64 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

THANK YOU!

I am a New Yorker who knows Cheesecake and this is the recipe I have been looking for. In my opinion, these tweaks make it PERFECT.

-Ditch the lemon juice, taste is better without it
-Ditch the Springform Pan - THEY LEAK 99.9% of the time & crust always gets soggy.
-More yolks, I use 3 large eggs plus 3 additional yolks
-Cooking method:

I use an 8" X 4" Fat Daddios round pan (Amazon) because I like tall cheesecakes. Line bottom (I buy 8" round pre-cut parchment paper) and sides with parchment paper after spraying the pan lightly with Pam cooking spray so that the paper sticks. I add my crust and refrigerate the pan. About 30 minutes later, I add filling and bake (in water bath) at 250 degrees for 2 hours 50 minutes. Low and Slow.

I let it cool for a few hours on the counter top and then refrigerate. Next day, I put it back in a warm water bath for a minute to loosen the cake from the pan and flip it onto a flat plate - a little tapping on bottom may be necessary for it to slide out. Then I flip it a second time onto a 2nd flat plate or serving tray. The parchment paper on bottom usually stays in the pan and the parchment paper on the sides just peels off.

Beautiful looking and spectacular tasting. PERFECT EVERY TIME. If you do it this way one time, you will never do it any other way.

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ams007 October 22, 2011

Absolutely the best? I don't think so. This was rather bland and tasted ok at best. What a looooong list of unnessesary steps! I think this one needs a little more tweaking before it's ready for prime time. Thanks anyway.

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shrimplover August 09, 2011

This is the BEST cheesecake recipe! It is so moist and creamy. Not dry or heavy feeling at all. I put a gluten free shortbread cookie crust on the bottom as my family prefers having a crust. I didn't have enough cream cheese so I halved the recipe. I followed the temps for the two different baking times, but changed the baking times. I kept the first at 30 minutes, but halved the second time. We didn't want to wait 4 hours to let it cool in the fridge so we let it cool on a rack for 20 minutes or so then stuck it in the freezer for about an hour before we dove in! Thank you 2Bleu. I can stop looking for a cheesecake recipe! I found my go-to cheesecake dessert!!!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SchnauzerMama January 12, 2011

Very good! I only had 2 pkgs of cream cheese, so I made a smaller batch and spooned it into buttered custard cups. Placed custard cups into a baking pan with water and baked them for 20min at first temp and 1hr 15 min at second temp. Cooled the mini cheesecakes and covered them with GANACHE . . . . OH MY GOSH . . . Very good! Thanks for sharing!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AlwaysRosie January 21, 2010

Outstanding in every way. The directions: superb. The taste: out of this world. My husband's been on an *extremely* low-fat, heart-healthy diet since heart disease was diagnosed last June. He turned 70 yesterday. I figured it was time to give him a taste treat, and cheesecake is his favorite. Only he's rather particular about the kind of cheesecake he likes. I decided after looking at a dozen recipes that yours was the one I'd try. What an excellent choice. I hated to think of him 'wasting' fat grams on a mediocre cheesecake. Not a chance with your recipe. I added a graham cracker crust bottom b/c we both like those, and he likes sour cream tops, so I mixed a cup of sour cream and a 1/4 cup of sugar and put it on top when it was done baking. Left it in the oven for another 10 minutes, turned the heat back up to 375 for that time. Even without those two embellishments, this would have scored a perfect 10, though. Thank you for the work you put into this. You da bomb.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FanciMcG March 22, 2011

I was a little intimidated by the springform pan and the water bath. I had never done a water bath before and I don't have a springform pan, but I just improvised with a pie pan and a large cast iron skillet with about an inch of water in it. WOW. It all turned out so well and I was SHOCKED by how easy it was to make! I topped it with dark chocolate ganache and fresh strawberries! Such an easy, elegant, and delicious dessert!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joyful Kitchen March 09, 2011

Jumped on the bandwagon and tried this one. But I used a strip of parchment paper around the edges and stuck it on with butter. No need for trying to get the cake off the sides. The paper just peels off after being cooled. Other than that I followed the recipe. EXCELLENT! For others who don't like a crust this one is the perfect recipe for you! Thanks Bird, XOXOXO

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eednolb2 September 01, 2008

Wow! Unbelievably creamy and custard-like in texture. This is very different from the more dense recipes that I have tried, but it was perfect in every way. The cheesecake literally melts in your mouth and has a very silky texture in both appearance and taste. My only critique of the recipe is that there is no mention of what size pan to use. Judging by the large volume of batter, I decided to use a 10 inch pan and if filled right up to the top. I added a tablespoon of cornstarch to the batter because I find that it helps stabilize the batter and prevents cracking or uneven expansion of a cheesecake which can cause it to collapse in the middle. I wish I would have taken a picture of the cheesecake before I poured ganache over it, because it was the most lovely, smooth and even top that I have ever accomplished! To make this extra special, I made a chocolate graham cracker crust and divided the batter in half. I added 6 oz of melted bittersweet chocolate to one half and left the other vanilla (though white chocolate would have been awesome I think) and carefully poured the chocolate portion on the bottom and spooned the vanilla slowly over the chocolate portion. After this baked and cooled I made a chocolate ganache and poured it over the top. The result was a lovely black and white cheesecake. It was scrumptious, and my cheesecake aficionado dh said it was the very best he has ever had. You really have perfected this recipe and your clear instructions were very useful. I decorated the cake with melted white chocolate for Father's Day and it was a huge hit. This will be THE cheesecake recipe I use from now on and I thank you so much for posting!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shimmerchk June 17, 2008

This cheesecake is absolutely amazing. It is so light and fluffy, and bakes up beautifully. I added a graham cracker crust to mine because my family prefers their cheesecakes that way. I believe this is the first cheesecake I've made that hasn't cracked on top. Perfectly sweet and creamy. Thank you so much 2Bleu, I will be using this recipe over and over!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sugar Fairy April 08, 2012

This cheesecake is fantastic! It is light and creamy and melts in your mouth. My 8 year old grandson says it tastes like a famous restaurant's cheesecake (but he didn't know which one lol). We didn't miss the crust either. I am going to try substituting stevia for the sugar for my diabetic family members.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MyndiS June 27, 2011
Absolutely the Best New York Cheesecake (Gluten-Free)