39 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I had some raisins and dates soaking in orange juice already for a couple days so I used some juice from that and added in the dates and raisins and the coconut and a little coconut juice and raw sugar and let it reduce down. I served over plain yogurt. It's similar to what I do with the soaked fruit except has beautiful baked bananas in it. A definite improvement. Next time I'll try it on some rice pudding or ice cream. Thank you. Made for Ramadan Tag 2011.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jamilahs_Kitchen August 03, 2011

The flavor was outstanding. The banana and coconut always work well and the tangy orange / lemon is a nice contrast. I was hoping that the juice might cook down a little more. It ended up thin. I think I will try and mash up one of the banana segments into the orange juice before adding to the dish to see if that helps. Thanks ~Leslie~ this was great.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
matt_maples May 23, 2011

This was delicious! We ate it atop our pancakes in place of syrup and it was just perfect. I was especially thrilled because I love bananas but can't eat them raw due to a sensitivity. I used SimplyOrange juice with mango which gave it one extra tropical flavor. I only had 3 bananas but didn't cut back on the other ingredients so it was nice and saucy which was great. There's just enough left over to have with ice cream or oatmeal tomorrow. Thanks for posting, Leslie!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kllywlmt March 10, 2014

This is such a yummy recipe! It is juicy, fruity, sweet and comforting! Mmmm! The bananas go so great with the coconut. YUM!
I made half the recipe for my sis and me and it was very generous. Instead of orange juice I used apple juice and I also left out the sugar. But other than that followed your recipe to a t and loved it!
THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing it here with us!
Made and reviewed for I Recommend Tag Game January 2011.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula January 30, 2011

Used lime in this and the flavor was really good. I halved the coconut, since it seemed like plenty. Vanilla ice cream with this is a must!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito March 21, 2013

edible, but not good. The coconut was too dry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
timhammond August 28, 2012

Yummy for breakfast with plain thick yogurt for DD1 (4 years old) and I. I used butter in place of the (soy laden) margarine to be healthier, freshly squeezed lemon juice, nice thick shredded coconut, plus the rest of the ingredients. I may make this again!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat January 30, 2012

A most delicious breakfast.
If you only have ripe bananas, DO NOT BAKE.
Unless you like the consistency of baby food.
It tastes fine if you don't bake it.
Also good atop oatmeal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
delaneyb January 09, 2011

If you use very ripe bananas it will turn out very mushy and watery. However it tastes great (esp with whipped cream or vanilla ice cream).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
myoungp October 25, 2009

the bananas came out mushy when i baked it - it was an ok flavor, but, just not really what i was expecting

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShortieNJ July 22, 2008
African Banana Coconut Bake