Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / African-Style Braised Chicken in Peanut Sauce (Crock Pot) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    African-Style Braised Chicken in Peanut Sauce (Crock Pot)

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on September 27, 2012

      Yum! I omitted the chilli pepper and only put 1 tsp of curry powder in, because I was making this for a family dinner and I have two young children..... But everyone loved it! I do think it would be better with the chili, but it a real table pleaser! My 4 year old has begged to have it again tomorrow night.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2009

      The flavor was wonderful before I added the peanut mixture, then it only tasted like more peanut butter than anything. I would have only added about a table spoon, if that, but I added more curry and cayenne pepper, and also more tomatoe sauce and lemon to put back the zing it had. Next time I really want to taste the curry with garlic and onion. This recipe was a great start to an awesome mix of flavors and ussually I would never eat curry so thank you for changing my mind, cant beleive it needed more. With less or maybe no peanut butter I would give this 5 stars!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2008

      The curry peanut sauce was amazing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2008

      This is incredible!!! All the flavors are just melded perfectly together! I used this as my first braising dish in my new dutch oven, and it is perfect! Thanks for posting :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2007

      This turned out great! I used three pounds of skin-on, bone-in chicken breasts with rib meat (no one is my house is interested in the other parts). I actually found it to lack the spice that everyone else enthused about, but that may mean that it's time to check the age on my dried spices. Also, I was unsure about the "1/2 red chili pepper." It sounds like some of the other cooks used crushed red pepper flakes, but I thought this was meant to be a fresh red or green pepper. I used half of a jalapeno and wished I had used more. The tenderness of the chicken is the best! We will try it again. Maybe with coconut milk instead of broth (omitting the peanut butter). Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2007

      This was great and different! I used 1 lb skinless boneless chicken breast and cut it into 1" chunks. I used only 1 onion and used 1 tsp chili flakes since I didn't have any chili peppers. I also used 1 cup of peanut butter (we really like peanut butter), ommitted the sherry and used green pepper instead of red pepper. This was so yummy and I will definitely make this again. I might try this with stewing beef next time. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2006

      We had chicken last night, but I saw this recipe early this morning and just had to try it. It's delicious! It's really spicy and needs a lot of rice to tone it down, but very yummy. We'll definitely make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2006

      I made this for my peanut-butter obsessed children. They liked it, but it was a little spicy for them. The chicken came out so tender! I will definately make it again, just toned down a little.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2006

      This recipe deserves a thousand stars!!! Used 2tsp chili powder intead of chili peppers because that's what i had in hand. Used lemon juice intead of sherry wine. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2005

      This is an awesome recipe! The only things I did different were: I chopped the chicken and instead of using a crock pot, I cooked it for about an hour in a saute pan. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2005

      I made several modifications to this recipe based on what I had on hand and it still came out fabulous. I used boneless skinless chicken thighs, crused red pepper instead of the red chili pepper (1 T.), increased the tomato sauce to 1 cup (I hate having dabs of stuff left over) and icreased wine to 1/2 cup (Didn't read the directions close enough!) Left out the red bell pepper cuz hubby doesn't care for it and added the wine and peanut butter at the beginning of the recipe. The flavors were subtle and very rich tasting. Nothing jumped out at you it was just melt in your mouth tender chicken and a rich flavorful gravy. DH asked that I make it again soon! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for African-Style Braised Chicken in Peanut Sauce (Crock Pot)

    Serving Size: 1 (292 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 503.9
     
    Calories from Fat 309
    61%
    Total Fat 34.3 g
    52%
    Saturated Fat 8.6 g
    43%
    Cholesterol 103.7 mg
    34%
    Sodium 824.9 mg
    34%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.5 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 3.1 g
    12%
    Sugars 5.7 g
    23%
    Protein 33.2 g
    66%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites