Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / African Sweet Potato and Peanut Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    African Sweet Potato and Peanut Soup

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on October 09, 2011

      The peanut butter makes this different than your "typical" cabbage soup. The sweet potatoes took about double the time to get cooked through but this was still quick to make and healthy too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2009

      I used components of this recipe and the other Sweet Potato Soup at this site and incorporated some of the reviewer's comments, too. Added some cumin, garam masala, peas, pea pods, garbanzo beanschopped red bell pepper, lime juice, and baby spinach in place of cabbage and eggplant. I used an immersion blender just to thicken but not make it a smooth soup (Did this before I added green vegetables)It is delicious. I used vegetable broth so I could feed it to a vegetarian friend. I also used more peanut butter than this recipe called for.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

    • on July 04, 2008

      Very tasty, low in fat and loaded with chunks of healthy veggies! I did add the optional eggplant and thought it was a great addition. It's got just the right amount of spice. The peanut flavor isn't overpowering; it's perfectly subtle. The fresh chopped cilantro/parsley garnish is a must! I also used the peanuts to garnish. I would have also used the coconut garnish, but had none. Still awesome! I'll make this again. Thanx! I uploaded a video for the ZWT Zingo Video challenge: http://www.recipezaar.com/sitenews/post.php?pid=944&pn=1&pageref=Photo_Video-925899&vw_arrange_order=DESC&vw_sort_order=MOST_RECENT

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2008

      Fabulous!! The flavors in this dish are exciting and go together perfectly! Like Maito noted, it's also very versatile; I used sherry cooking wine in place of the apple juice, added half an eggplant, a medium sized sweet potato, a full onion, 2T of natural peanut butter and did not use the cabbage (all out). I don't keep ground coriander on hand, so I used 1t curry powder in its place, plus 1/4-1/2t of cayenne - boy howdy this was hot hot hot! I topped mine with fresh cilantro and unsweetened shredded coconut and DH used cilantro and roasted peanuts. DH enjoyed it so much that he ate it for supper and a late night snack last night! I most certainly plan to make this again, its wonderful! Made for Please Review game and ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2007

      I'm with Kumquat! Delicious! I skipped the eggplant, used white wine for the apple juice, but otherwise followed instructions. The result was a rich, thick but not at all heavy soup. Quite luscious. I'll make this more...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2007

      I am happy to have the opportunity to redeem this totally delicious and healthful soup! Honestly I can't find anything not to like about it. I did add one small eggplant (though I can understand why others might not like it) and substituted wine for the apple juice. I used vegetable broth of course, and only had about 1/4 teaspoon of ground coriander to add (maybe there was too much coriander for the other two reviewers). I used a chunky peanut butter which provided additional crunch. I did not add any coconut because I don't particularly care for it. My BF also shared my enthusiasm for this soup, and it passed my "breakfast" test (finished it this morning). More than suitable to make again! Hey, thanks Maito!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2007

      I made this a while ago but forgot to rate it. It just was not the taste my husband and I were looking for. I'm sure that there are others that would like it. Perhaps if I added somemore heat I would enjoy it more. I just remembered this because you rated one of mine, and realized I had never not reviewed yours. In no way am I saying it was not a good recipe;just not for us. I wonder if pumpkin could be substitued for the sweet potato, and double the cayenne Leanne

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2007

      Not exactly sure why but we didnt care for the combinations of spices in it. I did not add any eggplant. I tried it both with the coconut and without and liked the coconut added.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for African Sweet Potato and Peanut Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (513 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 250.4
     
    Calories from Fat 95
    38%
    Total Fat 10.6 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 2.1 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 769.6 mg
    32%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.7 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 6.8 g
    27%
    Sugars 16.2 g
    65%
    Protein 10.0 g
    20%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites