11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I can say that the filling is very good even though there is no cheese in it. I used fat-free sour cream. It's great mixed with the sausages (I used spicy), mushrooms and onion. The only thing I didn't like is the acorn squash. It was my first time tasting it and I won't buy it. I think it's too sweet for my taste. Thanks Lainey :) Made for Photo tag. I would do the filling to use with spaghetti squash. It would be delish :D

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette October 05, 2009

Great concept! I ended up using ground turkey, sweet onions, and red bell peppers with low fat sour cream (that's all I had on hand) and it came out fantastic. Thanks for such a wonderful idea!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
citygirl716 October 03, 2008

Two of us were eating - one of us does not like squash, both of us thought this was great.<br/>I followed the recipe as written, but halved it since there was only one lonely squash in the bowl.<br/>The recipe was so easy to prepare, I'm sure I will be making it again.<br/>Thank you for this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
N@ October 31, 2013

A great savory dish just in time for Autumn. I made this with hot Italian pork sausage, onion, mushrooms, and celery plus salt, pepper, garlic powder, and parsley. The sour cream is a must and I can see how cream cheese would be a good option as well. The stuffing is amazing! Didn't season the squash because we mixed it up with the stuffing in the skin while it cooled down.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cooking_neko83 November 05, 2011

Absolutely love the stuffing! The sour cream really makes it. I used spicy sausage and I love the contrast with the sweetness of the squash.

I was afraid like another reviewer that I would need to add a little butter to the squash, but the stuffing has so much flavor I didn't find I needed it.

I may try making it with lowfat ingredients next time because I bet that will be great too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
unicornbeauty November 16, 2010

This was easy to put together and tasted good. My husband wanted butter on the squash, but otherwise I wouldn't change anything (I didn't think it needed it...) I used mild bulk pork sausage.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evewitch January 07, 2010

I've made this a couple times and I just love it. I love winter squash without all the sweet stuff added. One of the times I made it I didn't have mushrooms so I substituted shredded carrots and celery. It was very good, though I prefer the mushrooms. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetySJD December 28, 2008

Such a surprisingly good dish - agree that the combination of ingredients is not something I would normally think to use, but so glad I tried this recipe! I pre-cooked the acorn squash in the crockpot (whole) as I hate cutting squashes -- they are so hard! My husband, who will never try squash, actually hate half a squash, because the sausage was included. A keeper! (Both my husband, AND the recipe!)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Viclynn September 26, 2008

Very well done, Lainey. Not a thing to complain about here. All the flavors combined well. Only thing I added was a sprinkle of paprika for added color. Will have this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darkhunter June 14, 2008

I would have never thought to put these ingredients together, but I am mad about it! The sweetness of the squah with the zestiness of the sausage, earthiness of the mushrooms and creaminess of the sour cream work spectacularly together! I did add a very generous dash of garlic powder to the sausage mixture will browning it, and with the sour cream I stirred in about 1/2 c. freshly shredded parmesan and some chopped parsley. I was in heaven while eating it. Just so incredibly good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle S. February 06, 2008
Acorn Squash Stuffed With Sausage and Sour Cream