18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I love these I live in Aiken and just ate there today. The recipe taste the same as the real thing. Yumm!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fireprincess803 December 13, 2006

My grandmother used to make hot dog chili very similar to this when we visited her. I never got her recipe but now I wish that I had. This tastes very similar though and is very good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mom2twinz1230 June 15, 2013

I am not familiar with Aiken Pool Hall hot dogs, but I wanted to try this recipe anyway. I am very familiar with A & W chili dogs, being from Ohio, so I was hoping for something similar, but with a southern twang. I was not disappointed with this sauce. We used Ballpark all beef jumbo dogs and served it on a Ciabatta roll instead of a hot dog bun. I felt it held more sauce since Ciabatta is porous. It was yummy! I would do these again. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CabinKat March 05, 2011

As the owner of City Billiards I have read the recipe posted on this site.
Unfortunately those who reportedly know the recipe have the ingredients all wrong.
Sorry to bust everyone's bubble here.
I know the X-employee who has been posting the recipe on every site imaginable thinking I'll let the world know it all. The ingredients listed and the method of cooking cannot be further from reality than I have imagined.
So let us all take a breather and understand the truth. You can only enjoy the recipe by eating at City Billiards or purchasing the Chili from our restaurant.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
billiardboss July 31, 2010

YUM! This stuff is addicting.... I followed the directions almost completely as I have people in my family who can't tolerate onions so I used 1 teaspoon onion powder instead. I had chopped onions on the side for those who wanted it and otherwise topped the dogs with cheese. It was a bit spicy for all but one of the kids but Alanna, my 3-year old granddaugher (one of the twins) ate this on a bun without a hot dog and she loved it! As others have said it served way more than 4 for us (more like 8 servings) and I was generous with the servings. I am positive I will never use another recipe to top our dogs!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sooz Cooks January 15, 2010

It was good. But I agree with MaddieLC. It tasted much like a sloppy Joe. I also didn't like how heavy it was, to much beef and not enough sauce. I found this mixture to much just for 4 hotdogs we used it on 8 and still had leftovers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Proudmoms July 05, 2009

This was good and easy enough, but I didn't think it tasted much like chili... it reminded me more of sloppy joes, which I am not a fan of.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MaddieLC December 27, 2008

found this recipe about a year ago. Now I can't go anywhere food is being served without someone asking me to bring the chili. It has gone to school parties, fundraisers, volunteer group events etc. One note is the amount of onions, I always use less onion...about 3/4 C to a pound of ground beef. Have served it as sloppy joes as well. Freezes well. Have made it in large batches and then frozen for later use. yum

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
talllikegiraffe December 05, 2008

as an aussie we dont really go into a chillie dog... but i can tell you the boys loved this chilli. YUMO

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dropbear September 19, 2008

Absolutely love this recipe! Perfect balance between sweet and tangy! I have found my favorite Chili recipe for hot dogs now. Another reviewer said that this would make good sloppy joes also and I have to agree. I cant stay out of this stuff. I never have eaten so many hot dogs in such a short span since I made this. (That may be bad in itself but mmmm this is great stuff!) I did not alter this recipe at all! Perfect as is.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
B-J-Burrell September 17, 2008
Aiken Pool Hall Hot Dogs