11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I prepared this using butternut squash. I did the browned butter, honey and sage variation with great results. It was so good with our dinner. This will be enjoyed by us many times. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LindaInNH January 17, 2009

WOW! I have been looking for a great recipe for acorn squash but had not previously found one that was as delicious as recipes for other types of squash. This one, however, knocked our socks off! I used the browned honey butter and sage option and everyone was amazed at how savory and delicious this was. It really brought out the flavors of the squash. Our family knows all about Zaar now from the great recipes I find here and they all said unanimously to "Give it 5 stars!" :) Thanks for the great recipes!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
riversanctuary October 30, 2008

My five-and-three-quarters year old said she "likes it better than chocolate!" Enough said. (Thank you.)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GirlyJu August 03, 2008

I've eaten more acorn and butternut squash in the last few weeks than in the last year. I tried each of the four toppings and as I did I couldn't help wondering what different combinations would taste like. For instance adding freshly grated and smashed ginger to the Maple-Bacon topping or substituting Jalapeno jelly for the honey in the Browned butter-sage topping or my favorite wierd idea, 1 TBS of good wheat free soy sauce to the Ginger Marmalade-Chili flake topping. What a great recipe to play around with. It comes out right no matter what you do or maybe because of it. Thanx for posting this great recipe. Pierre

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pierre Dance September 26, 2007

I tried the Marmalade and Jalapeno version of this. It was really good! We will definitely have this again!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme July 05, 2006

I used the browned butter, honey and sage option and loved the subtle flavor infused into the squash. We love acorn squash and serve it frequently during the fall and winter months. I can't wait to try some of the other options.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms B. November 06, 2005

I followed the trend and also made the browned butter honey and sage topping. This was so good and so easy to make! The sage was a perfect complement to the squash! We love squash and will make this again and again!Thanks Bergy! Once again, another winner!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NcMysteryShopper March 15, 2005

I can really only comment on the browned butter, honey, and sage variant, but it was wonderful. I hadn't had acorn squash since I was a kid, and this was a great way to return to it. The sage went very well with the flavor of the acorn squash, but wasn't overpowering. I have another squash in the fridge, and next time I think I'll try a different variant.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lise F December 13, 2004

This was the first time I had Acorn squash as she shop had run out of Butternut squash and I thouroughly enjoyed this recipe. I used the browned butter, honey and sage glaze and it was delicious. My squash was quite small so I only used 1 tbsp of butter and 1 tbsp of honey and I still had plenty of glaze, so even when I make it again with a bigger squash I probably stick with half the recipe. I was also tempted to try the maple syrup one but didn't have any in, so I'll do that one next time! Thanks for sharing Bergy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
-Sylvie- November 29, 2004

I made this recipe using the browned butter honey and sage. We really liked the taste of this very quick and easy topping for acorn squash. I am going to make this again using the marmalade and jalapeno topping. Thanks Bergy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bullwinkle November 17, 2004
Acorn Squash for 2