12 Reviews

Yum! I omitted the chilli pepper and only put 1 tsp of curry powder in, because I was making this for a family dinner and I have two young children..... But everyone loved it! I do think it would be better with the chili, but it a real table pleaser! My 4 year old has begged to have it again tomorrow night.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gsenes September 27, 2012

We enjoyed this dish and it worked well in my slow cooker. I did make some changes based upon other reviewer's comments -- I added more tomato sauce and curry powder and I used coconut milk as well (goes so well with peanut butter). I used red pepper flakes vs. the chilies and I reduced the amount of peanut butter. Also, I left out the red bell pepper as I wasn't sure it would get tender enough by adding it at the end of the cooking process. Thanks for this post.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DailyInspiration May 15, 2014

The flavor was wonderful before I added the peanut mixture, then it only tasted like more peanut butter than anything. I would have only added about a table spoon, if that, but I added more curry and cayenne pepper, and also more tomatoe sauce and lemon to put back the zing it had. Next time I really want to taste the curry with garlic and onion. This recipe was a great start to an awesome mix of flavors and ussually I would never eat curry so thank you for changing my mind, cant beleive it needed more. With less or maybe no peanut butter I would give this 5 stars!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef KateHas2 March 10, 2009

The curry peanut sauce was amazing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Devora April 22, 2008

This is incredible!!! All the flavors are just melded perfectly together! I used this as my first braising dish in my new dutch oven, and it is perfect! Thanks for posting :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kirstin in the Couv March 26, 2008

This turned out great! I used three pounds of skin-on, bone-in chicken breasts with rib meat (no one is my house is interested in the other parts). I actually found it to lack the spice that everyone else enthused about, but that may mean that it's time to check the age on my dried spices. Also, I was unsure about the "1/2 red chili pepper." It sounds like some of the other cooks used crushed red pepper flakes, but I thought this was meant to be a fresh red or green pepper. I used half of a jalapeno and wished I had used more. The tenderness of the chicken is the best! We will try it again. Maybe with coconut milk instead of broth (omitting the peanut butter). Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AlwaysHungry March 16, 2007

This was great and different! I used 1 lb skinless boneless chicken breast and cut it into 1" chunks. I used only 1 onion and used 1 tsp chili flakes since I didn't have any chili peppers. I also used 1 cup of peanut butter (we really like peanut butter), ommitted the sherry and used green pepper instead of red pepper. This was so yummy and I will definitely make this again. I might try this with stewing beef next time. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BarbieQ January 11, 2007

We had chicken last night, but I saw this recipe early this morning and just had to try it. It's delicious! It's really spicy and needs a lot of rice to tone it down, but very yummy. We'll definitely make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Recipe Junkie July 22, 2006

I made this for my peanut-butter obsessed children. They liked it, but it was a little spicy for them. The chicken came out so tender! I will definately make it again, just toned down a little.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gennrae July 09, 2006

This recipe deserves a thousand stars!!! Used 2tsp chili powder intead of chili peppers because that's what i had in hand. Used lemon juice intead of sherry wine. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Msjin May 27, 2006
African-Style Braised Chicken in Peanut Sauce (Crock Pot)