Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Absolutely the Best Southern Sweet Tea Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Absolutely the Best Southern Sweet Tea

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on November 22, 2012

      I forgot to get some sweet tea for the southern girl coming to Thanksgiving at our house so I decided to make some. Didn't have any cheap tea and only had 1/2 gal pitcher. Dissolved 2/3 cup sugar in some boiling water, added to superhot tap water to make 1/2 gal. Threw in 3 Earl Grey tea bags and let sit out about 15 minutes, then put in fridge for about 3 hours. Can't really review how it turned out - it was sweet and tea flavored, but I'm from Michigan!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2010

      Speaking from experience...from the Deep South Mississippi. It is also important you STEEP the hot tea bags in water before you put in the fridge. Sugar content is right on!! Of course the secret to good sweet tea is dissolving the sugar before refrigeration.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2014

      I love this recipe, but I've changed it up a little: 1 Gallon Hot Tap Water, 4 Decaf tea bags, 4 Regular tea bags ( I prefer Lipton) and 1 1/2 Cups of Granulated Sugar. Let set on counter top for an hour, then refrigerate for 8-10 hrs. Remove tea bags and enjoy a heavenly glass of Southern Sweet Tea. I make 2 1/2 gallons every other day and there are just three of us. Two of us really drink the tea! That's how good it is. I'm known in my circle for my super Southern Iced Tea!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2010

      I love this recipe because you make it and are done. I usually let the tea stepp, then add the sugar, then refridgerate it but I have been wanting to simplify it because it takes so long! I left the tea bags in overnight- too long- so I won't be doing that again! This has a great taste!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2010

      I'm loving sweet tea and this is really really good. I cut the sugar back to just 1 cup and it was just right. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2009

      You make yours similar to mine but I add a couple of cranberry tea bags and mint leaves.. For a great punch check out my veranda tea punch

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2009

      This is much better than my usual way of making iced tea. Thanks for a new keeper! I used Splenda instead of sugar which worked just fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2009

      Move over "Sun Tea" this is the BEST! Loved this! Just delicious, and brought me right back to my Southern roots! Thanks 2Bleu!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2009

      This was great and really refreshing! I thought it was perfect :) Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2009

      This is very good tea! My friend made me sweet tea and shared that she boiled the sugar with the tea bags - so I went searching for a recipe like that on the Zaar and lucked out to find it. :) Very nice on a hot summer day!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2009

      Very nice and so good on a hot summr day! Thanks! Made for the Summer Comfort Cafe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2009

      Really delicious, especially on a 90 degree day! I had never made sweet tea before. My kids seem to love it (I made a decaf version).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2009

      This is the BEST sweet tea recipe! Delicious! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2009

      made this this afternoon for company. My husband does NOT drink tea. Coffee, by the pot, but not tea. I've never seen him drink it before. He got a wild hair and had 2 glasses. Said it was REALLY good. (He added equal packets-2--def not needed, but whatever...) I tried it and have to agree. Recipe is perfect and easy to follow. I love it! Will add to favorites.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2009

      I tried it yesterday and it is the best tea that I have ever made. I love tea but have never been able to get it to taste like the restaurants. This was very easy and satisfying. The family loved it. I made a gallon yesterday and there's only a cup or 2 left. Thanks much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2008

      Excellent southern Sweet Tea. I cut the recipe in half also to fit my picture. Followed the directions with the exception of replacing the sugar with splenda, adding a slice of lemon and it was perfect. Mine came out much darker than the photos already posted, but it was not too strong for us. Thanks for sharing. Made for SSC Pet Parade

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2008

      Cut the recipe in half to fit my pitcher. Have made 6 or 7 batches already and it sure beats spending the moolah on Arizona's Southern Sweet Tea....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2008

      Ok you're right - this is the best sweet tea! Easy, fresh and clear, and just the right amount of sweet - yum! Thanks for sharing your method!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2008

      This was the best tea....e.v.e.r. I did this exactly as the recipe required ~ as a "Hot" day in the mid/April came upon us on the farm. We had the time of our life ~ we were hot, sweaty, and parched. This made such a great, great treat. I added a bit of fresh lemon to the top and we were all set. I grabbed this glass away so I could take a photo of it. Easy to put together, you should follow this exactly....and change nothing :D Made for *Spring Spectacular* 2008.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2008

      Followed your directions exactly and DH agrees, this is the absolutely best southern sweet tea. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Absolutely the Best Southern Sweet Tea

    Serving Size: 1 (676 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 171.9
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 19.4 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.4 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 44.3 g
    177%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    tea bags

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes