Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ahoy There! Moules Marinières - French Sailor's Mussels Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ahoy There! Moules Marinières - French Sailor's Mussels

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on June 22, 2010

      Have made Moules Marinières many times before, but not your recipe. Thanks, FT, for your perfectly easy recipe -- I was looking for the basic recipe and could not recall it. Unfortunately as I write this it is midwinter in South Africa: I used defrosted New Zealand green-lipped mussels on the half-shell (great, actually), but fresh herbs are thin on the ground right now! I did have my own Italian parsley, and used more than specified, ditto fresh thyme (so hardy). I also added a lot of chopped spring/green onion. No other fresh herbs available, but those were fine. I stayed with your recipe, but admit I added a soupçon more wine -- maybe 250 ml, maybe 200 ml. I cannot understand one reviewer saying she'll add less wine next time!! In the end, with maybe evaporation, the wine I used was just enough and there was a lovely thin creamy sauce in the end. Such an easy, classic recipe. I'd say to others: don't change a thing, follow instructions, do use butter, and rather use a splash more (good) wine than less!! Thanks, Tarty!!! PS: I see my efforts at correct spelling produce strange effects!! I meant Marinieres with the accent, and soupcon with the cedille ... but it comes out funny!!! LOL!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2011

      We made these for our New Years Eve supper. First time cooking mussels. We both enjoyed them for something new, the recipe was easy to follow, the only thing I would do differently is up the garlic and maybe my cloves were smaller and I think I would step it up from plain old parsley and add the recommended taragon or something for a bit more flavor, we played it simple the first time around. Definately will make again now I know how easy they are to make. Thanks for a great simple recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2010

      I have one friend that is vegetarian, but will eat some seafood. So it is a challenge to find something that is agreeable to everyone. Well this dish certainly fit the bill....it was excellent! I doubled the recipe, using 5 lb of mussels...added a bit more garlic....used Italian parsley and oregano and creme fraiche. I served this with PCrocker's Crusty French Bread to soak up all the lovely juices. This dish was better than any mussel dish I have had in restaurants. The creme fraiche was definately worth the time and effort to make....I thought it made the meal! If you love mussels, I highly recommend this dish. Kudos, French Tart.... kudos!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2010

      LOVED, LOVED, LOVED!!!!! Made these for Valentines day and just devoured them!!! I let my DH have some too! LOL!!! Will definately make these again!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2014

      This was my first time making mussels. Your pictures and instructions were awesome, thank you! These turned out perfect. They were so delicious and tender. I think the tarragon and butter pair well and gave it a wonderful flavor. I will be making these again for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2014

      I have to say if there's a choice I usually gravitate towards French Tart's recipes.. they are always excellent, this one included.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2014

      This recipe is fantastic. Made just as is only changed servings to 5 and steamed for 9 minutes. Delicious with some crusty bread and a light salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2009

      very good mussels!!scaled down the recipe for one and made this for my BF last weekend and he loved it served with fries and crusty bread.Will do it again thanks for the recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2009

      This was really nice, almost as good as eating out. My only issue was i wouldn't add so much wine next time. Maybe 2/3 of what was reccommened. Of course this may just be our taste. Will be trying this again during the mussel season. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2009

      OHHHHH MYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY!!!!!!!! This is fabulous! I too love these little morsels. You so inspired me to create a recipe as well. I didn`t have enough after eating your recipe. So I came up with one. Hope you give it a try. I made for ZWT5. John and I loved these. To bad you didn`t make them with me. ;) Merci Beaucoup! (((HUGS)))

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2009

      Frenchie - you are a goddess. I think this has just become my favourite rendition of the classic. The creme fraiche made all the difference (thank the Lord for Carrefours!). Dare I say I will be having these again tomorrow? ;-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2009

      I have to add my praise to all the other reviews- this was an outstanding dinner! I wanted a straw to slurp the last bit of creamy goodness out of the bowl, it was just that good. I used butter, as called for, and for the hers, a combination of tarragon, oregano, and basil. No added salt was needed, this was perfect as-is. I served with french bread for dipping, and wished I'd had a whole lot more! Thanks for posting a wonderful recipe. Made for ZWT5 by one of the Cooks with Dirty Faces.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2009

      This was absolutely amazing. I really don't know what else to say! I can't think of anything I would have done differently. I did substitute some of the butter for olive oil but definitely could not tell the difference. Since I didn't have any cream or creme frais, I used some Carnation Evaporated milk and still got a nice, creamy sauce. This is a perfect mussel recipe and one which will be on my favourite list from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2009

      I made these for Christmas Eve instead of my Italian version. They were delicious. My husband loved them as well as all of the children in the family. The sauce was perfect for bread-dipping! This recipe was a very pleasant change for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2009

      I don't like mussels but this was made for my DH and he LOVED them. Ok I did eat one and the flavour was divine and I did dip my bread in the sauce ALOT LOL Made for Everyday is a Holiday tag March 2009

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2008

      Magnificent. BUT, I see this recipe is only for one, me. Just kidding. Such happiness from a lowly crustacean. When it comes to shellfish I am a pig. Don't get them to much where we live so have to make up for it when we can. Daughter came to visit with 5 pounds of Mussels. All gone. used this recipe and loved it. Thanks so much for a perfect marriage of items. Cap'n Jack

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2008

      I made these a while back and forgot to review them. I had some friends and family over and made these as an appetizer. The people eating them were from Newfoundland and they would usually just boil them in salt water. Now I think that this will be their new way to prepare mussels. Thanks so much Tart. Deb

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2008

      This was exactly what I had been craving ever since I saw a Food Network show featuring Moules Frites (I made the frites as well). It was simple and easy to prepare, but the flavor was anything but ordinary. An excellent meal! Thanks for posting, FT. Made for Newest Zaar Tag Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2008

      Excellent!! Yet again French Tart another winner. We love mussels and this was another great way to prepare them. I did change amounts as I made this with 2 kg of mussels, but gorgeous none the less. I have had this one saved for a while and am glad I tried it. I made as is for a mussel recipe for two, with the remaining mussels, I removed meat and made a sauce from what you had listed and added extra ingredients to make a pasta dish as well. This by itself is wonderful and has so many possibilities for adaptions. I loved the flaovurs and simplicity of this dish and it is soooo good with fresh crusty bread to soak up the juices. My hubby must have eaten an entire french baguette with this as he loved the sauce. Thanks for posting FT

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ahoy There! Moules Marinières - French Sailor's Mussels

    Serving Size: 1 (701 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 819.4
     
    Calories from Fat 394
    48%
    Total Fat 43.7 g
    67%
    Saturated Fat 22.5 g
    112%
    Cholesterol 237.5 mg
    79%
    Sodium 1642.5 mg
    68%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.2 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 3.1 g
    12%
    Protein 62.5 g
    125%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites