13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is the recipe! I've been trying to find the recipe that I grew up with in a Mexican family. This duplicates it. So good...very light, not overpowering, fresh. The only change I made was to add some chopped onion to the rice during the browning portion and some salt just before simmering. DH loved it as well. I served it with sour cream chicken enchildas, refried beans and salad. Next time, I'm going to brown on the stove and put everything into my rice cooker as suggested by another reviewer. Thanks for sharing!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
16Paws September 09, 2007

We loved it... very similar to my way of preparing Mexican rice except for the tomato... I still have some cherry tomatoes on the vine, so I used a handful of those instead of a beefsteak tomato. I pureed them along with 2 huge garlic cloves (can't get enough garlic!) I used homemade chicken stock instead of water and added in half a cube of tomato bouillon for a little more richness. When I saw the recipe didn't call for any salt, I knew I was going to have to add some in. I'm very glad I did...otherwise it would have been very bland for us. I also cooked my rice for 20 minutes and let it stand for another 5 min. This made a lot of rice...way more than 2 servings so next time I will cut the recipe in half. I loved the color of the rice and the garlic aroma was to die for! Thanks for sharing!!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
atlfitgirl October 11, 2007

Very tasty rice! My whole family enjoyed the great flavor of this rice.I enjoyed the ease and simplicity of the preparation of it!Thanks for sharing. Mad for World Tour.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bert's Kitchen Witch June 27, 2007

Reviewed for ZWT III. I enjoyed this rice and so did my family - especially the kids. For my husband it was lacking a bit of heat so he mixed in some chilli paste. Very easy to make and no overpowering flavours which would be ideal if you have something very spicy to serve with it or if like me you are giving it to small children.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Um Safia June 25, 2007

While my family and I liked this rice, I thought it was missing something. I think salt, or onion, or...something. I think next time I may add some onion in the puree and maybe substitute 1 cup of chicken or veggie stock for 1 of the cups of water. I think it's a very good base to start from!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama_Jennie June 21, 2007

An easy recipe with a great flavor!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookiedog June 19, 2007

I really enjoyed this dish. I used 3 large garlic cloves and 4 roma tomatoes. Thank you!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 January 01, 2007

This is good rice, and after toasting the rice I just put all the ingredients in my rice cooker, and it was perfect.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pavut July 09, 2006

This is very good, I added an onion, caramelized first, to the rice at the same time as the tomato and water mixture.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TJW March 13, 2006

Easy and tasty Mexican rice! The toasting of the rice is important to the flavor so don't skip that step. For me it needed salt and I added some at the end of the cooking. I think pureeing some onion with the tomato would add some good flavor too. Thanks for sharing the recipe! Made for ZWT8, Chefs gone WILD!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loof August 05, 2012
Adriana's Mexican Rice