30 Reviews

I baked this recipe using the changes recommended by "Lisa in Canada," along w/ the addition of chocolate chips, and minus the addition of milk. These ARE absolutely the best gluten-free peanut butter cookies. They are chewy and taste scrumptious! I have to eat gluten-free and I am so glad I found this recipe. It is a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
j.kurzdorfer February 01, 2009

Some of the best cookies I've ever made...and, I bake professionally. Perfect texture & crackled top. I used ! cup Cassava flour (tapioca) and 1/2 cup brown rice flour - I also substituted all og evaporated cane sugar for the two sweeteners. And, I added @ 1 cup of mini chocolate chips. I would have liked a little more peanut butter flavor, I may experiment with adding a bit more next time. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alissakk January 19, 2009

All I can say is... WOW!!! Great cookies! Soft and a lovely peanutty flavor. I added 1 cup gluten free/dairy free chocolate chips, YUM!!! The beginning of the instructions say that you need to have beaters that can handle heavy batter... I just used a cheap electric hand beater, worked fine. i've only recently discovered my celiac disease, so I'm new at this thing. But I've had some AWFUL recipes, and this recipe is so good, my non-celiac bf ate more then I did! LOL!! So, needless to say- this recipe is a keeper!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spreadnjoy June 23, 2008

These are delicious! We smashed them down a bit and then put a piece of gluten free chocolate in the middle for the last two minutes of baking, and they tasted wonderfully like the peanut butter kiss cookies we ate as kids! Thanks so much for this excellent recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fulltime Chef March 04, 2008

Totally impressed!! I used crunchy peanut butter, and for margarine I used soy garden. I also used 3/4 cup brown sugar and no white sugar. It was sweet enough for me. The texture came out soft and chewy. Next time, I may bake it a bit longer since I like cookies more crispy, but I will definitely make this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lil'PG October 21, 2007

Big Fat Mamma is right. This recipe is really good and doesn't have the horrible yeasty flavour of ameranth flour. I cook gluten free for my family but this is the first desert i can accually enjoy with them.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wexlercd October 07, 2007

This recipe is awesome! I didn't use the flours that she used but instead I just use the gluten free flour by Bob's red mill and it taste just like a regular peanut cookie, infact it's better than a regular Peanut Butter Cookie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ThepregnantBaker May 15, 2013

We used 1 T crushed flax seed + 3 T water in place of the egg and added 1/3 C. dark chocolate chips. Delicious! Our whole family, and friends, enjoy them - wheat eaters and gf folks, too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Buschways April 18, 2013

Just wrote a review and realized that I forgot to add the stars! I first made these cookies several years ago, and the family said they loved them. Then I tried making them again the year following, and it seemed that the family didn't like them as much (I used garfava flour). I decided to try them again last night, only I used 1/2 cup sorghum flour, 1/2 cup tapioca, 1/2 cup potato starch. Again, they were a hit! Everyone's taste can run a bit differently when using gluten free flours. I still like the cookies with the garfava flour. I love that I don't have to refrigerate the cookies before baking, great texture, these are my favorite peanut butter cookies!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dfurlong December 11, 2012

These cookie were great! (I used rice flour in lieu of garbanzo bean four) Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luci in Florida July 29, 2012
Absolutely the Best Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies