Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / African Yam Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    African Yam Stew

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on December 31, 2012

      I loved the texture of this dish...almost like a risotto. It was yummy and easy, and great for a quick weeknight dinner. I didn't use the full amount of peanut butter but it was plenty peanut-y for my tastes. Added some sriracha, as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2012

    • on February 01, 2011

      I loved this. I cut the recipe in half since it was only my husband and I but then wished I hadn't! Made it with spinach and quinoa since that's what I had and extra PB because we love it. I also left out the lemon because I liked it how it was.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2008

      Very tasty. I made it with red quinoa. I also used a full bunch of kale. That and the quinoa took up so much room that I added an extra 2 cups of veggie broth, an extra spoonful of peanut butter, and an extra tablespoon of soy sauce. I really enjoyed this dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2008

      This was a great one pot meal! Delicious and very filling.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2008

      Yum, Yum, Yum! I changed things up a bit, using a spicy peanut butter, sauteing the onion in chili oil and I used more yam and beans than the recipe called for. I also substituted quinoa for the rice, reducing the cooking time from 45 minutes to only 20. Fabulous recipe - I'll definitely make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2007

      My husband and I liked this with yogurt. He said he would definitely eat it again, not me though. I liked it, just not that much. It was very easy to prepare and I'm sure the leftovers will be good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2007

      This was quite good. However, if I was to make it again I would cut the peanut butter down considerably (2 tbsp maximum). It masked some of the more delicate flavours of the stew and absorbed too much of the liquid. Don't leave out the kale as this gives it a lovely flavour and texture. And Sandy in California was right - much better without the lemon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2007

      Delish! We enjoyed this dish very much and was very different for us. I used rainbow chard for the greens, but otherwise kept to the recipe. Thanks for posting this unique and tasty meal. It's great on a cold and rainy night!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2007

      this was very good the taste is quite different before and after lemon. I liked both ways. I was unsure of the chili but it was very good. I used a thai chili as it is what I have and added some louisiana hot sauce. I have added this as a regular for eating during lent

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for African Yam Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (320 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 454.2
     
    Calories from Fat 95
    21%
    Total Fat 10.6 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 2.1 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 423.8 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 79.0 g
    26%
    Dietary Fiber 11.1 g
    44%
    Sugars 3.9 g
    15%
    Protein 14.0 g
    28%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable broth

    Braggs liquid aminos

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites