30 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I'm sorry, but we could not get over the bean taste. Maybe different brands of garbanzo bean flour have different taste, but for us, it was too bean-y. Even on day two. Note that many of the good reviews below substituted rice or other flours for the bean flour, and I may give that a try, because they LOOKED fantastic, but they tasted like peanut butter and beans.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chrishanna December 09, 2010

These turned out really great - my DH, who has no issues with gluten - said he could not tell at ALL that they were gluten free! I made a few small changes to the recipe: I used 1/2 cup potato starch, 1/2 cup rice flour & 1/2 cup tapioca flour (I did not have garbanzo flour). I also added a tbsp. of vanilla (just a personal preference) and 2 tbsp of organic whole milk to the batter with the wet ingredients, as well as mixing some dark chocolate chips in at the end (PB & chocolate *need* eachother IMHO) ;). I ended up making 30 BIG cookies, and cooked them for about 13 minutes. Thanks for sharing an awesome recipe! :)

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lisa in Canada January 26, 2009

These cookies are soft and wonderful. Just remember to bake them until barely browned. To cover the "beany" taste some complain of, I add 1 teaspoon of vanilla and 1/4 teaspoon of cinnamon to the recipe. Perfection. Thanks so much for posting this recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pear 'n Ginger Girl September 26, 2011

These are great, DS and DH loved them. Next time I will use something other than the garbanzo bean flour as I do not care for the flavor quite as much. I used flax seed egg substitute in place of the egg. P.S. On day two we loved them more. There was no bean flour taste at all. DS and DH never tasted it to begin with. I would not change the recipe after eating them the second day.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Silly Goose June 21, 2009

Loved this recipe!! we did not have garbanzo flour so I used rice flour. We make them so often that I bag all the dry ingredients and label it PB cookie mix so I don't have to drag all my flours out every time the kids want cookies. It makes us fill more "normal".

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
atmvaeth1 June 21, 2009

Just like she says, better than "regular" peanut butter cookies. I don't always like garbanzo flour; but it goes very well with the peanut butter and I wouldn't substitute for it. Also just like she says, this is a thick batter - plan on buying your mixer a drink afterward!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tmkurth March 22, 2009

I substituted sunbutter (made from sunflower seeds) due to a nut allergy. I also used sorghum flour instead of garbanzo flour. Great texture, chewy and moist. I added chocolate chips to the second batch.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hgravel August 26, 2008

One word here - Wow! These cookies were fantastic. I have used various different nut butters (peanut, hazelnut, almond, etc) in these cookies and have been thrilled with the results every time. I even used JanV's suggestion of the chocolate chips and found those cookies to be even more so delicious. I agree with BigFatMomma that these are even better than the ones made with wheat. Thanks for the outstanding recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rhubarbarella August 23, 2007

I missed "real" cookie flavor/texture so much! Great texture, great flavor. I didn't have garbanzo bean flour so I subbed sweet sorghum, and it turned out great!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KaylaH February 04, 2013

Excellent recipe! I used 1/2 cup ground cashews, 1/2 cup white rice flour, 1/2 cup tapioca, 1/4 cup margarine, 3/4 cup peanut butter and added a cup of chocolate chips. The kid loved loved loved them. I'm going to cut the white sugar back to 1/4 cup next time I make them. And there will be a next time! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef# 616082 May 25, 2009
Absolutely the Best Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies