Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / African Style Broccoli Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    African Style Broccoli

    Average Rating:

    35 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 35

    Sort by:

    • on July 11, 2009

      This is the second time I've made this and I love it! The first time I used sour cream and pine nuts and the second time I use plain yogurt and crushed peanuts. The yogurt worked fine but I liked it better with pine nuts. Also, it's important to let the veggies cool a bit before adding the sour cream - I didn't do that and the heat made the sour cream too runny. Great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2013

      Sorry - We really didn't care for this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2013

      This made a pretty tasty side dish. I used a bag of frozen veggies (cauliflower, broccoli, and carrots) and Greek yogurt instead of sour cream, and it turned out great. I left out the pine nuts though, but wish I had included them now. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2012

    • on January 24, 2011

      I left off the pine nuts, since I didn't have any. This was a good accompaniment to "Spicy African Peanut Soup" and "North African Peanut Butter Candy".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2009

      Great recipe. I liked it as is. The next time I made a few alterations and I liked it even better. I omitted the coriander and used fresh celantro (1/2 cup chopped) instead. I also added one tbs of lime juice. Yum yum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2009

      I enjoyed this recipe but hubby wasn't really a fan. The sauce of the veggies was nice and light and had a very refreshing flavor. Unfortunately, for veggies to be of interest to hubby, they must be covered in cheese so I doubt we'll be having this again. Thanks for a new take for me, though : )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2009

    • on January 10, 2009

      I didn't rate it because I must have done something very very wrong. Can vinegar go bad? On the plus side we did get 20 minutes worth of hysterical laughter after everyone realized that they were collectively trying not to offend my by mentioning how horrible it was. As I said, I think something I used was spoilt. It couldn't possibly have been supposed to taste like it did.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2008

      The sauce is beautiful! We guestimated the vegie amounts for the 2 of us & left the cauli out, because we're not keen on it. We still made the directed amount of sauce (with freshly crushed ginger & red chilli) & really enjoyed it over the rest of our dinner of grilled fish & baked potato, too. I also think it'd be really nice as a dressing on the right salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2008

      I absolutely loved the sauce. I made as written! Hubby wanted the vegies raw and I didn't know it so it wasn't good for him but I will make again for me.I used slivered almonds instead of peanuts. The honey with the spices and sour cream was really super. This would go well with any fish dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2008

      I always enjoy the combo of broccoli & cauliflower, but this recipe took that a huge step beyond, resulting in AN EXTREMELY NICE TASTING DISH! Loved all the spices here, but I did cut back just a hair on the red pepper flakes ~ Other than that I followed the recipe! Thanks for the great treat! [Made & reviewed while touring Africa during the Zaar World Tour 4]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2008

      This was a very tasty side dish. We liked it better when hot. Not used to using nutmeg in this sort of a dish and would use a bit less of that next time. As usual with this sort of a dish, I omitted the honey. Thank you for sharing this, it was a great change from the usual side dishes. Made for ZWT4

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2008

      Wonderful! I could have made this a meal all on its own. I love this combination of veggies and wouldn't change a thing. Made for ZWT4 for the Tastebud Tickling Travellers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2008

      ZWT4: Wow - I really enjoyed this different way to prepare and serve my favorite veggies!! A refreshing dressing and great side dish all-together!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2008

      I loved this and so does everyone else who has tried it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2007

      A fun way to make a side salad. I took this to a potluck and everyone who tried it was impressed. I gave the recipe out to a bunch of gals. Reviewed for ZWTIII

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2007

      Another 5 star review. This made an outstanding dinner. I made the recipe and then added in some crab to make it a perfect summer meal. I didn't have pine nuts so sprinkled on a few chopped walnuts, they worked. I love the spicing in this. I really can't add anything about this lovely recipe that hasn't been said. It's a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2007

      I really enjoyed all of the flavours in this dish. I just knew it'd be wonderful the moment I heated all the spices together and the aromas filled the kitchen. Yum! Instead of sour cream, I used a mayonnaise/cream cheese mixture I had from a previous dinner, and it all worked together so well. I served it hot as a side dish, and it was also great cold the next day. I also skipped the honey, green onions and nuts but I probably will add all of these next time too. I can't wait to make this again! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2006

      Very tasty! I used the dressing on hot vegies, though, as a sidedish, rather than a salad. Just make sure not to heat sour cream to high, or it will separate.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for African Style Broccoli

    Serving Size: 1 (200 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 227.8
     
    Calories from Fat 163
    71%
    Total Fat 18.1 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 5.2 g
    26%
    Cholesterol 19.9 mg
    6%
    Sodium 470.8 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.7 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 7.3 g
    29%
    Protein 5.3 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes