Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Addictive Mexican Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Addictive Mexican Stew

    Average Rating:

    114 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 114

    Sort by:

    • on February 20, 2011

      This was a very tasty and hearty meal. My husband and I really enjoyed this recipe. To save time I used canned chicken and used the broth from the canned chicken. I added additional broth to the mixture due to personal preferences and since the soup was so hearty. We added cheese and sour cream to our individual bowls. Thank you for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2005

      Excellent! I just finished making this and it is addictive!! I made a couple of minor adjustments simply because you do what you have to do… I used Rotel instead of green chiles, I didn’t have those on hand. I used a whole 14.5 ounce can of chicken broth because I hate left over stock (I always forget I have it in the freezer and someone will throw it out). The had to cook up the chicken in the soup pot first with salt, pepper and other spices, then added the onions and garlic. Once that was fully cooked I added the rest. Very yummy and really easy to make!!! The Rotel adds a nice zing to it if you like that!! Thanks for sharing!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2006

      Do NOT use left-over turkey! The turkey has too much poultry flavoring which muddles any 'Mexican' taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2013

      Instant favorite! Super easy, one-pot meal. Tastes even better on the second day. Freezes very well. Very adaptable recipe. Easily BOOST THE FLAVOR by toasting frozen corn kernals, caramelizing the onions and browning bite-sized pieces of raw chicken breast in the pot before adding all other ingredients. I have made this recipes many times and we like it best with chicken because it has a lighter and fresher taste (than with turkey or beef). I usually add 1 can each of red or white kidney beans, romano beans, and black beans. Green chilies are totally optional; just add a dash of hot sauce for some zing. If you require GLUTEN-FREE and/or LOW SODIUM OPTIONS, you can easily make your own taco seasoning. (Packaged taco seasonings usually contain wheat and have a very high sodium content. Most cooks will have all ingredients to make taco seasoning in their pantry: 1 Tbsp chili pwdr, 1/4 tsp garlic pwdr, 1/4 tsp onion pwdr, 1/4 tsp crushed red pepper flakes, 1/4 tsp dried oregano, 1/2 tsp paprika, 1 1/2 tsp ground cumin, 1 tsp salt (or less), 1/2 tsp black pepper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2012

      My husband loved this! We added a little cheese and sour cream on top and ate it with corn bread.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2011

      This was very tasty. We skipped the diced chiles, we're spice lightweights.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2011

      I LOVED this recipe. I made it exactly as is although I did add extra chicken broth to make it a little more soupy. This is a wonderful "base" for possible stews of all kinds. The variations are endless. It is more tomato-y than Mexican in my opinion but EASILY you can add spices of all kinds and it is delicious...which is what makes it so great. It's a basic soup to work from according to your preference...and it is delicious as is! Definitely try this if you love soups and stews as comfort foods. Cheap, economical, easy to make and takes less than 30 minutes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2011

      We loved this! Great way to use leftover chicken and a fast, easy weeknight meal. You so gotta try this. I'll be making it again and again. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2010

      Awesome! The ONLY change I made was to double the chicken broth/cornstarch mixture since I wanted more of a soup-like consistency. Very much like a WW Tortilla Soup recipe I have posted but much, much faster. Easily ready in 20 minutes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2010

      I loved this! Only had one can of tomatos, so used some salsa also. Great with corn muffins.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2006

      A keeper.I served it with corn bread, and a dish of sour cream on the side....my son ate his bowl with corn bread, the took another bowl with sour cream and ate it with tortilla chips...needless to say I'll be making this often. Thanks so much for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2005

      I made this last night with some leftover Thanksgiving turkey and it was absolutely delicious! My husband loved it. I did have a little extra time so I let it simmer an extra 20 minutes or so. I also served it over rice, to stretch it a little further. For the reviewers who would like to cut down on the salt, McCormick's sells a reduced-sodium taco seasoning - I used one envelope of this and the salt was just right. Thanks for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2005

      Easy Easy Easy and Fast to make. And healthy too. My husband who took this in his lunch swears that it tastes good cold too. If you buy the onions pre-chopped and the chicken is already cooked, there is less than five minutes prep time. It smells SO good while it is cooking. I like the fact that you can buy the ingredients in bulk and make it at any time. This will become our "comfort food" too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2014

      Sounds amazing! I love spicey Mexican food and it is really hard to get here in the UK. I am hosting a big 'Texas poker night' and I wanted to make something appropriate so i will do a trial run with this recipe.<br/><br/>Thanks a million for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2013

      Was delicious!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2013

      Easy comfort food on a cold night! After reading the reviews, I shredded a can of white meat chicken and substituted 1 can Original Rotel tomatoes instead of adding the 4-oz can of chilies. Loved the addition of shredded cheese and a dollop of sour cream on top. This will be a good, quick weeknight recipe since I usually have all of the ingredients on hand. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2013

      Very easy and delicious...instead of a packet of taco seasoning, I just looked at the label of one that was lying around and made my own. Rotel is probably a good sub for separate cans of tomatoes/chiles.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2013

      Awesome awesome recipe!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2013

      Easy to make and tastes delicious!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2012

      Excellent recipe! Made it for 3rd time and added some sliced carrots (2) and (1 med.) zucchini, like I saw in some of the other pictures. I used black beans, and the whole can of chicken broth. Somewhat like my tortilla soup but heartier. Very fast to make, great for weeknight cooking. I used the "365" cornbread recipe made with a high quality stone ground white corn meal. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Addictive Mexican Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (476 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 5

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 359.3
     
    Calories from Fat 88
    24%
    Total Fat 9.7 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 2.2 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 63.0 mg
    21%
    Sodium 1229.4 mg
    51%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.8 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 10.5 g
    42%
    Sugars 9.1 g
    36%
    Protein 30.8 g
    61%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes