Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / African Spinach and Peanut Butter Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    African Spinach and Peanut Butter Stew

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on January 19, 2010

      I find this dish to have interest, great nutrition, and some versatility as Karen Elizabeth and other reviewers suggests. I made as directed with canned tomatoes (mostly a time issue as I'm quite adept at peeling tomatoes :)) and a 16 ounce bag of frozen chopped spinach which I drained well beforehand. When I saw the price at the grocer for 2 pounds of fresh spinach I choked! I went back home and re-reviewed the recipe and thought that not only would frozen work for the recipe - it does - it also works for my budget! Caution: this is not a pretty dish; when I went to take a picture of it (I'm the 8th reviewer and no one else had submitted a photo - my first clue as to whether or not this dish is photogenic!) I literally threw on some peanuts to give it that J'nes se qua. Thanks, Karen Elizabeth, for a great and simple twist on spinach that goes well with Indian cuisine! Made for NAME tag game.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2012

      Wonderful! I've only made it with canned tomatoes, but look forward to using fresh when they ripen. Store tomatoes never have any flavor, Next time I'm going to use frozen spinach also.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2010

      Loved this!

      I added minced garlic and red pepper flakes while cooking, and topped with chopped peanuts and Thai chili peppers before serving. I bet it works well over pasta too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2010

      My partner didn't like this, but I loved it! I made it with half spinach and half swiss chard, some white beans, and lots of chile pepper. I served it over millet - delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2010

      This was amazing! I used crunchy peanut butter and served the stew with tortillas. Definitely a keeper

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2010

      This is a very delicious way to get some iron in your diet and EASY to make! I stole mersaydees's idea of using frozen spinach (but I didn't even bother to thaw or drain it. I just cooked it a little longer.) and also used canned tomatoes. I added some crushed red pepper and garlic powder at the end and also threw some crushed peanuts on top before serving. On the first night I served it over quinoa. The next day we had it over baked polenta. It was delicious both times. I will definitely make this again since my husband also loved it! Reviewed for Veggie Swap, February 2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2010

      This was very good, especially for such a healthy meal. I used almond butter as a healthier option to peanut butter and served over polenta, which worked well. Next time I think I'll add a little something else, maybe almonds/peanuts/seeds for some texture. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2009

      Delicious!! And so easy!! I used frozen home-grown tomatoes in this, and it was fabulous. Thanks so much for sharing! :O)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2009

      I love this dish! I also found it first on the downunder website but then lost it and needed it again and found it here (thank you!). I use canned tomatoes and serve it over quinoa. It is SO good - I always want to eat a ton of it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2009

      Supper healthy, quick, and great served over garlic flavored polenta. Did add just a little black pepper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2009

      5 stars all the way! Thanks for posting this as it was a nice change for using spinach. The only change I made was to add one level tsp. of ground cumin to the mix. Never needed to use salt....which is a good thing IMHO.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2009

      I was looking for something a little different and this really hit the spot. It was excellent! Very nutritious too. I did go a little heavy on the peanut butter. Beats a PB+J any day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

      Wow, spinach and peanut butter go well together! I used canned tomatoes, because I wanted a much more hearty soup. I may have used a little more than 4 tablespoons of peanut butter, but that was a good thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for African Spinach and Peanut Butter Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (259 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 184.7
     
    Calories from Fat 82
    44%
    Total Fat 9.1 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 1.8 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 259.6 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.0 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 7.9 g
    31%
    Sugars 7.1 g
    28%
    Protein 11.9 g
    23%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes