Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / African Banana Coconut Bake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    African Banana Coconut Bake

    Average Rating:

    39 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 39

    Sort by:

    • on August 03, 2011

      I had some raisins and dates soaking in orange juice already for a couple days so I used some juice from that and added in the dates and raisins and the coconut and a little coconut juice and raw sugar and let it reduce down. I served over plain yogurt. It's similar to what I do with the soaked fruit except has beautiful baked bananas in it. A definite improvement. Next time I'll try it on some rice pudding or ice cream. Thank you. Made for Ramadan Tag 2011.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2011

      The flavor was outstanding. The banana and coconut always work well and the tangy orange / lemon is a nice contrast. I was hoping that the juice might cook down a little more. It ended up thin. I think I will try and mash up one of the banana segments into the orange juice before adding to the dish to see if that helps. Thanks ~Leslie~ this was great.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2011

      This is such a yummy recipe! It is juicy, fruity, sweet and comforting! Mmmm! The bananas go so great with the coconut. YUM!
      I made half the recipe for my sis and me and it was very generous. Instead of orange juice I used apple juice and I also left out the sugar. But other than that followed your recipe to a t and loved it!
      THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing it here with us!
      Made and reviewed for I Recommend Tag Game January 2011.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2014

      This was delicious! We ate it atop our pancakes in place of syrup and it was just perfect. I was especially thrilled because I love bananas but can't eat them raw due to a sensitivity. I used SimplyOrange juice with mango which gave it one extra tropical flavor. I only had 3 bananas but didn't cut back on the other ingredients so it was nice and saucy which was great. There's just enough left over to have with ice cream or oatmeal tomorrow. Thanks for posting, Leslie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2013

      Used lime in this and the flavor was really good. I halved the coconut, since it seemed like plenty. Vanilla ice cream with this is a must!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2012

      edible, but not good. The coconut was too dry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2012

      Yummy for breakfast with plain thick yogurt for DD1 (4 years old) and I. I used butter in place of the (soy laden) margarine to be healthier, freshly squeezed lemon juice, nice thick shredded coconut, plus the rest of the ingredients. I may make this again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2011

      A most delicious breakfast.
      If you only have ripe bananas, DO NOT BAKE.
      Unless you like the consistency of baby food.
      It tastes fine if you don't bake it.
      Also good atop oatmeal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2009

      If you use very ripe bananas it will turn out very mushy and watery. However it tastes great (esp with whipped cream or vanilla ice cream).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2008

      the bananas came out mushy when i baked it - it was an ok flavor, but, just not really what i was expecting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2008

      This is fabulous! Quick and easy. Next time I will add a few chopped nuts, and serve with whipped cream or ice cream for a hot banana split! Thanks for the inspiration!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2008

      Fabulously easy & tasty dessert. I added some frozen mango pieces, also cut back on the sugar because my coconut was sweetened. Thanks Leslie for sharing this keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2008

      Wow! A really nice dessert that was so yummy! So quick and easy to make too! We enjoyed this tonite for an African themed dinner and look forward to making it again. Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2008

      Made for ZWT4...This was wonderful. I think I will try it with a little rum added to it for an adult dessert next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2008

      Yummy! This pleased both the kids and adults at our house and will be made again. Followed the recipe, except for using butter. This has a nice blend of flavors and textures. We served it as a dessert but it will make breakfast something to look forward to also. = ) Thanks my friend!! For the Cookin' Cats ZWT4

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2008

      This is really good even though DH didn't like. He said there was something in it he didn't like. But he couldn't tell what precisely. I loved the tangy taste from the orange and lime (yes I used lime juice). I used butter. I loved the addition of coconut. Thanks Leslie. Made for the Babes of ZWT4

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2008

      Great, as the others fast easy and delicious. what more could you ask for. I made this as directed and serve with frozen yogurt.Will make this again. Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2008

      Fast, easy, and delicious! I made this recipe in individual ramekins. I quartered the bananas then cut lenthwise. I drizzled honey over each ramekin vs the brown sugar. This was a real treat Leslie, thank you! Made for ZWT4

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2008

      This was really good. It took me about 20 minutes or so to bake, but maybe it's because I used freshly shredded coconut and so it was still a little moist. My family enjoyed this with some banana bread and ice cream. Thanks! Made for ZWT4 - Jefes de la Cocina.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2008

      Just as yummy as I thought, and totally a breeze to make. I halved this the first time, but doubled it for our gang on the farm. Both ways turned out just perfectly. I didn't however cut back on the butter/margarine when I doubled it. I melted the butter and then dribbled it over accordingly, and between the brown sugar and the orange juice/ and coconut this was so wonderful! Thanks for a siple but terrific treat, Leslie! Made for *ZWT4* June 2008.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for African Banana Coconut Bake

    Serving Size: 1 (134 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 189.1
     
    Calories from Fat 53
    28%
    Total Fat 5.9 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 3.7 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 52.3 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.7 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 24.4 g
    97%
    Protein 1.5 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites