Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Adriana's Mexican Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Adriana's Mexican Rice

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on September 09, 2007

      This is the recipe! I've been trying to find the recipe that I grew up with in a Mexican family. This duplicates it. So good...very light, not overpowering, fresh. The only change I made was to add some chopped onion to the rice during the browning portion and some salt just before simmering. DH loved it as well. I served it with sour cream chicken enchildas, refried beans and salad. Next time, I'm going to brown on the stove and put everything into my rice cooker as suggested by another reviewer. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2007

      We loved it... very similar to my way of preparing Mexican rice except for the tomato... I still have some cherry tomatoes on the vine, so I used a handful of those instead of a beefsteak tomato. I pureed them along with 2 huge garlic cloves (can't get enough garlic!) I used homemade chicken stock instead of water and added in half a cube of tomato bouillon for a little more richness. When I saw the recipe didn't call for any salt, I knew I was going to have to add some in. I'm very glad I did...otherwise it would have been very bland for us. I also cooked my rice for 20 minutes and let it stand for another 5 min. This made a lot of rice...way more than 2 servings so next time I will cut the recipe in half. I loved the color of the rice and the garlic aroma was to die for! Thanks for sharing!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2007

      Very tasty rice! My whole family enjoyed the great flavor of this rice.I enjoyed the ease and simplicity of the preparation of it!Thanks for sharing. Mad for World Tour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2007

      Reviewed for ZWT III. I enjoyed this rice and so did my family - especially the kids. For my husband it was lacking a bit of heat so he mixed in some chilli paste. Very easy to make and no overpowering flavours which would be ideal if you have something very spicy to serve with it or if like me you are giving it to small children.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2007

      While my family and I liked this rice, I thought it was missing something. I think salt, or onion, or...something. I think next time I may add some onion in the puree and maybe substitute 1 cup of chicken or veggie stock for 1 of the cups of water. I think it's a very good base to start from!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2007

      An easy recipe with a great flavor!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2007

      I really enjoyed this dish. I used 3 large garlic cloves and 4 roma tomatoes. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2006

      This is good rice, and after toasting the rice I just put all the ingredients in my rice cooker, and it was perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2006

      This is very good, I added an onion, caramelized first, to the rice at the same time as the tomato and water mixture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2012

      Easy and tasty Mexican rice! The toasting of the rice is important to the flavor so don't skip that step. For me it needed salt and I added some at the end of the cooking. I think pureeing some onion with the tomato would add some good flavor too. Thanks for sharing the recipe! Made for ZWT8, Chefs gone WILD!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2012

      A tasty and simple rice dish that my family all enjoyed during ZWT8. Photo also to be posted

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2012

      Great method of preparing mexican rice. My kids and hubby really enjoyed it but I did tweak it a bit to give some oomph by adding 1/2 diced onion while sauteeing the rice and lots of ground pepper at the end and a dash of salt for seasoning. Makes a really pretty side dish. Made during the ZWT8 tour.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2012

      Such an easy recipe that will guarantee great results! A little bit of a nutty flavor from the browned rice that goes along well with the freshness of the tomato and onion puree. I used vegetable broth instead of water, used 4 smaller roma tomatoes instead of one large tomato, and added some salt and pepper. A very nice addition to our south of the border meal. Made and reviewed for ZWT8.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Adriana's Mexican Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (497 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 727.6
     
    Calories from Fat 193
    26%
    Total Fat 21.4 g
    33%
    Saturated Fat 2.9 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 13.6 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 120.5 g
    40%
    Dietary Fiber 3.2 g
    12%
    Sugars 2.4 g
    9%
    Protein 10.6 g
    21%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes