18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I used turbinado instead of brown sugar plus a little honey. I didn't have buttermilk so I used regular milk with a little sour cream. I didn't have raisins. I doubled it then split into 3 parts and added chocolate chips to one (pretty good), frozen blueberries and raspberries to one (good), and date chunks and coconut flakes to the third (very good! So yummy, I will only do this one in the future) The doubled recipe made 3 dozen muffins and they took only 28 minutes to cook.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
xtinabeans May 22, 2013

Check out my review of Orange Bran Flax Muffins,which is the same recipe from Prevention. My modification (no flour) makes these muffins tastier and much, much moister. These are a favorite at my home and receive rave reviews when I bring them to brunches or to the office to share.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Suzy Snoflake July 30, 2009

eugh. I dont know what i did wrong, but these were so flavourless i couldnt even choke them down. -shudders-

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I Can't Believe It's Healthy May 20, 2008

What I really like about these muffins is their texture. The brans and flax seeds make this very tasty, with a bit of a crunch. I substituted spelt flour for the all-purpose and they turned out fine. I'm happy to have something so healthy and delicious in my freezer. THANKS!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
veggie_mama January 30, 2007

The original recipe does not call for using the orange peel--just the orange. I also substitute extra light olive oil (the one recommended for baking) for the oil. And finally, I'm not a big raisin fan, so I like to divide the batter in half substituting dates and walnuts for the raisins in one half and substituting chocolate chips for the raisins in the other half. The chocolate chips help my kids like this otherwise very healthy muffin! Delicious! (These freeze great!)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2jan December 19, 2005

I wasn't expecting these to turn out wonderfully, but they did. They smelled so good in the oven! These are the best healthy muffin recipe I've tried thus far that didn't have banana in it. I did make a few changes. I have tons of in season strawberries, so I replaced the 2 oranges with 3 cups of diced strawberries. It turned out fine. I think I'll try blueberries when they come in season. I also used olive oil for the oil and 1 extra-large egg white in place of the egg. I left out the raisins and added 1 1/2 tsp. nutmeg. They only required 28 minutes in the oven. These are surprisingly moist and as my 2 year-old said, "These are very tasty."

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShaGun April 12, 2005

Fabulous muffins! With all of the very healthy ingredients in these, you wouldn't think they'd be so light and tender and GOOD! The combination of brown sugar, fresh oranges and raisins make these pretty sweet, and the bran gives them a bit of texture but the result is not at all heavy. I filled the muffin cups pretty full and got 16. These are sure to be a standard at my house. Oh, I almost forgot..the kids loved them!! Thanks, Wendy10, for a super recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama January 22, 2005

Fantastic Muffin!! These have a wonderful orangey flavor and are nice and moist and tender. And healthy too? Gotta love it! I made a few subs- I had no oat bran, so I used all wheat bran instead; I subbed whole wheat pastry flour for the white (although I think that you would be fine using regular whole wheat in these too); I used an organic valencia orange rather than a navel (be sure to seed it!); substitued the brown sugar with Sucanat (in essence, organic natural brown sugar) and I didn't have golden rasins on hand, so I used monukka raisins instead (they're just regular black raisins, really, with a fancy name). I flaked and pretty much pureed the orange, but it turned out just fine! Great, great muffins. Next time I will try dried cranberries instead of the raisins, as orange and cranberries go so well together. Maybe add some spices (cinnamon, for sure, would be great in these) or nuts. Perhaps some vanilla extract or orange blossom water (I have a big bottle that I'm trying to use) I followed PaulaG's lead and filled my muffin cups very full, because you're right- these don't rise much. I only got 10 muffins for a half recipe. Really terrific- such a sunny citrus flavor! Oh! I would HIGHLY recommend that anyone who makes this makes it a point to use organic oranges- citrus is one of the foods most highly sprayed with pesticides, and since you're eating the peel in this recipe, you really ought to be careful! Thank you for a great recipe, will make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roosie November 23, 2004
Addictive Healthy Muffins