Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Absolutely the Best Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Absolutely the Best Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on December 09, 2010

      I'm sorry, but we could not get over the bean taste. Maybe different brands of garbanzo bean flour have different taste, but for us, it was too bean-y. Even on day two. Note that many of the good reviews below substituted rice or other flours for the bean flour, and I may give that a try, because they LOOKED fantastic, but they tasted like peanut butter and beans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2009

      These turned out really great - my DH, who has no issues with gluten - said he could not tell at ALL that they were gluten free! I made a few small changes to the recipe: I used 1/2 cup potato starch, 1/2 cup rice flour & 1/2 cup tapioca flour (I did not have garbanzo flour). I also added a tbsp. of vanilla (just a personal preference) and 2 tbsp of organic whole milk to the batter with the wet ingredients, as well as mixing some dark chocolate chips in at the end (PB & chocolate *need* eachother IMHO) ;). I ended up making 30 BIG cookies, and cooked them for about 13 minutes. Thanks for sharing an awesome recipe! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2011

      These cookies are soft and wonderful. Just remember to bake them until barely browned. To cover the "beany" taste some complain of, I add 1 teaspoon of vanilla and 1/4 teaspoon of cinnamon to the recipe. Perfection. Thanks so much for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2009

      These are great, DS and DH loved them. Next time I will use something other than the garbanzo bean flour as I do not care for the flavor quite as much. I used flax seed egg substitute in place of the egg. P.S. On day two we loved them more. There was no bean flour taste at all. DS and DH never tasted it to begin with. I would not change the recipe after eating them the second day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2009

      Loved this recipe!! we did not have garbanzo flour so I used rice flour. We make them so often that I bag all the dry ingredients and label it PB cookie mix so I don't have to drag all my flours out every time the kids want cookies. It makes us fill more "normal".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2009

      Just like she says, better than "regular" peanut butter cookies. I don't always like garbanzo flour; but it goes very well with the peanut butter and I wouldn't substitute for it. Also just like she says, this is a thick batter - plan on buying your mixer a drink afterward!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2008

      I substituted sunbutter (made from sunflower seeds) due to a nut allergy. I also used sorghum flour instead of garbanzo flour. Great texture, chewy and moist. I added chocolate chips to the second batch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2007

      One word here - Wow! These cookies were fantastic. I have used various different nut butters (peanut, hazelnut, almond, etc) in these cookies and have been thrilled with the results every time. I even used JanV's suggestion of the chocolate chips and found those cookies to be even more so delicious. I agree with BigFatMomma that these are even better than the ones made with wheat. Thanks for the outstanding recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2013

      I missed "real" cookie flavor/texture so much! Great texture, great flavor. I didn't have garbanzo bean flour so I subbed sweet sorghum, and it turned out great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2009

      Excellent recipe! I used 1/2 cup ground cashews, 1/2 cup white rice flour, 1/2 cup tapioca, 1/4 cup margarine, 3/4 cup peanut butter and added a cup of chocolate chips. The kid loved loved loved them. I'm going to cut the white sugar back to 1/4 cup next time I make them. And there will be a next time! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2009

      I baked this recipe using the changes recommended by "Lisa in Canada," along w/ the addition of chocolate chips, and minus the addition of milk. These ARE absolutely the best gluten-free peanut butter cookies. They are chewy and taste scrumptious! I have to eat gluten-free and I am so glad I found this recipe. It is a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2009

      Some of the best cookies I've ever made...and, I bake professionally. Perfect texture & crackled top. I used ! cup Cassava flour (tapioca) and 1/2 cup brown rice flour - I also substituted all og evaporated cane sugar for the two sweeteners. And, I added @ 1 cup of mini chocolate chips. I would have liked a little more peanut butter flavor, I may experiment with adding a bit more next time. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2008

      All I can say is... WOW!!! Great cookies! Soft and a lovely peanutty flavor. I added 1 cup gluten free/dairy free chocolate chips, YUM!!! The beginning of the instructions say that you need to have beaters that can handle heavy batter... I just used a cheap electric hand beater, worked fine. i've only recently discovered my celiac disease, so I'm new at this thing. But I've had some AWFUL recipes, and this recipe is so good, my non-celiac bf ate more then I did! LOL!! So, needless to say- this recipe is a keeper!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2008

      These are delicious! We smashed them down a bit and then put a piece of gluten free chocolate in the middle for the last two minutes of baking, and they tasted wonderfully like the peanut butter kiss cookies we ate as kids! Thanks so much for this excellent recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2007

      Totally impressed!! I used crunchy peanut butter, and for margarine I used soy garden. I also used 3/4 cup brown sugar and no white sugar. It was sweet enough for me. The texture came out soft and chewy. Next time, I may bake it a bit longer since I like cookies more crispy, but I will definitely make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2007

      Big Fat Mamma is right. This recipe is really good and doesn't have the horrible yeasty flavour of ameranth flour. I cook gluten free for my family but this is the first desert i can accually enjoy with them.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2013

      This recipe is awesome! I didn't use the flours that she used but instead I just use the gluten free flour by Bob's red mill and it taste just like a regular peanut cookie, infact it's better than a regular Peanut Butter Cookie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2013

      We used 1 T crushed flax seed + 3 T water in place of the egg and added 1/3 C. dark chocolate chips. Delicious! Our whole family, and friends, enjoy them - wheat eaters and gf folks, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2012

      Just wrote a review and realized that I forgot to add the stars! I first made these cookies several years ago, and the family said they loved them. Then I tried making them again the year following, and it seemed that the family didn't like them as much (I used garfava flour). I decided to try them again last night, only I used 1/2 cup sorghum flour, 1/2 cup tapioca, 1/2 cup potato starch. Again, they were a hit! Everyone's taste can run a bit differently when using gluten free flours. I still like the cookies with the garfava flour. I love that I don't have to refrigerate the cookies before baking, great texture, these are my favorite peanut butter cookies!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2012

      These cookie were great! (I used rice flour in lieu of garbanzo bean four) Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Absolutely the Best Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (11 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 74.0
     
    Calories from Fat 26
    35%
    Total Fat 2.9 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 7.7 mg
    2%
    Sodium 32.3 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.1 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 9.1 g
    36%
    Protein 1.7 g
    3%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    gluten-free margarine

    garbanzo flour

    tapioca flour

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes