13 Reviews

I find this dish to have interest, great nutrition, and some versatility as Karen Elizabeth and other reviewers suggests. I made as directed with canned tomatoes (mostly a time issue as I'm quite adept at peeling tomatoes :)) and a 16 ounce bag of frozen chopped spinach which I drained well beforehand. When I saw the price at the grocer for 2 pounds of fresh spinach I choked! I went back home and re-reviewed the recipe and thought that not only would frozen work for the recipe - it does - it also works for my budget! Caution: this is not a pretty dish; when I went to take a picture of it (I'm the 8th reviewer and no one else had submitted a photo - my first clue as to whether or not this dish is photogenic!) I literally threw on some peanuts to give it that J'nes se qua. Thanks, Karen Elizabeth, for a great and simple twist on spinach that goes well with Indian cuisine! Made for NAME tag game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mersaydees January 19, 2010

Wonderful! I've only made it with canned tomatoes, but look forward to using fresh when they ripen. Store tomatoes never have any flavor, Next time I'm going to use frozen spinach also.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bebefisher June 24, 2012

Loved this!

I added minced garlic and red pepper flakes while cooking, and topped with chopped peanuts and Thai chili peppers before serving. I bet it works well over pasta too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jeff July 20, 2010

My partner didn't like this, but I loved it! I made it with half spinach and half swiss chard, some white beans, and lots of chile pepper. I served it over millet - delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lumberjackie May 21, 2010

This was amazing! I used crunchy peanut butter and served the stew with tortillas. Definitely a keeper

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
haven't the slightest March 04, 2010

This is a very delicious way to get some iron in your diet and EASY to make! I stole mersaydees's idea of using frozen spinach (but I didn't even bother to thaw or drain it. I just cooked it a little longer.) and also used canned tomatoes. I added some crushed red pepper and garlic powder at the end and also threw some crushed peanuts on top before serving. On the first night I served it over quinoa. The next day we had it over baked polenta. It was delicious both times. I will definitely make this again since my husband also loved it! Reviewed for Veggie Swap, February 2010.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Prose February 26, 2010

This was very good, especially for such a healthy meal. I used almond butter as a healthier option to peanut butter and served over polenta, which worked well. Next time I think I'll add a little something else, maybe almonds/peanuts/seeds for some texture. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PatrickG January 04, 2010

Delicious!! And so easy!! I used frozen home-grown tomatoes in this, and it was fabulous. Thanks so much for sharing! :O)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SPrins December 30, 2009

I love this dish! I also found it first on the downunder website but then lost it and needed it again and found it here (thank you!). I use canned tomatoes and serve it over quinoa. It is SO good - I always want to eat a ton of it!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Frankie&Johnny June 23, 2009

Supper healthy, quick, and great served over garlic flavored polenta. Did add just a little black pepper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl April 06, 2009
African Spinach and Peanut Butter Stew