8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

A great way to use up Spam. I made a lot of changes (I used a lot less sauce, less eggs and less rice, and added/removed ingredients), but your basic recipe is a keeper. I've made Spam fried rice twice already, using this recipe as template. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rpgaymer April 10, 2014

This is a good basic recipe, I don't usually add sugar, but it is a good idea to cut the bitterness from the soy. I use a bit more oyster sauce. Instead of scrambling the eggs. I have made sweet eggs. 6 eggs, 1 tbl soysauce, 1-2 tsp sugar. Heat 2tbl of cannola oil in frying pan on medium heat. Mix together all the ingredients in a small bowl and pour into heated pan. Cook over medium heat (it takes a while), gently pushing the sides of the egg toward the center and tipping the pan to get the liquid to the outer edge. Slow cooking gives you a fluffier omelet. When most of the liquid is gone. Flip the omelet or put pan in the oven until the eggs are set. The bottom of the omelet should not be brown. Slide omelet out of the pan to a cutting board and cut the omelet into thin strips and set aside. Besides spam, other meats can be added like char siu, kamabuko (fishcake),shrimp, diced pork or chicken. The meats can be cooked at the same time as the spam except if you are using shrimp add it just before adding the rice. Add the thawed peas and carrots or mixed vegetables, rice and seasonings. I use more oyster sauce. Transfer to serving bowl and top with eggs and green onions. It always works better if the rice is cooked the day before or old rice that has been stored in the freezer.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amy in Hawaii February 04, 2014

Great recipe and easy to prepare. Highly recommend as a dish to bring to a party as it makes plenty to share.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kristina S. November 24, 2013

I've made this 4 or 5 times now. It's so good, and if you've never had SPAM before, this is a good way to try it. Love the sesame oil in it. I like it really spicy, so I use a bit more Sriracha than the recipe calls for. It's the recipe I go to when I want to make something quick with lots of flavor. You can also eat this for breakfast no problem.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SueAz09 August 15, 2011

I liked this a lot. I made it healthier of course. I used brown rice instead of white, splenda instead of sugar, PAM spray instead of any oil, and light soy sauce instead of regular soy sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
laaranyita1 January 15, 2010

I wanted to update and up my rating. I have made this many times since my first review, over a year ago and my family loves it. We now have a kosher kitchen however which makes SPAM a no no. Kosher hot dogs are a great replacement as is kosher salami. ;) Origional review: Pretty good. This makes more than any one family needs in a year LOL but everyone seemed to enjoy it even my spam hating husband. I cooked the spam nice and brown and crisp around the edges. I used less of the peas and carrots but added a small can each of baby corn, sliced water chestnuts, bamboo shoots, and bean sprouts. I also left out the yellow onion but added green onion with the other veggies. All in all it was very good. A meal in itself but I served it with egg rolls. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ilysse March 28, 2009

i didnt have any onion, peas, or carrots so i left it out. i used kikkoman soy sauce with 6 Tbsp of sugar, 5 tsp. of minced garlic, and 3 eggs bc thats all i had. i also used the hot & spicy tabasco SPAM. before i cooked the spam i seasoned it with McCormicks BBQ seasoning. at the end i added some black pepper.this was so delicious! kinda sweet but very good. next time ill add less sugar. even my picky 1 and 2 yr.old loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EAT2live&LIVE2eat November 08, 2008

Not bad! The balance of flavors was yummy and satisfying. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~*~flour*power~*~ June 11, 2008
Absolutely the Best Spam Fried Rice