Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Absolutely the Best New York Cheesecake (Gluten-Free) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Absolutely the Best New York Cheesecake (Gluten-Free)

    Average Rating:

    64 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 64

    Sort by:

    • on August 09, 2011

      Absolutely the best? I don't think so. This was rather bland and tasted ok at best. What a looooong list of unnessesary steps! I think this one needs a little more tweaking before it's ready for prime time. Thanks anyway.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2011

      THANK YOU!

      I am a New Yorker who knows Cheesecake and this is the recipe I have been looking for. In my opinion, these tweaks make it PERFECT.

      -Ditch the lemon juice, taste is better without it
      -Ditch the Springform Pan - THEY LEAK 99.9% of the time & crust always gets soggy.
      -More yolks, I use 3 large eggs plus 3 additional yolks
      -Cooking method:

      I use an 8" X 4" Fat Daddios round pan (Amazon) because I like tall cheesecakes. Line bottom (I buy 8" round pre-cut parchment paper) and sides with parchment paper after spraying the pan lightly with Pam cooking spray so that the paper sticks. I add my crust and refrigerate the pan. About 30 minutes later, I add filling and bake (in water bath) at 250 degrees for 2 hours 50 minutes. Low and Slow.

      I let it cool for a few hours on the counter top and then refrigerate. Next day, I put it back in a warm water bath for a minute to loosen the cake from the pan and flip it onto a flat plate - a little tapping on bottom may be necessary for it to slide out. Then I flip it a second time onto a 2nd flat plate or serving tray. The parchment paper on bottom usually stays in the pan and the parchment paper on the sides just peels off.

      Beautiful looking and spectacular tasting. PERFECT EVERY TIME. If you do it this way one time, you will never do it any other way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2011

      This is the BEST cheesecake recipe! It is so moist and creamy. Not dry or heavy feeling at all. I put a gluten free shortbread cookie crust on the bottom as my family prefers having a crust. I didn't have enough cream cheese so I halved the recipe. I followed the temps for the two different baking times, but changed the baking times. I kept the first at 30 minutes, but halved the second time. We didn't want to wait 4 hours to let it cool in the fridge so we let it cool on a rack for 20 minutes or so then stuck it in the freezer for about an hour before we dove in! Thank you 2Bleu. I can stop looking for a cheesecake recipe! I found my go-to cheesecake dessert!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2010

      Very good! I only had 2 pkgs of cream cheese, so I made a smaller batch and spooned it into buttered custard cups. Placed custard cups into a baking pan with water and baked them for 20min at first temp and 1hr 15 min at second temp. Cooled the mini cheesecakes and covered them with GANACHE . . . . OH MY GOSH . . . Very good! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2011

      Outstanding in every way. The directions: superb. The taste: out of this world. My husband's been on an *extremely* low-fat, heart-healthy diet since heart disease was diagnosed last June. He turned 70 yesterday. I figured it was time to give him a taste treat, and cheesecake is his favorite. Only he's rather particular about the kind of cheesecake he likes. I decided after looking at a dozen recipes that yours was the one I'd try. What an excellent choice. I hated to think of him 'wasting' fat grams on a mediocre cheesecake. Not a chance with your recipe. I added a graham cracker crust bottom b/c we both like those, and he likes sour cream tops, so I mixed a cup of sour cream and a 1/4 cup of sugar and put it on top when it was done baking. Left it in the oven for another 10 minutes, turned the heat back up to 375 for that time. Even without those two embellishments, this would have scored a perfect 10, though. Thank you for the work you put into this. You da bomb.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2011

      I was a little intimidated by the springform pan and the water bath. I had never done a water bath before and I don't have a springform pan, but I just improvised with a pie pan and a large cast iron skillet with about an inch of water in it. WOW. It all turned out so well and I was SHOCKED by how easy it was to make! I topped it with dark chocolate ganache and fresh strawberries! Such an easy, elegant, and delicious dessert!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2008

      Jumped on the bandwagon and tried this one. But I used a strip of parchment paper around the edges and stuck it on with butter. No need for trying to get the cake off the sides. The paper just peels off after being cooled. Other than that I followed the recipe. EXCELLENT! For others who don't like a crust this one is the perfect recipe for you! Thanks Bird, XOXOXO

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2008

      Wow! Unbelievably creamy and custard-like in texture. This is very different from the more dense recipes that I have tried, but it was perfect in every way. The cheesecake literally melts in your mouth and has a very silky texture in both appearance and taste. My only critique of the recipe is that there is no mention of what size pan to use. Judging by the large volume of batter, I decided to use a 10 inch pan and if filled right up to the top. I added a tablespoon of cornstarch to the batter because I find that it helps stabilize the batter and prevents cracking or uneven expansion of a cheesecake which can cause it to collapse in the middle. I wish I would have taken a picture of the cheesecake before I poured ganache over it, because it was the most lovely, smooth and even top that I have ever accomplished! To make this extra special, I made a chocolate graham cracker crust and divided the batter in half. I added 6 oz of melted bittersweet chocolate to one half and left the other vanilla (though white chocolate would have been awesome I think) and carefully poured the chocolate portion on the bottom and spooned the vanilla slowly over the chocolate portion. After this baked and cooled I made a chocolate ganache and poured it over the top. The result was a lovely black and white cheesecake. It was scrumptious, and my cheesecake aficionado dh said it was the very best he has ever had. You really have perfected this recipe and your clear instructions were very useful. I decorated the cake with melted white chocolate for Father's Day and it was a huge hit. This will be THE cheesecake recipe I use from now on and I thank you so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2012

