116 Reviews

was fast, easy and delicious will make again

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adamwa May 08, 2010

Wow, this is good! I used left over roast beef that I seasoned with taco seasoning and let simmer for a long time, then shredded. I used ready cut diced tomatoes with green chilies. I also had a dried chipotle . I used a can of black beans and a can of kidney beans. I also added a little minute rice and some red pepper. Would have added a green pepper if I had one. I love this because it gives me a new alternative with left over roast beef. Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vicki February 09, 2010

Very good and quite tasty. I didn't have any chilies, so I added in some chopped green bell pepper. I also added cumin as other reviewers suggested. Served this with some crumbled tortilla chips and a dollop of sour cream.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
unmistakable1 January 29, 2010

Delicious. It's somewhere between chicken tortilla soup and chili. Not a fan of beans and corn so I left those out and added red and green bell peppers. Maybe I'll try adding cactus next time. I simmered it all day in the crock pot so the flavors really sunk into each other. We had a friend over for dinner that night - I'm pretty sure he's started seeing me in a whole new light.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kristina+Enno January 19, 2010

Fantastic use of left over Thanksgiving turkey. Next time I'll buy corn chips to serve with it. I followed the recipe fairly closely with just a few minor tweaks. 1. I add 1 tablespoon of cumin (as suggested by another reviewer), 2. Added 2 tablespoons of corn starch in total, 3. Included half cup of jalepenos and 4. 1 cup of green pepper. Really loved it and with these adjustments would give five stars. Thank you so much for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Faux Cordon Bleu December 14, 2009

I was making a black bean dip, boiled too many beans, looking for a soup and voila! found this one.This is sooo easy to put together. I made my own taco seasoning and I used frozen corn that I had cut off the cob and bottled diced garlic and Sysco chicken base to make brother. This is a soup you can put together anytime and if you don't have green chilies, you can substitute diced green pepper and add a little cayanne pepper. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Montana Heart Song December 13, 2009

This was wonderful. I followed the recipe almost exactaly. The only changes I made were that instead of oil I used a some chicken drippings, and a little cumin, and a bay leaf, and i had to add 2 more cups of chicken stock. I served it with cheese quesidillias. It was really good and really easy to make. Perfect for a busy night. Even my husband, who says he's just not that into soups, really liked it! Thank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
A.S.K. October 20, 2009

Oh ya, this was good!! Hubby says can make again. Was easy to put together and probably a good crockpot dish. Thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dirty dishes October 12, 2009

Very easy and very good. I was totally lazy and didn't want it too spicy for my kids so I used one can of tomatoes and one can of rotel instead of the green chilies. Came out great and still spicy enough that my kids noticed the spice but still ate it and loved it. I will be making this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jenilyn74 October 02, 2009

Yummy! I used some leftover rotisserie chicken and then used some chicken legs I had it the freezer to get enough chicken. I got fresh chicken stock this way too. Anyway,everything else per the recipe and really yummy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zillahknits September 13, 2009
Addictive Mexican Stew