Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Afghan Tea - an Authentic Family Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Afghan Tea - an Authentic Family Recipe

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on February 12, 2011

      This tea is a true delight! I loved the creaminess and the wonderful flavor. I didn't have any whole cardamom so I made a cardamom "teabag" by wrapping powdered cardamom in a paper coffee filter, then just steeped that along with the teabags. I used lowfat milk with good results. This recipe is a keeper - thanks for sharing it! Made for the Best of 2010 Event (recommended by Baby Kato)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2013

      This tea is so comforting and delicious! I could drink it every day :) Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2012

      Very nice tasting and warming, too! I doubled the amount of cardamom pods because I really like the flavor of cardamom. Will be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2012

      What a calming drink! Lightly sweetened drink with a light delicate flavor. I made as written using honey as my sweetener. Thanks for the post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2011

    • on May 08, 2011

      This was the perfect drink for a rainy afternoon. It was warm and comforting, creamy with a subtle hint of chai spice- yet not overpoweringly so. Made with five cardamom pods and 1 Tbsp of demerera sugar as we prefer things not too sweet. Will definitely make again. Thanks so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2010

      Very good, I love the creaminess of this. This is also a Kuwaiti breakfast tea. I used Rice dream to be dairy free and an additional cardamom pod or 2 as I love the flavour. I used Lipton Yellow Label tea and white sugar. I might make this again. Made for Comfort Cafe - Snow Queens Round 01/10.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2010

      This was really delicious Um Safia, thanks for sharing your family recipe. I've never had tea steeped in milk before, I enjoyed the smooth, thick texture very much. I loved the cardamon flavoring in this sweet, rich, creamy tea. So glad I made this for ZWT 4. Updated...I just wanted to say that I enjoy this tea so much...I made it again for Comfort Cafe/10 I will never get tired of this tea recipe...it's perfect, it keeps you wanting more :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2009

      I've been searching for the pefect chai recipe for quite some time and this is it! I use skim milk and spenda and it's still absolutely sinful! I think the key is steeping the tea right in the milk. It makes it so incredibly thick and creamy. Thanks for this wonderful recipe that I will continue to use again and agan!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2009

      Same as as Kurdish tea! But we add a little honey instead of sugar! so Tastey Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2008

    • on October 03, 2008

      This is also a great way to prepare tea for little kids...excellent recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2008

      I made this for hubby tonight and he said it was really yummy. I followed the instructions as written. Thank you Um Safia - *Made for Zaar World Tour 4*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2008

      This is a nice change from the tea I normally make. I used lowfat milk and splenda. I really enjoyed this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2008

      tea mixed with milk? and with cardamom? hmmm a must try.. used chamomile tea here and yes! It's warm, and good, and sweet. Followed direction as is except I used ground cardamom in smaller amount (since it's ground) Worked for me! Once again, thank you Um Safia! Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2008

      I like cardamom and I decided to try it. I never put sugar in my tea. But for this recipe, I did. But I think I would have prefered it without sugar. I loved the texture. I did half the recipe (1 1/2 bag was needed but it's hard to divide so I used only 1 tea bag). Next time I'll try the whole recipe when I won't be alone to drink it. Thanks Um Safia. Made for ZWT 4

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2008

      This was very nice! I love cardamom, so I was drawn to this recipe. Thanks so much for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2008

      Was about to pass on this recipe until a friend of my offered to share some of her cardamom pods, so I brewed a cup for each of us! Sooo easy, & very nice to the taste buds! I usually go for 2% fat in milk, but used the whole kind this time around! Great tea! [Made & reviewed while in Asia on Zaar's World Tour 4]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2008

      I really liked this. I did use 1% milk instead of the whole milk as whole milk really makes me queasy. I also only used 2 teaspoons of sugar instead of 3 or 4 and found it more than sweet enough for my tastes. This was perfect on a day when I felt like I would be cold forever. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Afghan Tea - an Authentic Family Recipe

    Serving Size: 1 (250 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 173.2
     
    Calories from Fat 71
    41%
    Total Fat 7.9 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 4.5 g
    22%
    Cholesterol 24.4 mg
    8%
    Sodium 104.9 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.0 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 18.6 g
    74%
    Protein 7.6 g
    15%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    green cardamom pods

    tea bags

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites