Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / African Chicken in Spicy Red Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    African Chicken in Spicy Red Sauce

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on June 28, 2008

      Delicious! My daughter and I made this on two separate nights and were both thrilled with the results. To extend the number of servings, I added some diced zucchini in the last 20 minutes. Yummo!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2014

      Very good.... I did cut the amount of red pepper in half ( 1 Tbsp) for the berbere; out of respect for my wife and replaced it with smoked paprika. I also used boneless skinless chicken thighs cut in half and I added sliced zucchini during the last 5 minutes of cooking. Cooking time was 40 minutes. It was very nice over Basmati rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2013

      Wow, that was a surprise! I'm an Indian and Thai curry lover, but had never tried anything like this, fantastically fragrant and rich flavour. This is one I definitely will be making again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2013

      Wow, what a great recipe! Doro Tibs is my favorite Ethiopian dish, and this tastes very similar. I did have to use cranberry juice instead of wine though, as I got carded for the wine and left my ID at home so they wouldn't sell it to me! Next time I will use the wine, but it was a delicious dish even without it. I love the heat level especially - it has just the right amount for me. Thanks for sharing this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2012

      So good! I made some small alterations due to personal preference. Used margarine instead of butter since I do not mix meat and dairy. Furthermore I used allspice instead of nutmeg and I "chickened" out on the berbere and used 1tbs cayenne pepper and 1tbs sweet paprika instead of the 2tbs ground red pepper. We had it over rice and it was perfect.
      It freezes well too.
      Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2011

      Very good. I made it exactly as stated and was very pleased! We were wanting something spicy for dinner and this hit the spot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2010

      I made Jasmine rice to soak up the sauce and we really loved it! I served some Greek yogurt on the side to dip my chicken in as I ate. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2009

      This was one of the most flavorful chicken recipes I've made in a long time! Highly recommend! The aroma while its cooking is amazing.. I will def be doing this one often.. thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2009

      Made this last night using chicken breasts and really enjoyed it. I used a berbere that I had purchased at a spice store. I thought the dish was really flavorful and I will definitely make it again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2008

      ZWT4: Excellent!! The combination of spices is terrific!! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2008

      Spicy and wonderful! The Berebere added just the right degree of heat for us and had so much flavor. I loved this and will gladly make it again sometime. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2008

      Excellent recipe! The sauce had such a rich flavour, and the chicken was so tender. I used boneless skinless thighs instead of breasts, and I substituted the ground red pepper with cayenne. Very tasty. Thanks Beautiful BC! Made for ZWT 4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2008

      Outstanding. I didn't have wine so I used red wine vinegar. I also put everything in crock pot on low after all ready to simmer. the chicken breasts fell apart and we used injera bread to eat it with. YUMMY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2008

      NOTE TO SELF, TRUE! NEVER make recipes when am tired too! When read "Combine all ingredients", yes I did, In the fridge for 45 minutes it marinated and hide! LOL OK, So when realised mistake, this is what to do, Drain chicken and onions, CATCH REST OF SAUCE IN A PAN, true! Frypan on HIGH, away you go, Dump chicken and onions, do NOT stir right away, I SAY SO! LOL About every 2 1/2 minutes turn away, This recipe will make your day! I did this for about 10 minutes, TRUE! It did have SOME liquid in but that didn't hinder this too! Used HOT cayenne, spiced black pepper, personal taste for me! Did I mention, this is a GREAT recipe! Then added BERBERE spices into chicken for one minute, true! Dumped rest of sauce into! 50 minutes, simmered away, Added green beans towards end, THIS RECIPE MAKE MY DAY! THANKS! NOTE: Used 3 packs of 2 Tabsp each tomato paste, chicken breast pieces cut into small bite sizes.....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2008

      This chicken is so good. And the smell also while cooking. I did half the recipe. I used chicken legs bone-in and skin on. I know that it would have been better with boneless skinless, but that's what I had in the fridge. I added a little bit more olive oil than requested. I used 1 small onion. Instead of the red wine, I used unsweetened cranberry juice. I used no sodium chicken broth. I used a small can of tomato paste even if only 3 ounces was needed. I didn't want to measure. I love the taste of the sauce with the spices. That's a perfect combination and mixed to the cranberry juice and tomato :P Thanks Beautiful BC. Made for the Babes of ZWT4

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2008

      BC~ I bet you were waiting for me to find my way to this divine recipe that *shouts* taste explosion in your palette. I followed this exactly, except I had a bone/in and chicken breast that also included the skin. I browned the chicken on both sides first, (after the brining) and emerged this well into the delightfully, spicy, Berbere and sauce and let it simmer happily away until the kitchen thermometer registered 180. I would give this a stir from time to time, and could hardly wait until it was time to devour. Oh yes, I used green onions instead of onion. The Berbere was fabulous! I can't say enough about this wonderful recipe and will make it quite often. Thanks BC! Made for *ZWT4* June 200.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2008

      I couldn't agree more with the other reviewers...this is one spicy and delicious dish, and the house does smell amazing while it cooks! Because I didn't have the time to tend to the pot for simmering, I cooked the chicken on low in my crockpot and this seemed to work well, but probably left me with more sauce than if I had cooked it on the stove. No worries, none will go to waste, as I plan on adding a little chicken broth to the leftover chicken and sauce to make a soup for lunch...this was way to good not to use up every speck.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2008

      Absolutely delicious and a recipe I will make many times again, this was right up my alley, it has it all extreme spice and tons of flavor, I made this using skin-on chicken thighs, thanks for sharing this great recipe Beautiful BC!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2007

      A five for the aroma alone! Made this using chicken breasts, am sure it would be equally good with chicken pieces. Loved the Berbere. Other then stirring in only a small amount of the fresh cilantro I made as posted. Slowly introducing my family to cilantro - I love cilantro and had a bowl of the freshly snipped cilantro on the table ... just for me! Didn't have plain yogurt on hand but will try MaidinAfricas suggestion next time around. Thank you for sharing this exotic tasting recipe which we all enjoyed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2007

      Excellent recipe full of flavour and nicely spiced - my kind of food. This is the kind of meal I would serve at a dinner party then sit back and wait for the compliments. Mixing the Berbere reminded me of exotic spice markets and made the kitchen smell wonderful. The recipe was easy to follow although you have to check the larder to make sure you have all the ingredients. I might add a touch of plain yogurt at the end of cooking time to give a creamy finish. Thanks for this recipe Debi; I will be looking out for more on your page.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for African Chicken in Spicy Red Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (503 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 555.1
     
    Calories from Fat 239
    43%
    Total Fat 26.6 g
    41%
    Saturated Fat 8.4 g
    42%
    Cholesterol 152.9 mg
    50%
    Sodium 1287.6 mg
    53%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.1 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 4.8 g
    19%
    Sugars 9.1 g
    36%
    Protein 53.0 g
    106%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites