64 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent, I served this for dessert on valentines day together with a berry fruit salad. I also topped the cake with blueberries and some crumbed dark chocolate for decoration. I reduced the cream cheese to 3 8oz pkgs and sugar to 1 cup and it turned out perfectly.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lisav February 18, 2009

Delicious cheesecake. I made it in three mini heart shaped springform pans for valentines day. I cut the recipe in half and still had some leftover, so know that this recipe makes a HUGE cheesecake. I also made a graham cracker crust using Graham Cracker Crust. I made one plain, one marbled with about 1/3 cup melted semi-sweet chocolate chips, and one marbled strawberry with seedless jam. My boyfriend said that it was one of the best cheesecakes he had ever had. Because I was making smaller cheesecakes I only cooked at 250 for an hour and I didn't bother with the tinfoil and didn't have any trouble. Thanks so much Bird!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KellyMac6 February 16, 2009

Wonderful! I served this twice: first time plain without topping; delicious! second time with Jelled Strawberry Topping for Cheesecake; equally delicious! I love that it's crustless, and so did my guests, many of whom don't like cheesecakes with crust (although for the record, I still prefer a cheesecake with a graham cracker and butter crumb crust!). Thanks, 2Bleu! Made for PRMR.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mersaydees February 13, 2009

Featured in my Book#237470. Originally reviewed on Nov. 28, 2008. Perfect in every respect! I made 1/4 of recipe in my 5 inch spring form pan. I baked at 375 degrees for 30 minutes, and for the second phase when temperature was reduced to 250 degrees I baked it for 75 minutes, checked the temperature of cheesecake with digital thermometer and it was 145 degrees so removed it from the oven. Served ours with raspberries and a bit of raspberry sauce-yummy and beautiful! Thanks 2Bleu for posting another fantastic recipe! Another update-made this a second time and b/c we were going to be gone hiking in beautiful Utah during Thanksgiving I made this ahead, (son Ben requested this recipe) froze, and defrosted in refrigerator when we returned. It was super!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WiGal January 25, 2009

I made this to take to Christmas Eve dinner with my family. Everyone loved it. It is so creamy and just absolutely perfect. I didn't miss the crust at all. I ate mine just the way it was without topping, but I did serve some blueberry pie filling on the side for those who wanted it. This is the only plain cheesecake recipe you need. This is absolutely a keeper. The detailed instructions were so helpful especially since I am a first time cheesecake maker. (Definitely not first time cheesecake eater though :) ) I had trouble with the waxed paper though. I couldn't get the sides to still fit the bottom with the layer of waxed paper...I wrestled with it for quite a while and finally gave up. (If there was a fly on the wall I'm sure he was laughing at me!) Everything turned out fine though. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe 2Bleu!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shelby Jo December 29, 2008

Wonderfully, creamily light and melt-in-your-mouth delicious. Foolproof, easy to follow instructions: always a huge plus. I'll take the word of the New Yawkas and those who've eaten New York Cheesecake in New York that this is totally authentic! Loved it and so did the couple of friends who got to sample my scaled down first time making this recipe cheesecake. I'm making a full-sized one for Christmas Eve. Thank you so much for sharing this delicious recipe, Bird. Love lemon but for my Christmas Eve one, I'm going to follow DeSouter's suggestion and make it with a liqueur. Made for PRMR.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder December 20, 2008

Bird, I can just say WOW! This cheesecake is silky and smooth, and it has a light texture. I didn't bother to check the temps, but just followed the instructions for time and heat. It worked out perfectly. The cheesecake didn't crack on cave in the middle. The recipe does not say what size pan to use, so I guessed from the amount of ingredients to use my big springform pan. I made a turtle topping for serving. Made and Reviewed for Please Review My Recipe tag - Thanks! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LilPinkieJ December 11, 2008

Where to begin! The instructions you gave were phenomenal. I followed them to a T, and made the most beautiful cheesecake I have ever managed to bake, by far. No one believed that it was homemade. And then the taste! Once everyone tasted it they surely thought it was a professionally baked cake! It was superb! Creamy and light, not dense like so many cheesecakes I've made in the past. THIS was the texture I've been trying for for years. The only changes I made to the recipe was to cut the lemon juice down to 1/2 tsp and up the vanilla to 1 tsp. Just personal preference. Also, I separated the egg yolks from the whites. I added the egg yolks when specified, but whipped the egg whites into stiff peaks before folding them in just before pouring the batter into the pan. I also made a graham cracker crust for the cheesecake as I like a little crust. I followed the baking instructions exactly as written and it turned out beautifully. Thank you SO much Bird for posting this incredible recipe. It's my new perfect cheesecake!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Monkey28 October 21, 2008

You would not believe the raves I receive from this cheesecake! People think I am a genius but little do they know how easy it is to make. I use 2 eggs and 2 egg yolks and make a simple cookie crust. I use the same fat daddio pan(8x4-not springform) as ams007. Line it with parchment paper. I have also halved the recipe and used a parchment lined 6x3 pan. I always top with fresh fruit and glazed with melted apple jelly and a bit of water. SO GOOD!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sheilam_93823341 June 16, 2014

Made this for my 23 year old's birthday celebration. It was a major hit. Kept hearing "Best cheesecake I ever had!"

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chesapeake Celiac June 02, 2013
Absolutely the Best New York Cheesecake (Gluten-Free)