Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / African-Spiced Cauliflower and Carrot Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    African-Spiced Cauliflower and Carrot Salad

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on December 23, 2006

      Another great recipe I'm making for Christmas dinner! Love the flavor of the red pepper, cumin and then a hint of sweetness from the honey. I doubled everything but the sour cream as I did not want to much sauce on the veggies. I also used baby carrots sliced on the diagonal. I thought with the small cauliflower florets in this recipe needed baby carrots (elements of design) to go along with them. You know how big around some of the long carrots can get! Thanks Rita, love this one!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2014

    • on May 08, 2013

      I am not going to rate this because the problem I had was with nutmeg and not the recipe. I just don't like nutmeg that much, the smell can be overpowering (as in this dish).<br/><br/>I ended up giving it to my co-worker that loved it. If I make it again, I think I will ditch the nutmeg.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2011

      This was pretty tasty. The green onions are absolutely essential to give the cauliflower and carrots a bit of bite at the end. Next time I may double the spices as I found them a little underwhelming. Overall, a nice, light and refreshing side dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2010

      What a different take on cauliflower salad! So spicy and yummy! Mmm, I enjoyed every bite of this recipe. All the spices and the honey made for such a yummy marinade, that I just couldnt stop eating this salad. THANKS SO MUCH for sharing this deliciously different recipe here with us, ~Rita~! Made and reviewed for Veggie Swap #19

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2008

      Wow, I really loved the creamy spicy dressing on these vegetables! I scraped the bowl clean with a spoon and tried it on its own - perfect. I blanched the veggies together for about 3 minutes and didn't make any changes except I used 2% Greek yogurt for the low-fat sour cream and Splenda for the sugar. I'd make this dressing for pita sandwiches too! It was sooo good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2007

      This was a fantastic recipe - it was even loved, and requested by a friend of mine who's actually not too keen on cauliflower! Now THAT is a great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2006

      This was so darned good I wish I could give more stars. Made this up without the green onions to garnish since it would have meant a trip to the market during Thanksgiving shoppers rush...NO WAY!!! I ate this for my dinner last night and have just enough left to have it for my lunch today...can't wait for that meal. Thank you so much for a great recipe, which I am keeping and will make often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2006

      Yummy. I made this for ZWT2. What a great mix of flavors and spices. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2006

      This is good, definitely a unique salad, but I actually found it a bit bland. I was expecting much more flavor from all the spices. My dad really liked it though, saying he liked its unique flavor. I think with a bit more spice this would be a great, instead of good, salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2006

      I made this for a weekend potluck & the diners, all of whom know about ZWT or "Virtual Iron Chef" as they call it, gave this dish a mixed review; from really low to "I liked it". While it was an interesting dish, it really didn't torque my tastebuds. I'm sure others will love the mixture of flavors. Thanks for posting a recipe that was out of my ordinary repertoire & gave my "tasters" a challenge identifying the spices involved (no one guessed all of them, BTW ;-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2006

      This salad was pretty good. It went together very quickly and easily. Surprisingly, with all of the spices in the sauce, it didn't have much flavor. Next time, I think that I would add the spices to taste, to bring out their great flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for African-Spiced Cauliflower and Carrot Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (96 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 52.7
     
    Calories from Fat 24
    45%
    Total Fat 2.6 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.5 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 7.8 mg
    2%
    Sodium 108.9 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.2 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 2.6 g
    10%
    Protein 1.8 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites