Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Aiken Pool Hall Hot Dogs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Aiken Pool Hall Hot Dogs

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on December 13, 2006

      I love these I live in Aiken and just ate there today. The recipe taste the same as the real thing. Yumm!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2013

      My grandmother used to make hot dog chili very similar to this when we visited her. I never got her recipe but now I wish that I had. This tastes very similar though and is very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2011

      I am not familiar with Aiken Pool Hall hot dogs, but I wanted to try this recipe anyway. I am very familiar with A & W chili dogs, being from Ohio, so I was hoping for something similar, but with a southern twang. I was not disappointed with this sauce. We used Ballpark all beef jumbo dogs and served it on a Ciabatta roll instead of a hot dog bun. I felt it held more sauce since Ciabatta is porous. It was yummy! I would do these again. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2010

      As the owner of City Billiards I have read the recipe posted on this site.
      Unfortunately those who reportedly know the recipe have the ingredients all wrong.
      Sorry to bust everyone's bubble here.
      I know the X-employee who has been posting the recipe on every site imaginable thinking I'll let the world know it all. The ingredients listed and the method of cooking cannot be further from reality than I have imagined.
      So let us all take a breather and understand the truth. You can only enjoy the recipe by eating at City Billiards or purchasing the Chili from our restaurant.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2010

      YUM! This stuff is addicting.... I followed the directions almost completely as I have people in my family who can't tolerate onions so I used 1 teaspoon onion powder instead. I had chopped onions on the side for those who wanted it and otherwise topped the dogs with cheese. It was a bit spicy for all but one of the kids but Alanna, my 3-year old granddaugher (one of the twins) ate this on a bun without a hot dog and she loved it! As others have said it served way more than 4 for us (more like 8 servings) and I was generous with the servings. I am positive I will never use another recipe to top our dogs!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2009

      It was good. But I agree with MaddieLC. It tasted much like a sloppy Joe. I also didn't like how heavy it was, to much beef and not enough sauce. I found this mixture to much just for 4 hotdogs we used it on 8 and still had leftovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2008

      This was good and easy enough, but I didn't think it tasted much like chili... it reminded me more of sloppy joes, which I am not a fan of.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2008

      found this recipe about a year ago. Now I can't go anywhere food is being served without someone asking me to bring the chili. It has gone to school parties, fundraisers, volunteer group events etc. One note is the amount of onions, I always use less onion...about 3/4 C to a pound of ground beef. Have served it as sloppy joes as well. Freezes well. Have made it in large batches and then frozen for later use. yum

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2008

      as an aussie we dont really go into a chillie dog... but i can tell you the boys loved this chilli. YUMO

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2008

      Absolutely love this recipe! Perfect balance between sweet and tangy! I have found my favorite Chili recipe for hot dogs now. Another reviewer said that this would make good sloppy joes also and I have to agree. I cant stay out of this stuff. I never have eaten so many hot dogs in such a short span since I made this. (That may be bad in itself but mmmm this is great stuff!) I did not alter this recipe at all! Perfect as is.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2008

      These chili dogs were yummy! I doubled the recipe, but used less water, less sugar, and more onions. We two topped these tasty chili dogs with sharp cheddar and chopped onions. We enjoyed them for two meals, and I froze 3 (8-oz.) cups of chili for later, at which time it was just as good - if not better. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2008

      I left out the mustard, did 3 T sugar and used cumin in place of chili powder because I was out of chili powder. These were still awesome! On a side note... This sauce would be awesome as some sloppy joes. =) Thanks for sharing, we'll be using this often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2007

      We LOVE chili dogs and these were great!!!! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2006

      This was great tasting, but just a little on the sweet side for me. Thanks EdsGirlAngie....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2006

      This was a WONDERFUL chili dog recipe! I have never heard of that pool hall but I have to say I like their food! We loved it and look forward to having them again. Thanks for sharing it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2006

      I'm not a huge fan of sweet-with-meat, but if you are, this is a nice twist to plain old hotdogs. It was good, but for myself, I'll probably return to regular chili dogs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2006

      I made this for the Summer 2006 Pick A Chef Contest. This is a REALLY GOOD RECIPE!!! It is like a REALLY thick manwich and it is SO good on the hotdog. I want to let you know to keep stirring it so that it does not stick to your pan. I blabbered cheese on the top of it and it was wonderful!! The taste and the texture is so very good. This is a definate keeper and will be made again and again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2004

      This was awesome!! It smelled so good while it was cooking & really hit the spot after a day of painting! My daughter thought it would be good as sloppy joes, so we may give that a try at some point, to! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Aiken Pool Hall Hot Dogs

    Serving Size: 1 (388 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1111.4
     
    Calories from Fat 563
    50%
    Total Fat 62.5 g
    96%
    Saturated Fat 14.3 g
    71%
    Cholesterol 100.9 mg
    33%
    Sodium 9965.5 mg
    415%
    Total Carbohydrate 87.4 g
    29%
    Dietary Fiber 27.2 g
    108%
    Sugars 30.0 g
    120%
    Protein 64.7 g
    129%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites