, this is wonderful! Makes the room smell nice and fresh. Thanks for sharing a good one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Air Freshener

    Serving Size: 1 (21 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 6.0
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    86%
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 0.4 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.9 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 0.2 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites