10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very different couscous but yet so delicious. Made it with olive oil and without pine nuts; I didn't have any. I really liked the fruity taste, the sweetness of the apricots combined with the sourness of the currants and strong flavor of orange.Till now I only had Taboulleh, so this is a nice change.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littlemafia November 16, 2009

Excellent thanks Karen. i used the orange zest, toasted pine nuts and chicken stock powder. I always use cranberries rather than currants (a personal preferance) and especially love them in couscous.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustJanS March 17, 2009

Yummy, yummy! I made this last evening to go along with some Chermoula meatballs. Each part of the meal benefited from the other. One fruity and light, the other spicy and rich. Couscous is marvelous because it can be made with so many flavors and moods. This one would so easy to enjoy as a summer lunch as well as a side. I made it by the recipe and loved each bite.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia December 09, 2013

Delicious and I wish I had an orange to have put the zest in as I think it would have made it even better. The only thing I didn't add was coriander and I had a large serving left over. We had it with JustJanS's Pan-Fried Salmon With Warm Chilli ( Chili ) Lime Sauce). Thank you Karen Elizabeth, made for Make My Recipe Edition 15.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat September 30, 2011

I really like the way this came together. So easy and so tasty. I love all the texture and the different flavors. I made it exactly as written and wouldn't change a thing. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ihvhope November 13, 2010

This is very good and easy to make. It smells delicious too! Reviewed for the Veg*n Recipe Swap.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mliss29 February 24, 2010

This couscous has great flavor. I used pinenuts, the orange rind and half butter, half olive oil. I made it for mother's day with Potato and Onion Frittata and everyone loved it. Made for Veg N Swap 10.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FrVanilla May 11, 2009

This was very tasty and super easy. I didn't change the ingredients (except to leave out the cilantro) but made a change to the cooking method. I have a different couscous with dried fruit recipe and followed the cooking method for that: bring the water to a boil with the orange zest, bouillon, sugar, currants and butter, stir in the couscous, cover, remove from the heat to sit for 6 minutes. Fluff and add the remaining ingredients. I used veg. Better Than Bouillon and next time will reduce the amount as it is stronger than your average bouillon - after tasting, I ended up adding some melted apricot marmalade to offset the bouillon flavor. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
flower7 April 11, 2009

This is delicious and easy. I love the addition of fruit to a savory dish. Thanks for posting, Karen.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Recipe Reader March 19, 2009

Yummy! I'm a lazy non-vegetarian so in lieu of the veggie stock powder and water I used boiling chicken broth. I can't find dried currants anywhere (looked in three states!), so I had to omit those as well, which bummed me out because I love currants! Tasted it hot and it was yummy, but I did prefer it on the side of lukewarm to cool. Thanks again Karen E, from your fellow Karin E!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Three Kids Make Me Crazy February 01, 2009
Add a Little Interest With Persian Couscous