      This cheesecake is absolutely amazing. It is so light and fluffy, and bakes up beautifully. I added a graham cracker crust to mine because my family prefers their cheesecakes that way. I believe this is the first cheesecake I've made that hasn't cracked on top. Perfectly sweet and creamy. Thank you so much 2Bleu, I will be using this recipe over and over!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2011

      This cheesecake is fantastic! It is light and creamy and melts in your mouth. My 8 year old grandson says it tastes like a famous restaurant's cheesecake (but he didn't know which one lol). We didn't miss the crust either. I am going to try substituting stevia for the sugar for my diabetic family members.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2011

      WOW!!! I wish I could give this recipe six or seven stars! This cheesecake was simply amazing and garnered rave reviews from my guests, one of whom even equated it with Junior's! I can end my search for the perfect cheesecake recipe; I will certainly make this one again and again. Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2011

      Very yummy! Very easy, too. Next time, I might try a crust, though, as my family thoought it would really be better with it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2010

      This was one of the best cheesecakes I've ever tasted! It was light and fluffy, not too sweet, and just melted in your mouth. Made it for a dinner party and it got rave reviews. In fact, my husband thought I bought it and didn't believe me when I said I made it! I used powdered sugar instead of granulated sugar (because I ran out), but other than that, I followed the recipe perfectly. Great recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2010

      This was awesome. I've made this 3 times now and everyone has loved it. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2009

      Made this for Christmas dessert and got rave reviews. My family told me I'm never allowed to make another cheesecake. I did add a graham cracker crust. When I put it in the oven, I was afraid the baking time was too long - I've never cooked one for 2 1/2 hours before. When I took it out, I thought it was too jiggly, but I put it in the fridge and hoped for the best. No one else needs to worry about these times - I definitely got the best cheesecake ever. Thanks, Bird!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2009

      Let me start by saying I HATE cheesecake. Not a littile, a lot. That said. This is one amazing recipe! My cheesecake lovers gobbled it down and said it was the creamiest ever. I made the strawberry jell topping and it was lovely. This looks like a lot of work, but it was really quite easy to put together. My family did miss the crust and have requested I add one next time, so I may try that. This is fabulous as is. Unlike any cheesecake I have ever made or tried, and... here comes the ultimate compliment....I, the cheesecake hater, liked it. I ate just a really little bit, but it was tasty and didn't make me run in the other direction! Which is huge for me with cheesecake! You just might turn me into a fan. 5 easy stars. Thanks for a great one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2009

      Sublime, goes right into my Top Favorites of 2009! Rich and creamy, delight in every bite! This is definitely the best cheesecake I have ever made, and probably the best I have ever eaten (and I used to travel to a central New Jersey diner from Maryland for my previous favorite -- so I am serious about my cheesecake!). Used a 26-cm (10.2")Kaiser springform pan that came with its own carrier, and this batter filled it up; I had bought a 12x18-inch professional baker's pan to provide the water bath. The instructions were very clear, and I was impressed by my crackless cheesecake due to the water bath. I used 2Bleu's Jelled Strawberry Topping for Cheesecake #281130. My slice photo was taken after 7 hours in the refrigerator (4 hours after the topping had been added), in a somewhat soft state; the cheesecake needed much more time to solidify (although no one complained!). I plan to try making the full size again and freezing in quarters, and then making a half-portion of this batter in my pressure cooker as I did with 2Bleu's Just2bleu Lemonberry Cheesecake (By Bird) #264164. It will probably take me about a year to complete my experiments, but DH said he is up to the task. :wink: Made for Please Review My Recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2011

      Listen. This cheesecake is fantastic! The texture, the taste is great!. I've made your cheesecake many times with great results and I thank you! With that said, here is a few qualifiers... I use a graham cracker crust - I use 3 cups ground graham crackers, 1 1/3 cup melted butter, and 2/3 cup sugar. I use a 11 or 12 inch springform pan (I had a set of three and it was the biggest) and bake the crust at 350 for 10 minutes then cool completely. I then follow the rest of the steps completely. When I want to make a variety of a cheesecake (oreo or turtle), I use this base and just follow the ideas for the other recipe (such as Mirj's Chocolate Turtle Cheesecake #13371). If you want to impress someone, this is the one to do it with. The texture is thick and creamy and the cake is tall. This method of a springform pan in a water bath is a common method in finer local restaurants in northeast Ohio. Once you've done it once, its a piece of cake - sorry for the pun...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2009

      This was very creamy.. but for me lacked flavor. Everyone raved about it. the bottome was very soft.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2009

      Love this recipe. I've make it a few times now and I can't just have one peice. This Cheesecake reminds me of a Cheesecake they serve at a little dessert place in Vancouver, Canada called "Cheesecake Etc" This is the closest cheesecake recipe I can find to match it. Thanks for posting this awesome recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Absolutely the Best New York Cheesecake (Gluten-Free)

    Serving Size: 1 (169 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 510.6
     
    Calories from Fat 369
    72%
    Total Fat 41.0 g
    63%
    Saturated Fat 23.1 g
    115%
    Cholesterol 155.8 mg
    51%
    Sodium 444.8 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.1 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 29.4 g
    117%
    Protein 7.4 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites