9 Reviews

Very tasty, low in fat and loaded with chunks of healthy veggies! I did add the optional eggplant and thought it was a great addition. It's got just the right amount of spice. The peanut flavor isn't overpowering; it's perfectly subtle. The fresh chopped cilantro/parsley garnish is a must! I also used the peanuts to garnish. I would have also used the coconut garnish, but had none. Still awesome! I'll make this again. Thanx! I uploaded a video for the ZWT Zingo Video challenge: http://www.recipezaar.com/sitenews/post.php?pid=944&pn=1&pageref=Photo_Video-925899&vw_arrange_order=DESC&vw_sort_order=MOST_RECENT

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* July 04, 2008

Fabulous!! The flavors in this dish are exciting and go together perfectly! Like Maito noted, it's also very versatile; I used sherry cooking wine in place of the apple juice, added half an eggplant, a medium sized sweet potato, a full onion, 2T of natural peanut butter and did not use the cabbage (all out). I don't keep ground coriander on hand, so I used 1t curry powder in its place, plus 1/4-1/2t of cayenne - boy howdy this was hot hot hot! I topped mine with fresh cilantro and unsweetened shredded coconut and DH used cilantro and roasted peanuts. DH enjoyed it so much that he ate it for supper and a late night snack last night! I most certainly plan to make this again, its wonderful! Made for Please Review game and ZWT4.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brooke the Cook in WI July 01, 2008

I'm with Kumquat! Delicious! I skipped the eggplant, used white wine for the apple juice, but otherwise followed instructions. The result was a rich, thick but not at all heavy soup. Quite luscious. I'll make this more...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Kate December 05, 2007

I am happy to have the opportunity to redeem this totally delicious and healthful soup! Honestly I can't find anything not to like about it. I did add one small eggplant (though I can understand why others might not like it) and substituted wine for the apple juice. I used vegetable broth of course, and only had about 1/4 teaspoon of ground coriander to add (maybe there was too much coriander for the other two reviewers). I used a chunky peanut butter which provided additional crunch. I did not add any coconut because I don't particularly care for it. My BF also shared my enthusiasm for this soup, and it passed my "breakfast" test (finished it this morning). More than suitable to make again! Hey, thanks Maito!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kumquat the Cat's friend October 12, 2007

The peanut butter makes this different than your "typical" cabbage soup. The sweet potatoes took about double the time to get cooked through but this was still quick to make and healthy too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FLKeysJen October 09, 2011

I used components of this recipe and the other Sweet Potato Soup at this site and incorporated some of the reviewer's comments, too. Added some cumin, garam masala, peas, pea pods, garbanzo beanschopped red bell pepper, lime juice, and baby spinach in place of cabbage and eggplant. I used an immersion blender just to thicken but not make it a smooth soup (Did this before I added green vegetables)It is delicious. I used vegetable broth so I could feed it to a vegetarian friend. I also used more peanut butter than this recipe called for.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AnniSeattle March 16, 2009

I made this a while ago but forgot to rate it. It just was not the taste my husband and I were looking for. I'm sure that there are others that would like it. Perhaps if I added somemore heat I would enjoy it more. I just remembered this because you rated one of mine, and realized I had never not reviewed yours. In no way am I saying it was not a good recipe;just not for us. I wonder if pumpkin could be substitued for the sweet potato, and double the cayenne Leanne

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef at Heart October 03, 2007

Not exactly sure why but we didnt care for the combinations of spices in it. I did not add any eggplant. I tried it both with the coconut and without and liked the coconut added.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nyteglori September 23, 2007
African Sweet Potato and Peanut Soup