9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I've never had or heard of this before, so I didn't know what to expect. Considering the simplicity of it, I'd say it was alright. Thanks for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Autsayder May 13, 2010

Excellent recipe. I use half the water and substitute the remainder with either chicken, beef or vegetable broth. We love macaroni and so we increase that by 1/2 cup. Have also used V-8 as suggested by anothe reviewer...either way, delicious!! When reheating we add a couple of tablespoons of water to thin it down as it thickens when refrigerated. Thanks for sharing.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NanuqsMom July 27, 2009

My great-grandma has made this as a side dish since I can remember. She just uses a little less water and part of a small can of tomato sauce rather than tomato juice. Her mother made it during the depression and it has been a family favorite ever since. Thanks for taking me back :-)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mater March 07, 2009

Thanks for posting this. I wanted something to go with sandwiches so I thought I would give this a try. This was a great start but I did make some modifications to suit our taste - I added one small can of tomato paste for some additional tomato flavor and also some old bay seasoning for a nice "kick". It went over so well that it is now our new favorite soup. No more canned tomato soup for us.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sunsh1ne April 25, 2009

Great! Quick and easy.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookiegirlandi February 26, 2008

This has been my favorite dish for 54 yrs. Glad someone else likes it too.Glad to see it posted.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
STARTERWIFE November 26, 2006

Andre, Have made a similar to this recipe for years,and we loved it.This is every bit as good as the one we have always eaten,Thanks for your recipe. Darlene

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darlene Summers September 16, 2005

hello Andre, I have finally come on to rate your recipe! Have done it and it is wonderful. Used to make it alot (once a week) as soup of the day in the restaurant I worked for. Have sbstituted the juice with V-8 juice before, or even half V-8 annd half Tomato. Everyone loved it no matter which way. Big seller! P.S. Have joined the site and will post some recipes soon. XO Chef#239889 (kaggy)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kaggyprice August 30, 2005

If you like watered-down tomato juice, this is the recipe for you. I added some V-8, then a full can of tomato soup to the pot in order to get some taste. Definitely NOT the soup I've eaten in Canadian restaurants. Don't waste your time with this one.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
samsue1400 August 24, 2013
Affordable Basic Restaurant-Style Tomato and Macaroni Soup