Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Acorn Squash Stuffed With Sausage and Sour Cream Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Acorn Squash Stuffed With Sausage and Sour Cream

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on October 31, 2013

      Two of us were eating - one of us does not like squash, both of us thought this was great.<br/>I followed the recipe as written, but halved it since there was only one lonely squash in the bowl.<br/>The recipe was so easy to prepare, I'm sure I will be making it again.<br/>Thank you for this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2011

      A great savory dish just in time for Autumn. I made this with hot Italian pork sausage, onion, mushrooms, and celery plus salt, pepper, garlic powder, and parsley. The sour cream is a must and I can see how cream cheese would be a good option as well. The stuffing is amazing! Didn't season the squash because we mixed it up with the stuffing in the skin while it cooled down.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2010

      Absolutely love the stuffing! The sour cream really makes it. I used spicy sausage and I love the contrast with the sweetness of the squash.

      I was afraid like another reviewer that I would need to add a little butter to the squash, but the stuffing has so much flavor I didn't find I needed it.

      I may try making it with lowfat ingredients next time because I bet that will be great too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2010

      This was easy to put together and tasted good. My husband wanted butter on the squash, but otherwise I wouldn't change anything (I didn't think it needed it...) I used mild bulk pork sausage.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2009

      I can say that the filling is very good even though there is no cheese in it. I used fat-free sour cream. It's great mixed with the sausages (I used spicy), mushrooms and onion. The only thing I didn't like is the acorn squash. It was my first time tasting it and I won't buy it. I think it's too sweet for my taste. Thanks Lainey :) Made for Photo tag. I would do the filling to use with spaghetti squash. It would be delish :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2008

      I've made this a couple times and I just love it. I love winter squash without all the sweet stuff added. One of the times I made it I didn't have mushrooms so I substituted shredded carrots and celery. It was very good, though I prefer the mushrooms. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2008

      Great concept! I ended up using ground turkey, sweet onions, and red bell peppers with low fat sour cream (that's all I had on hand) and it came out fantastic. Thanks for such a wonderful idea!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2008

      Such a surprisingly good dish - agree that the combination of ingredients is not something I would normally think to use, but so glad I tried this recipe! I pre-cooked the acorn squash in the crockpot (whole) as I hate cutting squashes -- they are so hard! My husband, who will never try squash, actually hate half a squash, because the sausage was included. A keeper! (Both my husband, AND the recipe!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2008

      Very well done, Lainey. Not a thing to complain about here. All the flavors combined well. Only thing I added was a sprinkle of paprika for added color. Will have this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2008

      I would have never thought to put these ingredients together, but I am mad about it! The sweetness of the squah with the zestiness of the sausage, earthiness of the mushrooms and creaminess of the sour cream work spectacularly together! I did add a very generous dash of garlic powder to the sausage mixture will browning it, and with the sour cream I stirred in about 1/2 c. freshly shredded parmesan and some chopped parsley. I was in heaven while eating it. Just so incredibly good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2007

      This was really good and quite simple to make. Baked the squash and sausage in the morning and put them together in the afternoon for lunch. Topped with smoked cheddar cheese and zapped them in the microwave. Great make ahead dish that can make weeknight meals a snap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Acorn Squash Stuffed With Sausage and Sour Cream

    Serving Size: 1 (424 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 561.4
     
    Calories from Fat 386
    68%
    Total Fat 42.9 g
    66%
    Saturated Fat 17.2 g
    86%
    Cholesterol 92.2 mg
    30%
    Sodium 1104.2 mg
    46%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.6 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 4.0 g
    16%
    Sugars 2.8 g
    11%
    Protein 17.3 g
    34%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites