Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / African Peanut Soup With Mustard Greens Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    African Peanut Soup With Mustard Greens

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on December 26, 2010

      I had no idea what to expect from this, just had a bunch of mustard greens from my last farm share of the year that I needed to use and am not into "greens" as a side dish. Since
      I had the other ingredients handy, this recipe won. I used canned tomatoes that already had chiles in them, so omitted the chili powder, and cut the cayenne is half as a personal preference. I also used about 2 cups of cooked chicken breast from the freezer. In any event, it was absolutely delicious! The peanut butter is not overwhelming, but gives the soup a depth and richness. Had 2 bowls already and am looking forward to taking it to work for lunches this week!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2008

      I'm not going to lie, I was very apprehensive of this recipe at first -- Peanut Butter in SOUP! ... But it really turned out well. Tasty and different. The mustard greens at a bit of peppery flare. Very good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2007

      This was very good. Made it just as listed. Healthy recipe and a nice way to use the mustard greens. Thank you for a different kind of recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2005

      This soup is wonderful. I love it, and it's a crowd pleaser. I don't put in the bell pepper (personal preference). Also, if you're in a pinch, I've found that substituting vegetable broth for the chicken broth and kale for the mustard greens still makes great soup.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2014

      I just bought the Cuisine At Home CD of all of their issues since they started publication and was looking for an unusual soup for my husband's Soup Monday at work. He's getting a reputation for 'odd' soups. This one looked promising. We made it exactly as is (original recipe used kosher salt) with mustard greens (although I only had chunky peanut butter) and it was phenomenal! A hit by everyone! Just a note. Original recipe does not add mustard greens with the tomatoes and chicken. They saute them in oil, salt to taste and then add them at the very end...just before serving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2014

      This soup wowed our pallettes! I substituted quinoa as a gluten free protein packed alternative to the couscous and chicken and also used vegetable broth + 1 TB un-chicken broth powder. . I also added juice from 1/2 a lemon could have left it out too, as this soup delivers a full bodied flavor all on it's own.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2014

      I made this per the recipe, except I used kale greens (I was told at the grocery store that "nobody likes mustard greens anymore"). Anyway, it was excellent both right away and as leftovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2012

      I followed your recipe pretty closely except I added 1 diced turnip root because I had one I needed to use up, and I omitted the chicken because I did not have any. And I used instant brown rice instead of couscous. The combination of sweet creamy peanut buttery-ness, the hot cayenne and chili, and the snap of the greens was really delicious. My DH was very skeptical, but asked for a small second serving! This makes a huge pot--I'm looking forward to the mingling of the flavors in the leftovers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2009

      Good soup. The peanut butter gives it a unique taste for soup. I omitted the couscous to save to on carbs and the olive oil to save on fat. I would definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for African Peanut Soup With Mustard Greens

    Serving Size: 1 (401 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 536.2
     
    Calories from Fat 276
    51%
    Total Fat 30.7 g
    47%
    Saturated Fat 6.4 g
    32%
    Cholesterol 58.8 mg
    19%
    Sodium 927.7 mg
    38%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.3 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 7.8 g
    31%
    Sugars 10.1 g
    40%
    Protein 38.7 g
    77%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes