Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Addictive Healthy Muffins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Addictive Healthy Muffins

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on May 22, 2013

      I used turbinado instead of brown sugar plus a little honey. I didn't have buttermilk so I used regular milk with a little sour cream. I didn't have raisins. I doubled it then split into 3 parts and added chocolate chips to one (pretty good), frozen blueberries and raspberries to one (good), and date chunks and coconut flakes to the third (very good! So yummy, I will only do this one in the future) The doubled recipe made 3 dozen muffins and they took only 28 minutes to cook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2009

      Check out my review of Orange Bran Flax Muffins,which is the same recipe from Prevention. My modification (no flour) makes these muffins tastier and much, much moister. These are a favorite at my home and receive rave reviews when I bring them to brunches or to the office to share.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2008

    • on May 20, 2008

      eugh. I dont know what i did wrong, but these were so flavourless i couldnt even choke them down. -shudders-

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2007

      What I really like about these muffins is their texture. The brans and flax seeds make this very tasty, with a bit of a crunch. I substituted spelt flour for the all-purpose and they turned out fine. I'm happy to have something so healthy and delicious in my freezer. THANKS!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2005

      The original recipe does not call for using the orange peel--just the orange. I also substitute extra light olive oil (the one recommended for baking) for the oil. And finally, I'm not a big raisin fan, so I like to divide the batter in half substituting dates and walnuts for the raisins in one half and substituting chocolate chips for the raisins in the other half. The chocolate chips help my kids like this otherwise very healthy muffin! Delicious! (These freeze great!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2005

    • on April 12, 2005

      I wasn't expecting these to turn out wonderfully, but they did. They smelled so good in the oven! These are the best healthy muffin recipe I've tried thus far that didn't have banana in it. I did make a few changes. I have tons of in season strawberries, so I replaced the 2 oranges with 3 cups of diced strawberries. It turned out fine. I think I'll try blueberries when they come in season. I also used olive oil for the oil and 1 extra-large egg white in place of the egg. I left out the raisins and added 1 1/2 tsp. nutmeg. They only required 28 minutes in the oven. These are surprisingly moist and as my 2 year-old said, "These are very tasty."

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2005

      Fabulous muffins! With all of the very healthy ingredients in these, you wouldn't think they'd be so light and tender and GOOD! The combination of brown sugar, fresh oranges and raisins make these pretty sweet, and the bran gives them a bit of texture but the result is not at all heavy. I filled the muffin cups pretty full and got 16. These are sure to be a standard at my house. Oh, I almost forgot..the kids loved them!! Thanks, Wendy10, for a super recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2004

      Fantastic Muffin!! These have a wonderful orangey flavor and are nice and moist and tender. And healthy too? Gotta love it! I made a few subs- I had no oat bran, so I used all wheat bran instead; I subbed whole wheat pastry flour for the white (although I think that you would be fine using regular whole wheat in these too); I used an organic valencia orange rather than a navel (be sure to seed it!); substitued the brown sugar with Sucanat (in essence, organic natural brown sugar) and I didn't have golden rasins on hand, so I used monukka raisins instead (they're just regular black raisins, really, with a fancy name). I flaked and pretty much pureed the orange, but it turned out just fine! Great, great muffins. Next time I will try dried cranberries instead of the raisins, as orange and cranberries go so well together. Maybe add some spices (cinnamon, for sure, would be great in these) or nuts. Perhaps some vanilla extract or orange blossom water (I have a big bottle that I'm trying to use) I followed PaulaG's lead and filled my muffin cups very full, because you're right- these don't rise much. I only got 10 muffins for a half recipe. Really terrific- such a sunny citrus flavor! Oh! I would HIGHLY recommend that anyone who makes this makes it a point to use organic oranges- citrus is one of the foods most highly sprayed with pesticides, and since you're eating the peel in this recipe, you really ought to be careful! Thank you for a great recipe, will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2004

      This is a great little recipe. The only problem I had was that I discovered that I do not like the flavor or texture of oranges in muffins! Oops. I think I will try again with apples and cinnamon instead because the muffin itself is incredible, moist and tasty with lots of healthy stuff inside. The only change I did make was to use natural applesauce instead of oil and the taste and texture was still wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2004

      My family really liked these muffins. Usually if I make "healthy" muffins my kids will eat maybe one, but with these muffins they couldn't get enough. Anything this healthy that a 5 and 7 year old will eat is a keeper in my house. I was not able to find the wheat bran so I increased the flour by half a cup and the oat bran by half a cup. Also I did not have any raisins so I used some cherry craisins (plumped first with boiling water as was suggested in another review)The mild cherry flavor went well with the orange. I don't think these changes made a big difference but I will try it again later with the wheat bran. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2004

      GREAT Muffins with loads of flavor, even though I made a Boo Boo, while making them, as I had several interruptions. I forgot the brown sugar. They are GREAT without it and really better for you, I never missed it when tasting the dough. I used applesauce instead of oranges, also used applesauce instead of the oil(My home canned applesauce with cinnamon) added 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon to dry ingredients. DH loves them , He is a diabetic so these work good for him. I will be making these again & most likely without the brown sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2004

      A very nice muffin, loaded with fiber. I did not have any oranges, so I used 1/2 c. Apple sauce instead. Plus 1 tsp. vanilla. They were excellent!! Oh, I also used olive oil instead of canola oil. This is a keeper for use!! As a matter of fact I just ate one with a nice cup of tea. Yummy!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2004

      I made these muffins when I saw the recipe in prevention and they are great muffins. I used applesauce for the oil, egg beaters for the egg and chopped dates for the raisins. Turned out wonderful and keep well. Will definatly make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2004

      I agree with Heather U, these are really great. I used golden milled flax seed and regular juice oranges. I added the brown sugar with the other dry ingredients and because I don't follow directions well used my Kitchenaid Mixer to mix the dry and wet ingredients. Worked fine. Instead of the raisins I used my food processor and chopped up dates and added those. Next time I think I might add some chopped pecans and cinnamon. These are nicely textured and the orange flavor comes through without being overpowering. I guess I really filled the muffin cups well because I only got 16 muffins instead of the 24. These will be great for a quick and healthy breakfast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2004

      You are right, this recipe was recently pubished in Prevention Reports! It was called Can This Melt-in-Your-Mouth Muffin Defeat Breast Cancer?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2004

      These are really great...loads of flavor and texture. I didn't have golden raisins so I used "regular" raisins that I first plumped in boiling water. I also added pecans, cinnamon, and nutmeg because I thought they'd complement the ingredient list nicely...and they do!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Addictive Healthy Muffins

    Serving Size: 1 (1626 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 181.8
     
    Calories from Fat 68
    37%
    Total Fat 7.6 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 18.0 mg
    6%
    Sodium 118.9 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.0 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 3.9 g
    15%
    Sugars 15.8 g
    63%
    Protein 4.0 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes