Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / African Peanut Chicken Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    African Peanut Chicken Soup

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on April 20, 2009

      Excellent! Personally, I like a little more onion, but otherwise, made as directed. I served with brown rice.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2009

      Excellent recipe that i have made several times now, but have not posted a review till now. I have made as is, and sometimes I play around a bit. Last night I added a pablono pepper, and ground coriander, and added a little parsly before serving. Here in the state we don't think of chicken and peanut butter going together very often, but IT IS SUCH A GOOD COMBO. thanks Paisley!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2008

      The taste is delicious, AND it is a breeze to put together, my favorite combination!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2008

      Absolutely delicious! I made this for my partner whos originally from Ivory Coast, and he said when he walked through the door he thought to himself "this doesnt smell like my girlfriends cooking, this smells like home!" I served it with basmati rice and we polished off the whole lot in one evening! We jus kept going back for more! I must say, when I was making it, I was a little unsure about adding the peanut butter at the end, it was looking so good I was scared of ruining it, but Ive now realised that thats the ingredient that makes it so devine! Thank you so much for a wonderful recipe :o) PS Sorry, completely forgot to add that I just chopped the sweet potatoes into bit size chunks and added them to the pot, they cooked fine and made the soup a bit 'chunkier', which we prefer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2008

    • on January 05, 2008

      I made this mainly because I was searching for a recipe using V8 since I had several cans left over. I was pleasantly surprised since it was great! My boyfriend also loved it. I made a few changes: I didn't have any chicken broth on hand so I just used water; I'm trying to eat lower fat so I grilled the chicken on the Foreman grill and then reduced the olive oil to 1 tsp; I am a garlic fiend so I used much more garlic. It was great and pretty quick to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2007

      very different !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2006

      I made this for an all-African menu, for guests who included a man from West Africa. We all really liked it, but I did make some changes, based on a similar dish made for me years ago by a friend from Uganda. I used 5 bone-in chicken breasts, and two thighs. I browned these in the oil first, with the garlic and onions, but did not dice them. I then added the other ingredients. I also added 2 med. onions instead of 1, and a 15 oz. can of petite diced tomatoes, along with the tomato juice. I left out the sweet potatoes, and used 8 oz. of button mushrooms. I stewed everything together for 2 hours.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for African Peanut Chicken Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (402 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 363.9
     
    Calories from Fat 186
    51%
    Total Fat 20.7 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 4.2 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 46.4 mg
    15%
    Sodium 731.8 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.2 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 4.6 g
    18%
    Sugars 8.1 g
    32%
    Protein 24.9 g
    49%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes